We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disliked everything about the stay, very disappointed- don't stay here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Avonleigh Country House
Ranked #13 of 19 Katoomba B&B and Inns
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disliked everything about the stay, very disappointed- don't stay here”
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Firstly I'd like to point out I have never complained about accommodation before, but I felt in this case people should be informed of the property before they look at staying here. We were so disappointed with the stay. We thought that the Avonleigh Guesthouse would be a great cosy weekend away for an Anniversary but was anything but this. We originally requested an early checkin which was agreed upon with the lady owner that we could come at any time and a room would be ready. We arrived on the Friday 2 hours before normal checkin time to greet a man who finally came to reception after 5 minutes, we weren't welcomed but instead were mumbled at "What do you want", now frankly standing at the front door of their accommodation with bags in hand thought it was obvious what we were doing there but after 10 minutes of explaining that we are here for the accommodation and were told we could have an early checkin, he forcefully stated about 7 times "no checkin early, not good, not ready, come back another time", and was extremely rude even after confirming with the lady we originally spoke to it was okay that we were here early. If I hadn't already paid for the accommodation online we would have left at this point. He mumbled rude remarks the whole time with a bad attitude when we were only being polite and nice.

This was only the beginning, the shower spat at you with cold water for over 5 mins before it heated up, everything was outdated, blankets were stained and ripped and floors were about 2mm thick worn with stains everywhere. The TV was situated next to the bed with no chairs in front of it and the bed facing the other was, we couldn't move it so had to sit on the floor to watch the movie we rented. Heating didn't work property and only 1 blanket provided we froze during the night. Breakfast tasted disgusting and only once did I see 1 employee smile. I would never recommend this to anyone, I would go as far to say this pretty much ruined our weekend that we had been looking forward to for so long.

Room Tip: Don't stay here, so many other options in the area
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Georgia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    23
    23
    11
    15
See reviews for
17
55
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

The staff were welcoming on our arrival but this was the highlight. After a rough night with a hard bed my husband and I woke to no hot water. Breakfast was basic toast, condiments and cereal. The tea and coffee were cold. After about half an hour scrambled eggs were placed in the bain-marie that was not turned on. Unfortunately the eggs were curdled. It was at this point we cut our losses and decided to check out in search of good coffee and breakfast. We told the person on office that we had no hot water and was supported by another guest who had come to the office to complain of the same thing. There was no offer for any compensation. The guest house really needs to offer a better service.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Katoomba hotels

Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Stayed a night with Avonleigh Country House while visiting the blue mountain. The location was good as it is only 5-10mins walking distance to echo point. Main attraction point for three sister. However, it is rather far from the main eateries near katoomba station. However, beside it is the blue mountain chocolate factory where you can have some nice hot chocolate. It is a very country house I would say, everything is very clean and the interior are very spacious with a lounge for relaxation.

The room was big and equipped with a heater for the cold autumn and winter. Stayed on the bottom floor and wifi signal is strong. Which is a plus. Bed was comfy but the shower is hard to adjust to the right temperature as a little turn of the hot water, the water gets either too hot or cold. Apart from that, the room is very pleasant.

Additionally, the stay comes with breakfast, the breakfast is well cooked by the staffs. I would say, it is really value for money. A quiet and nice pleasant stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kevin_Kwa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Very very disappointing, grubby, uncomfortable, cheap and tacky. this was once a grand old guesthouse but it is now very run down. I would definitely not recommend it. breakfast room looks like something out of a 1950's dormitory. owners are obviously trying to provide accommodation on the cheap .garden very over run. Not worth what we paid to stay there. Do yourself a favour and stay somewhere else!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Deborah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2014

we stayed at the avonleigh in march 2013, the staff were friendly, meals were fine and the room was pleasant. i really couldnt ask for anything more. the location is excellent, a nice walk to shops or echo point. i didnt find the fire alarm to be any great issue. i have had worse experiences at 5 star hotes both here and overseas. i would highly recommend.

Room Tip: upstairs rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 19davem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2014

We really enjoyed our 2 night stay. The location is great, within easy walk of breathtaking views at Echo point. We watched the sunset. The place is full of character and the staff are really pleasant. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bruce C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

I should have taken notice of the reviews, but I tend to like to make up my own mind. Big mistake !! However I do believe that some of the reviews are a little harsh, Breakfast was good. Room OK but. Very stuffy. No exhaust fan in bathroom ,and a threatening notice on the door to say that if you set the fire alarm off(from the steam in the bathroom) $330 will be added to your bill ! I don't think they can legally do this. TV in lounge does not work because its needs a set top box (very cheap these days) I was told to go and watch the one in my room. Although the TV is not a big issue I feel that it is an expected convenience. Great location for a walk to 3 sisters ,a bit of a walk to town. All in all the most disappointing was the odour (I think it was cooking smells as they do lunch for buses of Asian tourists) also the carpets are need of a good clean,
I sure there are better places to stay in Katoomba,

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank valuefornomads L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
1.0 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
916 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
570 reviews
0.2 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
0.1 mi away
Echo Point Discovery Motel
Echo Point Discovery Motel
#10 of 15 in Katoomba
283 reviews
0.1 mi away
3 Sisters Motel
3 Sisters Motel
#8 of 15 in Katoomba
477 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avonleigh Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avonleigh Country House

Property: Avonleigh Country House
Address: 174 Lurline St | Blue Mountains, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avonleigh Country House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Avonleigh Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avonleigh Country House Blue Mountains/Katoomba, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing