We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modest and Quiet” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avonleigh Country House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Avonleigh Country House
Ranked #14 of 20 Katoomba B&B and Inns
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Modest and Quiet”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2010

I thought the place was cute. Nothing fancy. The staff was very helpful and nice. The breakfast was not so great. I would stick to their toast and cereal. We never had time to try the lunch. The room was small and clean. I felt like I was staying at my grandmother's home. The best part about this place, was that it was walking distance from the Blue Mountains. We ran to the mountains in the morning!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Natdl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

82 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    22
    20
    11
    15
See reviews for
16
53
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2009

We were very disappointed with our accommodation, as the the website bears little comparison to reality. The dining room is more akin to a cafe and the cooked breakfast was unappetizing, with synthetic sausages and poor quality bacon. There is no tea/coffee making facilities in the bedroom. On top of this we were made to pay in advance, whilst better and cheaper accommodation is to be found in the area. The only positive is its excellent location and closeness to Echo Point and the Three Sisters.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LondonSkiing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Katoomba hotels

Gloucester
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2009

Pleasant hotel, large rooms. Very quiet. We were told we were the only people staying in the hotel the night we booked in and that the owners wouldn't be there either so were a little concerned about being there on our own! It was busier the following night. 5 Minutes walk from Echo Point and on the tour bus route. Very friendly RSL club a short walk away with good food.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Whatalife60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huercal-Overa, Spain
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2009

We booked The Avonleigh on the strength of their website and were very disappointed, the fantasy of the website bore little comparison to reality. There was no nice dining room with fine dining, the rooms we not as advertised and the cooked breakfast was disgraceful and inedible. On top of this we were made to pay in advance, I wonder how many guests have cut their stay short here ? Not recommended.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nicholasxmurphy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
High Wycombe, England
Level Contributor
168 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2009

location was good for the Blue Mountains, but the place was ropey and i wouldn't recommend it. It is frequented by coach loads of Japanese tourists who get dropped off for tea in the afternoon. The place lacks atmosphere, the staff drift in and out. the room was small and we were kept awake by the noise of the refridgeration units in the kitchens near our bedroom.

  • Stayed February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank fsba20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Brunswick
Level Contributor
181 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2008

We stayed at the Avonleigh in January when we travelled through the Blue Mountains. The hotel is very well situated and one can walk to the "Three Sisters" as well as into the town centre. The first room we were directed to was a good size but it was located on the ground level in the back of the hotel (walk-out basement) and it was damp, so we were relocated to a much smaller room upstairs. The bed in that room should have been replaced years ago! It was soft and lumpy, and creaked loudly every time we moved, making it impossible to sleep.
The hotel does offer a good breakfast.

  • Liked — Its location
  • Disliked — Terrible bed
  • Stayed January 2008, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MonctonCanucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
1.0 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#3 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
0.2 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
La Maison Boutique Hotel
La Maison Boutique Hotel
#13 of 15 in Katoomba
3.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.6 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
0.1 mi away
Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avonleigh Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avonleigh Country House

Property: Avonleigh Country House
Address: 174 Lurline St | Blue Mountains, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Avonleigh Country House 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Avonleigh Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Avonleigh Country House Blue Mountains/Katoomba, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing