We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid if possible”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 January 2013

I found the room quite dingy and run down, with an unpleasant smell which made me sneeze and my eyes run. A few hours after leaving the hotel the following day, it cleared up so I assume the damp peppery smell was to blame. The room was clean, but the pool water was slightly cloudy and did not seem clean to me. There was a weird witch doll hanging in Reception, which I found off-putting. I certainly wouldn't want to stay again and, at about double the price of the backpacker hostel in town, I think that might be preferable. Deafening noise from aircon.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Angela E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkyriderKatoomba, Manager at Sky Rider Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2013

Thank you for your Review. We were very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are unsure what the small could have been in your room it is not something we have ever had issues with before now. The pool is cleaned daily and the water is checked twice daily to ensure we adhear to the strict health and safelty regulations set for all public pools. We pride ourselves on offering clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation and we are always disappointed when we have not met our guests expectations. However we always look at reviews positively and try to improve our business based on our guests experiences, so thank you again for taking the time to review us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (449)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

400 - 406 of 449 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2012

Our room was a welcome end to a hot journey. We stayed in a twin room booked online for $80 a night with breakfast included. Spacious with a table and chairs, a double and a single bed. A dated bathroom but clean and large. Big TV was great after we worked out how to get the freeview channels - I was a bit upset when i thought we only had four channels! Pool area was nice with flowers and bbq (which we didn't use). The pool is saltwater and was really nice and cool on a hot day.
Our room had a nice big tree out front with parrots coming and going. There was no noise from our neighbours other than slamming doors and talking outside when people were packing up. We didn't end up having breakfast as my daughter is a late riser. There is a bit of road noise but not too bad as you're off the highway.
The customer service was great. The lady on reception was genuine and polite and offered information about the area.
The only negative is I thought the wireless was free but there is a fee which is payable at reception or via credit card.
Will stay there again!
Sure beats a backpackers.

Room Tip: Rooms 44 - 49 have nice shady trees and are close to the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yeshe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkyriderKatoomba, Manager at Sky Rider Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2013

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, we offer the Red Hot Deal through our website and it includes continental breakfasts a bargain for a last minute get away to the Blue Mountains. Regarding the bathrooms we are in the process of renovating all our bathrooms, so we hope next time you visit you may enjoy one of our newly renovated room.
The area up here is full of birds and you can see most from the comfort of your room. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2012

This motel was spotlessly clean and despite being so close to the Blue mountains attractions (only 5 minutes drive), was a very cheap motel to stay in. The staff were fantastic and were very eager to assist with travel directions. Overall a very good motel.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkyriderKatoomba, Manager at Sky Rider Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2013

Thank you for your review. We believe we have a great location close to the town and a few minutes drive to all local attractions. Our POOL and BBQ area is a perfect place to enjoy a refreshing swim to keep you cool throughout the summer months. We offer affordable, clean comfortable accommodation for all the family.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 December 2012

Great little highway motel close to all the katoomba sights. Very clean and comfortable. It's a very old motel but is well maintained. Why spend a fortune for a few nights. The breakfast was good and the staff extremely friendly. Great place to stay.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Gavin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkyriderKatoomba, Manager at Sky Rider Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2013

Thank you for your review. We are working very hard to give our motel a facelift, all effort at the moment is going towards the interior of the rooms, after that we will get a chance to start work on the exterior to give the motel a fresh new look over the coming year. We look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds
2  Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SkyriderKatoomba, Manager at Sky Rider Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2013

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 4 November 2012

Clean, comfortable, quiet, friendly and excellent value. A very good choice in an otherwise expensive location. We would love to return (I don't understand the requirement for at least 200 characters. What's wrong with a brief and to-the-point review???)

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank benandhila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkyriderKatoomba, Manager at Sky Rider Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2012

Thank you for your response. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and that we met your expectations regarding value for money. We look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 September 2012

We stayed at the Skyrider motor inn and found the staff to be most friendly and helpful. They were able to tell us where the local attractions were and provide us with maps and information about the Blue mountains area. The rooms were clean and comfortable and provided everything we needed for the price.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sophie m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkyriderKatoomba, Manager at Sky Rider Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2012

We are always looking for interesting ways for our guests to enjoy the Blue mountains and we are happy we were able to assist you during your stay. We are a budget motel but we pride ourselves on going the extra mile for our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
0.7 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
992 reviews
1 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#7 of 15 in Katoomba
603 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palais Royale Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Katoomba Town Centre
Katoomba Town Centre
#6 of 15 in Katoomba
258 reviews
1.6 mi away
Echo Point Discovery Motel
Echo Point Discovery Motel
#10 of 15 in Katoomba
307 reviews
1.4 mi away
3 Sisters Motel
3 Sisters Motel
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sky Rider Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sky Rider Motor Inn

Address: 302 Bathurst Rd | (Cnr. Valley Rd), Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Katoomba
#5 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range: £52 - £91 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sky Rider Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Blue Mountains Motel with a B&B atmosphere is perfectly positioned in the heart of this stunning World Heritage area in the main town of Katoomba. The motel is family owned and operated, your hosts Jamie and Kerry are on hand to offer that extra personal touch and attention to detail to create a friendly relaxed atmosphere during your stay. Spend a night - Not a fortune!! The Sky Rider Motor Inn is renowned for providing clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation in a quiet garden setting. Our 24 guest rooms types vary from Queen, Twin, Deluxe and a range of Family rooms, all provided with free wireless internet. Our popular salt water swimming pool and BBQ area are favourites with our guests can enjoy their breakfast in our dining room with garden views and open log fire for the cooler months, we serve a full continental breakfast as well as hot breakfast daily. Free parking is available to all of our rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sky Rider Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky Rider Motor Hotel Katoomba
Sky Rider Motor Inn Blue Mountains/Katoomba, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing