We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming: a little gem in a great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
La Maison Boutique Hotel
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Reviewed 1 September 2010

We chose this hotel because of its location- within walking distance of ‘The Thee Sisters’, Echo Point’ and the town-but we were more than pleased by the welcome we received from Ron, the Nepalese owner and his Indonesian wife, Julie. This is the ideal place to stay for those who prefer small and friendly hotels with character and personal service. We were given a room with a seating area on the ground floor overlooking the very pleasant deck area and garden. We ate the first night in the hotel’s dining room: stylish with wood burning fire. The food was so good that we chose to eat there on our second night. The hotel offers Indonesian food, well priced and superbly cooked. We also enjoyed a sauna and jacuzzi in the hotel spa, just what you need after a day’s touring.
There is also a lovely lounge with fire where we chilled out with a book and glass of wine. I daresay there are many who prefer the style and stuffiness of the bigger hotels such as ‘The Carrington’ which we visited for lunch and considered far too ‘precious’ For us ‘La Maison’ is well named – homely and warm. It also deserves the title of ‘Boutique Hotel- individual, attractive and interesting. Thank you Ron, Julie and the great waiter we had whose name has escaped me.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bojo50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (167)
There are newer reviews for La Maison Boutique Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 167 reviews

Reviewed 26 August 2010

After reading the reviews I didn't hold high hopes especially at check in where the lady at reception wasn't overly pleasant. We stayed in the so called private unit which is essentially the original part of the building and is above the guest library and lounge, I could imagine that the unit would have been noisy had these spaces been busy while we were there, as it was it was noisy enough with the howling wind the night of our stay. I was taken back by the lack of security to this unit as the front door was hollow core with a basic lockset. The pictures of this unit on their website are not consistent with the reality in that, the furniture and furnishings throughout are old and need replacing, and the bathroom is tiny. After this disappointment we didn't really feel like staying for breakfast and so can't comment on it. A couple of positives was that the central heating worked well and the beds were comfortable with fresh linen.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cromwell-o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2010

After reading some of the bad reviews on your site, we (my sister's family and my own family) had decided to give it a shot anyway.

Not surprisingly, our instincts had served us well. This hotel was situated on a quiet street and hence one might be surprised that such a "luxurious" place of dwelling appeared out of the woods. When we first arrived, we immediately felt welcome from a friendly staff who made us feel at home as we were shown to our private unit.

After we got settled in our unit, there was an air of serenity. The funiture though was old, however if one looked beyond the physical mere surface appearance, a crown jewel would be there waiting for those who seek for it. This was the time when families could let their hair down and had time for heart to heart talk without the distractions of the so called "luxury stuffs".

Overall, beauty is in the eye of the beholder. It depends on what one is looking for. For us, we were looking for a place to rest our minds and to spend some quality family time and at the same time offers value for money for young families. If this is what one is seeking for, I would strongly recommend this place. The bottom line is that this place had gained a loyal customer for many years to come.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teck_Marina_Eng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2010

La Maison is French for 'house'. It is not actually French but it is still a house or at least quite similar. The person at the front desk was friendly. There was a log fire. The stairwell smelled like chlorine probably because other guests had recently visited the excellent spa. We did not go to the excellent spa. The room was nice. It smelled nice and clean and had nice colours. There was a little packet of herbal essences in the bathroom. I forgot to use the little packet of herbal essences. There was also a heater which kept me warm. It is very cold in the Blue Mountains. It was very windy and we felt cosy because the wind did not intrude into the room. Overall it was a nice hotel and we were comfortable there and if you are going to the Blue Mountains you should maybe go to La Maison hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SuMins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2010

Having booked this hotel before I read the reviews I arrived with low expectations. I was pleased to find an attractive building and was welcomed warmly by the gentleman at the front desk. On first glance the place looked quite attractive with a smart central diningroom and general stylish design. My room was upstairs and though far from perfect I really quite enjoyed my stay. I had a very pleasant view from the room , it was well warmed for winter , the bathroon was clean...except for the strip behind the door...that the cleaner had never found. The bed was comfortable with fresh linen . What spoiled it for me was the general lack of detail with cleaning, the furniture that needed reupholstery, or at least cleaning, the sticky unclean brass handrails etc.etc.and the faded plastic flowers. Breakfast was adequate but in no way special. Cheap thin bread for toasting, dried prunes instead of juicy prunes and staff who seemed mainly untrained in serving. Not too many smiles. I do hope management make changes as this could be quite special withoput too much effort. I will check another time maybe.
Location is great.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2010

Lovely pretty place, at the end of Katoomba nearest Echo Point - 5-10 minutes walk. Relaxed feel, and run by 2 ladies who are both very helpful - one recommended a pizza place in the centre of town, near the station, which was excellent. Continental breakfast idoes the job. Katoomba is a beautiful bohemian little town.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HHandGH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2010

To start with they had double booked the Suite but since we booked first and arrived first we got it. The best way to describe it is "minimal and variable". Our Suite had a small fridge and a microwave but no toaster, cutlery but no plates, no tissues, no spare toilet paper. Staffing is minimal. We were out all day on Saturday but when we came back a 5:45 pm the room had not been serviced because there was only one girl on all day to do the work and look after the reception. She was very helpful but just overworked. One of the advertised features is the spa but it was not working. Expect little and you will not be disappointed. The only good thing I can say is that the towels were good and the sheets were clean.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank domswi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
0.9 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
944 reviews
0.5 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
1.0 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
586 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Sky Rider Motor Inn
#1 of 15 in Katoomba
412 reviews
0.3 mi away
Echo Point Discovery Motel
Echo Point Discovery Motel
#10 of 15 in Katoomba
291 reviews
0.6 mi away
Katoomba Town Centre
Katoomba Town Centre
#6 of 15 in Katoomba
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Maison Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Maison Boutique Hotel

Address: 175-177 Lurline St | Blue Mountains, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Price Range: £55 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — La Maison Boutique Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 18
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, HostelWorld, Hotels.com, Agoda, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your La Maison Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Maison Boutique Katoomba
La Maison Boutique Hotel Blue Mountains/Katoomba, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing