We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok motel for reasonable price”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Our room was spacious and clean and had all amenities you need for one night stay, bathroom was also ok. And the motel is located conveniently while travelling in Blue Mountains and getting to nearby sightseeings.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agnieszka_El
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkyriderKatoomba, Manager at Sky Rider Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Thank you for your review. We are glad you found our location to be suitable for your stay, we are ideally situated close to all the attractions the Blue Mountains has to offer without being in the middle of the hustle and bustle of the town. We are glad you found our rooms to be spacious we pride ourselves on offering clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation and we value your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (412)
There are newer reviews for Sky Rider Motor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

361 - 367 of 412 reviews

Reviewed 26 February 2013

The hotel was clean and tidy and I suspect reasonably priced for the area but not really anything special. I stayed there because it was near where I needed to go but in hindsight I'd probably choose something further away with more atmosphere. Bed was comfortable. Neighbours were noisy but that's not the hotel owners fault!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Owld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkyriderKatoomba, Manager at Sky Rider Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are pleased you found our beds comfortable and I'm sorry to hear your neighbours were noisy we rely on our guests being courteous of each other especially late at night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Friendly staff. Very clean and nice rooms.
The pool was ok and there were a lovely barbecue area, where we made our dinner. We loved it. The kids loved it.
If we Go back to blue mountains again we will stay here again....

Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
Thank Maria K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkyriderKatoomba, Manager at Sky Rider Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and the weather was nice enough for you to enjoy the Pool and BBQ area. We are continuing to make improvements to the motel and this winter we plan to repainting the pool and put a waterproof covering over the BBQ area so our guests can enjoy the area even when the weather is not as accommodating. We look forward to seeing you again in the future, be sure to check out our website for special deals.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2013

The owners were very nice ,very helpful and the location was great. It is unfortunate that I cannot give positive feedback past that.
It was A/C but it was dingy and smelly,old mould mothball smell. Nothing like the picture on the website, we were really disappointed. It was a $60 per night quality and we paid more than twice that. The bathroom needs renovating. I would not choose to stay there again unless it was priced appropriately and it's certainly not my definition of 31/2 stars. The pool in the picture is blue and it was green during our stay,not ideal in summer, especially to be told it was ok???
We were also told it was No Smoking but instead of smoking in their rooms they sit outside your front door and blow the second hand smoke into your room as smoking is permitted outside the rooms on the verandah- that is not No Smoking !!!!! We had to keep our door closed.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hfamily78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkyriderKatoomba, Manager at Sky Rider Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2013

Thank you for your review. We are disapponted you did not enjoy your stay with us. I must stress all our rooms are 100% non-smoking. We will certainly address the issue of guests smoking in front of other guests rooms and look at setting up a designated smoking area away from the rooms. The heavy rains did have an slight effect on the water colour in the pool but it is back to being crystal clear and we do test the water twice daily to ensure the pool is safe for swimming. We appreciate your feedback regarding our motel and we will use it to improve the service we offer to our guests.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2013

This inn is being renovated by it's new, friendly and helpfull owners. They are very welcoming and present a map to all visitors, on which they point out the highlights of the village.
The small pool is very refreshing. If you want to use the BBQ the owners will hand you a bbqset in which you will find cutlery, plates, herbs and anything else you might need.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KirstenNL87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkyriderKatoomba, Manager at Sky Rider Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2013

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and found our BBQ and BBQ pack useful (both free of charge to all our guests). The pool and BBQ area is always popular with our guests and is a great way to cool off in this hot weather while cooking for the family in a relaxing setting away from the hussle and bussle of town.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013 via mobile

Very friendly and helpful staff. A good-sized, clean room that had just been refurbished. A lovely pool and barbecue area. We had a very pleasing stay. Our expectations were met plus more. Wi-Fi and breakfast are extra but are inexpensive. Thank you!

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gkp2202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkyriderKatoomba, Manager at Sky Rider Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2013

Thank you for your review, we are delighted we met your expectaions and you got to enjoy one of our newly renovated rooms, we look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2013

I found the room quite dingy and run down, with an unpleasant smell which made me sneeze and my eyes run. A few hours after leaving the hotel the following day, it cleared up so I assume the damp peppery smell was to blame. The room was clean, but the pool water was slightly cloudy and did not seem clean to me. There was a weird witch doll hanging in Reception, which I found off-putting. I certainly wouldn't want to stay again and, at about double the price of the backpacker hostel in town, I think that might be preferable. Deafening noise from aircon.

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Angela E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkyriderKatoomba, Manager at Sky Rider Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 16 January 2013

Thank you for your Review. We were very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us. We are unsure what the small could have been in your room it is not something we have ever had issues with before now. The pool is cleaned daily and the water is checked twice daily to ensure we adhear to the strict health and safelty regulations set for all public pools. We pride ourselves on offering clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation and we are always disappointed when we have not met our guests expectations. However we always look at reviews positively and try to improve our business based on our guests experiences, so thank you again for taking the time to review us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
0.7 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
944 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
586 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Katoomba Town Centre
Katoomba Town Centre
#6 of 15 in Katoomba
245 reviews
1.6 mi away
Echo Point Discovery Motel
Echo Point Discovery Motel
#10 of 15 in Katoomba
291 reviews
1.4 mi away
3 Sisters Motel
3 Sisters Motel
#7 of 15 in Katoomba
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sky Rider Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sky Rider Motor Inn

Address: 302 Bathurst Rd | (Cnr. Valley Rd), Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Katoomba
#1 Family Hotel in Katoomba
#5 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range: £55 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sky Rider Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Blue Mountains Motel with a B&B atmosphere is perfectly positioned in the heart of this stunning World Heritage area in the main town of Katoomba. The motel is family owned and operated, your hosts Jamie and Kerry are on hand to offer that extra personal touch and attention to detail to create a friendly relaxed atmosphere during your stay. Spend a night - Not a fortune!! The Sky Rider Motor Inn is renowned for providing clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation in a quiet garden setting. Our 24 guest rooms types vary from Queen, Twin, Deluxe and a range of Family rooms, all provided with free wireless internet. Our popular salt water swimming pool and BBQ area are favourites with our guests can enjoy their breakfast in our dining room with garden views and open log fire for the cooler months, we serve a full continental breakfast as well as hot breakfast daily. Free parking is available to all of our rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sky Rider Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky Rider Motor Hotel Katoomba
Sky Rider Motor Inn Blue Mountains/Katoomba, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing