We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If we are in Katoomba again we're staying here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Not the greatest looking hotel from the outside was the only negative about this hotel, The room was spacious, clean and comfortable.The continental breakfast in the restaurant was delicious, plenty to choose from and the fresh fruit was exactly that Fresh! The staff were very friendly and were very informative about the area, including where to eat dinner.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank donnaandrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkyriderKatoomba, Manager at Sky Rider Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we met your expectation. We have been working on the interior of our rooms over the last year and we plan to start renovation work on the exterior before the end of the year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (440)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

381 - 387 of 440 reviews

Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

All the reviews on this place are fairly accurate - which is good as it was the reason we booked it!! It's got everything you need, is very clean and great value for money. The owners are fantastic and will help out with anything you need - including free DVDs at the front counter!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Chillijam1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkyriderKatoomba, Manager at Sky Rider Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Thank you for your kind words. We appreciate you taking the time to review us. We are pleased that you found our previous guest reviews helpful in your search. We know we can't please everyone but we try to be honest in the advertising of our property so that we meet or exceed expectations rather than disappoint. We believe it is honest guest reviews that tell the real story, so we thank you and hope you may stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

Dont be put off by the tired looking exterior. The units are in process of refurb. Our room had been refurbished to a high standard. It was comfortable, pleasing to the eye. Comfy bed,very clean,excellent shower. Tea and coffee facilities supplied and replenished daily. Rooms were serviced daily to a high standard. There were even electric blankets for the cooler nights. We arrived by train so we had 15 minutes walk to the motel on the edge of town which was not hard. The local RSL picked us up for dinner and dropped us back on their courtesy bus. All it took was a phone call. The hotel will do this for you if requested. The staff at the motel were very helpful and pleasant, you just need to ask. Continental breakfast was included in our package and this was served in a very pleasant dining room. We would recommend this motel as good value for money

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Faigs I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkyriderKatoomba, Manager at Sky Rider Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Thank you for your review and kind words. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we were able to meet if not exceed your expectations.
We are undertaking renovation work on the exterior over the coming months and we hope the exterior will soon reflect our renovated interiors.
We are always happy to organise RSL pick ups which come nightly to the motel, its a wonderful service and takes the stress out of driving.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

Budget pricing but excellent accommodation... spotless, spacious, very comfortable and updated room.

Katoomba was freezing, wet and blowing a gale on the night of our visit so electric blankets and effective heating were very welcome - also provided was a toaster and fresh milk on request ..our friends, staying elsewhere and paying three times the price did not enjoy these 'luxuries'.

Finally, the service from staff was friendly and outstanding. A minor detail at 10 p.m. was attended to with immediately with a smile and no fuss.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Roger255057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkyriderKatoomba, Manager at Sky Rider Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are very pleased you enjoyed your recent stay with us and it was our pleasure to ensure your stay was comfortable and enjoyable. We live onsite so we can attend to any issues, no matter what time of the day or night and always with a smile.
It can get cold in the mountains especially in winter but our heating systems and electric blankets ensure our guest stay nice and warm in their rooms and if you make it to breakfast we have an open log fire going to keep the cold away.
We look forward to seeing you again, when the weather is a little warmer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

When we first drove in we were slightly concerned as the outside of the property looked like it could do with a lick of paint, and the pool didn't look very appealing. However at check-in, and the owners were really friendly and helpful. When we got to our room it was very clean, and had everything we needed - including comfortable beds and pillows, tea and coffee making facilities, a fridge, plenty of soft towels and air conditioning. They also offer breakfast for a reasonable price, which is very convenient. The price was reasonable for the area, and I would recommend this place to friends.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank debsjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkyriderKatoomba, Manager at Sky Rider Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

We are delighted we were able to meet your expectations. Thank you for the feedback regarding the exterior of the motel, it is next on our renovation agenda, along with new signage to give us a fresh look. We are also painting the pool and making some improvements to the BBQ area. Our focus has been on the interior to ensure our guest have a comfortable stay and we will continue to make further improvements in our guest rooms.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Our room was spacious and clean and had all amenities you need for one night stay, bathroom was also ok. And the motel is located conveniently while travelling in Blue Mountains and getting to nearby sightseeings.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Agnieszka_El
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkyriderKatoomba, Manager at Sky Rider Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Thank you for your review. We are glad you found our location to be suitable for your stay, we are ideally situated close to all the attractions the Blue Mountains has to offer without being in the middle of the hustle and bustle of the town. We are glad you found our rooms to be spacious we pride ourselves on offering clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation and we value your feedback.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2013

The hotel was clean and tidy and I suspect reasonably priced for the area but not really anything special. I stayed there because it was near where I needed to go but in hindsight I'd probably choose something further away with more atmosphere. Bed was comfortable. Neighbours were noisy but that's not the hotel owners fault!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Owld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkyriderKatoomba, Manager at Sky Rider Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2013

Thank you for taking the time to review us. We are pleased you found our beds comfortable and I'm sorry to hear your neighbours were noisy we rely on our guests being courteous of each other especially late at night.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
0.7 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#3 of 15 in Katoomba
976 reviews
1 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#6 of 15 in Katoomba
596 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palais Royale Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Katoomba Town Centre
Katoomba Town Centre
#7 of 15 in Katoomba
256 reviews
1.6 mi away
Echo Point Discovery Motel
Echo Point Discovery Motel
#10 of 15 in Katoomba
304 reviews
1.4 mi away
3 Sisters Motel
3 Sisters Motel
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sky Rider Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sky Rider Motor Inn

Address: 302 Bathurst Rd | (Cnr. Valley Rd), Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Katoomba
#5 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range: £52 - £89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sky Rider Motor Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Blue Mountains Motel with a B&B atmosphere is perfectly positioned in the heart of this stunning World Heritage area in the main town of Katoomba. The motel is family owned and operated, your hosts Jamie and Kerry are on hand to offer that extra personal touch and attention to detail to create a friendly relaxed atmosphere during your stay. Spend a night - Not a fortune!! The Sky Rider Motor Inn is renowned for providing clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation in a quiet garden setting. Our 24 guest rooms types vary from Queen, Twin, Deluxe and a range of Family rooms, all provided with free wireless internet. Our popular salt water swimming pool and BBQ area are favourites with our guests can enjoy their breakfast in our dining room with garden views and open log fire for the cooler months, we serve a full continental breakfast as well as hot breakfast daily. Free parking is available to all of our rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sky Rider Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky Rider Motor Hotel Katoomba
Sky Rider Motor Inn Blue Mountains/Katoomba, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing