We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
La Maison Boutique Hotel
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Reviewed 1 June 2014

We were really looking forward to our stay here as we hadn't visited the area for years, but this place, while looking very pretty in the photos, was a complete let down.
Although we had a lovely warm welcome from the very efficient and hospitable staff, that would probably be the only positive about the experience.
Having come from a warm climate, we were frozen as there didn't seem to be any heating. The beds were uncomfortable, the room was very tired and we didn't feel like eating what was on offer for breakfast as everything looked a bit tired, so decided to pass.

Room Tip: Don't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank travelkat88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Front O, Manager at La Maison Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2014

We are glad you experienced our friendly service and sorry your stay was cold (please bring it to our attention next time) and we are sorry that you did not try breakfast.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (168)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 168 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

I was extremely unhappy and unimpressed with my stay. The boss treats his staff members poorly, especially in view of customers, which is a pity as they were all lovely. The place lacked warmth (evident that the heating wasn't even turned on). It was completely overpriced for what I got. The wifi was non existent. The breakfast was dismal, sorry but stale bread and cheap no name cereals don't float my boat. The coffee was horrible, (McDonalds serves better coffee). And the place needs a revamp, looked tacky and dated.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank SunsetTraveller22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Front O, Manager at La Maison Boutique Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 October 2014

We are sorry that in no way were we able to please you on your visit. The feedback is very out of character for our property.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

There were four of us travelling around Australia trying to keep to a budget of $200 per night for the 4 of us. We found a deal for this place through one of the major hotel websites of a bit less than that.

The Blue mountains has loads of really nice & really expensive accommodation. This is on of the lower end hotels but for the price you can't really complain. Location is good, fairly central for all of the main sights and for the town though a car is recommended. This place has underground parking and a sauna. It's in a nice building too. We literally used this as a base to explore from and only stayed one night. We ate out that night and walked back from Katoomba (15-20 min walk). The rooms have a double bed, wardrobe, tv and adjoining bathroom. This suited what we needed perfectly - somewhere to sleep and to explore from.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jossters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Don't be misled by the fancy room names like Garden View or Deluxe Suite. This accommodation is basic. Neat and tidy but basic. It's advantage is being so close to Echo Point and the Three Sisters - 10 minute walk. Included breakfast is cereals and toast with juice, tea or coffee. Nothing cooked. The building is pretty and set in a nice garden. If you don't expect too much you won't be disappointed.

Stayed: April 2014
3  Thank PetrolPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

My wife and I had a wonderful 2 night stay and found the staff to be incredibly helpful.
Would recommend without hesitation.
We enjoyed our Continental breakfasts and it was a short walk to the local RSL for a Chinese dinner.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Croxleytravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Lovely little hotel in fantastic surroundings.room fine.breakfast fine.only issue is no real bar facilities.could do with pushing the location to make it a place to drink and eat too.only 5 mins from echo point.pleasurable stay

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank coolio90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014 via mobile

This place is a little lost I the 80's but was clean and the staff were friendly.

On the positive side the location is great being only a 10 minute walk from some great walks and views as well as Scenic World. You are also only a 15 minute walk from the centre of town. The staff here were very friendly and happy to help. There is also free wifi in the long.

On the down side there was no airconditioning and the breakfast was just toast and cereal. Also the decor is dated and the shower head was so low I had to bend in half to get my head wet...

We paid $120 for the Friday night and $140 for the Saturday.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Galacid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
0.9 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
955 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
1.0 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
588 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Katoomba Town Centre
Katoomba Town Centre
#6 of 15 in Katoomba
247 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
0.3 mi away
Echo Point Discovery Motel
Echo Point Discovery Motel
#10 of 15 in Katoomba
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Boutique Hotel

Address: 175-177 Lurline St | Blue Mountains, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Price Range: £55 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Maison Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, HostelWorld, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your La Maison Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Boutique Katoomba
La Maison Boutique Hotel Blue Mountains/Katoomba, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing