We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Cosy & Great Value!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence
Cheltenham
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cosy & Great Value!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2013

My boyfriend and I spent one night at the Sky Rider Motor Inn and it was very enjoyable. The staff were friendly and helpful, the bedrooms were made up very nicely and the electric blankets on the bed were AMAZING! In fact, the bed was one of the best I have ever had the pleasure to sleep in. The breakfast in the morning is great value and walking into the dining room with a log fire was so lovely! The food was cooked brilliantly and they are very generous with servings. We paid just $5.00 dollars extra for a 'better' room and it was certainly worth it as our bedroom was much bigger than others which was nice. This is a really great little motel and I would definitely recommend to others visiting Katoomba - all in all, great value!

Room Tip: Upgrade to a slightly more expensive room to make the most of staying here - although they are all n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlie w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkyriderKatoomba, Manager at Sky Rider Motor Inn, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and in particular enjoyed staying in our deluxe room. The Deluxe Room offers our guests a little more space as well as a sofa and a larger TV. We are delighted you enjoyed the breakfast, its important for our guests to enjoy a hearty breakfast and one that is value for money. We have a good choice of hot options available daily as well as a continental breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    151
    170
    43
    13
    1
See reviews for
124
159
22
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2013

Booked 2 nights accommodation directly with the staff and found it to be clean, quiet location, comfortable bed, great new management that would do anything to assist us in our stay and requests. This Motor Inn has been recently refurbished and the rooms are 100% better since our last stay. Our room had t.v., coffee/tea making facilities, toaster, electric blankets, small heater & telephone. Breakfast options are: room service or eat in the breakfast room. Continental breakfast cost $7.50, other individual hot options beginning $8.00 and a full continental with a hot breakfast for $14.00.
The new management are wonderfully friendly, informative and helpful. Will stay again and would recommend if you are looking for a budget place that is all the above and close enough to drive to all the sight-seeing areas.

Room Tip: Family rooms are at one end.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebrussL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkyriderKatoomba, Manager at Sky Rider Motor Inn, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you for your positive review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and as a returning guest we are happy to hear your feedback regarding our renovations. We are still working on the motel and still have some bathrooms to renovate but all rooms have been painted and new carpet where required. The exterior of the motel will be repainted before the end of the year and we hope this will help with he overall look and feel of the motel.
The breakfast is always very popular and we try to keep our prices reasonable so that we can accommodate all budgets.
We look forward to you visiting again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2013

The staff was very friendly and overall the facilities were great for a budget motel. The housekeeping one morning was quite zealous (9:15am) but they did a great job and gave us new towels even though we weren't expecting it. The shower curtain was a bit short and let water onto the bathroom floor but that's the only small negative we had. Definitely recommend this location to friends

Room Tip: Would need to have own transport to stay here. The higher the room number the further away from rece...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkyriderKatoomba, Manager at Sky Rider Motor Inn, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you for your review. We are please you enjoyed your stay with us. The housekeeping for our staying guests usually does not begin until later in the morning so I apologise for the early wake up. Regarding the shower curtain we will look at the issues with water escaping into the bathroom. Part of our renovation plan is to replace the remaining shower curtains with shower screens so this will eliminate any issues. We hope you may return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
104 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 June 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights, arrived to a room warmed electric blanket started which was great with the weather absolutely miserable outside. breakfast was good. service was really friendly and helpful. enjoyed our stay no complaints!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsElfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkyriderKatoomba, Manager at Sky Rider Motor Inn, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. We are pleased you enjoyed your 2 night stay and although the weather in the mountains was cold, you had a comfortable stay with us. We hope you may return to the mountains when the weather is a little warmer and stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

Stayed here at short notice. Rang and booked a room a few hours before arriving. The gentleman I spoke to was very friendly and put the key out for our late arrival and turned on the heater which was very much appreciated as it was quite cold. The room was spacious, the bed very comfortable and was more than adequate for a short or longer stay, The rooms are all ground floors so easily accessible. The electric blankets were also appreciated as we stayed in winter. The breakfast room had a log fire and the tables aren't packed together so there's plenty of room. The food was fresh, served promptly and again represented excellent value. All tastes catered for - plenty of delicious fruit for the vegans and lots of meat choices for the carnivores! The motel is located off the highway and there is minimal traffic noise. The staff are very welcoming and friendly and I would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NDSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkyriderKatoomba, Manager at Sky Rider Motor Inn, responded to this review, 8 October 2013
Thank you for your review. We were very pleased you enjoyed your stay and that we were able to meet your expectations. We believe the small details make all the difference when staying at any motel and we are delighted to know these small touches,such as the heaters being put on prior to your arrival, are welcomed by our guests We are always striving for the highest level of service. We hope you may return to the Mountains and stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
123 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

Not the greatest looking hotel from the outside was the only negative about this hotel, The room was spacious, clean and comfortable.The continental breakfast in the restaurant was delicious, plenty to choose from and the fresh fruit was exactly that Fresh! The staff were very friendly and were very informative about the area, including where to eat dinner.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donnaandrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkyriderKatoomba, Manager at Sky Rider Motor Inn, responded to this review, 6 October 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our motel. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we met your expectation. We have been working on the interior of our rooms over the last year and we plan to start renovation work on the exterior before the end of the year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013 via mobile

All the reviews on this place are fairly accurate - which is good as it was the reason we booked it!! It's got everything you need, is very clean and great value for money. The owners are fantastic and will help out with anything you need - including free DVDs at the front counter!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chillijam1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkyriderKatoomba, Manager at Sky Rider Motor Inn, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We appreciate you taking the time to review us. We are pleased that you found our previous guest reviews helpful in your search. We know we can't please everyone but we try to be honest in the advertising of our property so that we meet or exceed expectations rather than disappoint. We believe it is honest guest reviews that tell the real story, so we thank you and hope you may stay with us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
0.7 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
La Maison Boutique Hotel
La Maison Boutique Hotel
#13 of 15 in Katoomba
3.0 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
1.4 mi away
3 Sisters Motel
3 Sisters Motel
#8 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sky Rider Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sky Rider Motor Inn

Property: Sky Rider Motor Inn
Address: 302 Bathurst Rd | (Cnr. Valley Rd), Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Katoomba
#1 Best Value Hotel in Katoomba
#5 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sky Rider Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Blue Mountains Motel with a B&B atmosphere is perfectly positioned in the heart of this stunning World Heritage area in the main town of Katoomba. The motel is family owned and operated, your hosts Lynn, Ross, Jamie and Kerry are on hand to offer that extra personal touch and attention to detail to create a friendly relaxed atmosphere during your stay. Spend a night - Not a fortune!! The Sky Rider Motor Inn is renowned for providing clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation in a quiet garden setting. Our 24 guest rooms types vary from Queen, Twin, Deluxe and a range of Family rooms, all provided with free wireless internet. Our popular salt water swimming pool and BBQ area are favourites with our guests can enjoy their breakfast in our dining room with garden views and open log fire for the cooler months, we serve a full continental breakfast as well as hot breakfast daily. Free parking is available to all of our rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sky Rider Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky Rider Motor Hotel Katoomba
Sky Rider Motor Inn Blue Mountains/Katoomba, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing