We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely NOT 3.5 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2014

I don't know how anyone could rate this motel as a 3.5 star.
it is at best 2 star

The motel was great - we had an excellent time - they provided us with complimentary tourist newspaper which had a map and sightseeing hotspots - really made our vacation in the Blue Mountains. The overall condition of the rooms was clean. They had complementary tea and coffee and working refrigerators. The TV selection wasn't great, but it had something for everyone. The hotel staff were courteous and friendly. They had a DVD selection and games in the lobby/reception area. The doors auto-locked so we had to be careful about the key.

Also the parking bays and entry into the motel was difficult - we managed it with our Toyota Camry, but a bigger family car, station-wagon or wider-shaped car, would find it difficult to get into the narrow parking bays and entrance.

We were disappointed with the air-conditioning - yes they had it, barely working at all, and it felt like it was built in the 1900s. It was pointless to have it on. Nonetheless the rooms were cool enough anyway so it wasn't an issue, but if you need air-conditioning, stay away.

These days, having free wifi - access to email and web-browsing is standard, and should be free. We came for two days, and it would have been helpful to have web-browsing facilities for free. We're paying for the room and use of facilities, it should be included in the price.

The shower was decent. It did not have a curtain or door which was annoying, they also didn't provide shampoo.

So far, this motel wasn't worth coming to again, but it wasn't bad enough that we didn't have a good time, its just that it wasn't worth a 3.5 star rating. If it had been a 2.5 star rating then I would have expected far less.

Room Tip: Make sure the air conditioner isn't from the 1900s, that it works well. Also don't expect f...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Annonymous2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkyriderKatoomba, Manager at Sky Rider Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Thank you for your review. We appreciate your feedback.
We are an officially credited AAA rated 3.5* motel, we must meet strict guidelines to hold this rating and we are reviewed annually. We try to offer a private parking space in front of each room and so when we are full it can get a little snug. We do find the mountains are nice and cool of a night and so there are only a few days air conditioners are required. However we do check our units regularly to ensure they are in good working order. We prefer to offer the best possible rate for our rooms and offer wifi as an optional extra rather than increase our room rates and have free WIFI. Although this is an option for us in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (412)
There are newer reviews for Sky Rider Motor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

339 - 345 of 412 reviews

Reviewed 29 December 2013 via mobile

I recently spent a night at the Sky Rider and enjoyed my stay. The staff are friendly and helpful with local information about the mountains. The accommodation was comfortable and very clean. It was great to have a swim in the pool after a long drive and to be so close to the centre of Katoomba was a bonus. The cooked breakfast was excellent. I'll be back.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
1  Thank Adventuresofpip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkyriderKatoomba, Manager at Sky Rider Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Thank you for taking time to review us.
We are so happy you enjoyed your recent stay and was able to take advantage of the pool. As we are only 1.2km from town its a nice 20 min walk or 3 min drive we still fee like we are in the middle of things but have a quieter setting away from the bustle of the town,
We are currently reroofing the BBQ area which is next to our pool so when the weather is a little unsettled you can still enjoy a BBQ under cover.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2013

We recently stayed at this motel and accompanying friends from UK travelling with us also had a great stay. . Rooms were fresh, clean and everything was cared for. The Dining room was great for breakfast and provided plenty of options. This is a gem, Though not a recently built place, the care is what sets it apart and just because something is not brand new will not guarantee cleanliness or good service and this place provides all that. This really is good mid range option.

Room Tip: We were in the double rooms and bathrooms were fresh and the building outside is under going a facel...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lorraine A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkyriderKatoomba, Manager at Sky Rider Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Thank you for your review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and found our motel clean and comfortable. We strive to offer clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation while our guest enjoy the beautiful Blue Mountains.
Regarding the outside of the building we are in the final stages of completion, with a new colour to the exterior, new corrugated iron awnings along the main building and reception area.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We recently took a self guided car trip to NSW. Being from the United States, this involved driving on the wrong side of the road. And we brought the rain with us. We rented a small Toyota at SYD and, departing about 4 on a rainy afternoon, drove up to Katoomba. Sandra was coaching me all the way, through intermittent rain showers and past three substantial fender benders.

We arrived at the Sky Rider Motor Inn a bit jangled, to say the least. There we were greeted by an extraordinarily welcoming lady, Kerry, who got us settled down and safely ensconced in one of her large rooms. The decor was a bit old fashioned (we had a cute chrome plated dining table for two that must have been from the 60s.) However, it was very pleasant in an antiquarian sort of way. Everything we could have wanted was in the room, the bed was super comfortable and we had a cozy night while it continued to rain.

Others have written about the lovely grounds, but we were unable to appreciate anything except the refuge of our room away from the tempest. And the warm and sincere welcome.

Many places in Australia do not include internet with the room and the Sky Rider charges a hefty fee for wifi. The warm welcome made up for any delayed emails.

Room Tip: Look forward to a nice smile from a charming hostess!
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JeffLookinatFish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkyriderKatoomba, Manager at Sky Rider Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thank you for your review. Its never easy arriving at a new destination especially when the Mountains put on some less than desired weather conditions. However we are prepared for this and so the heaters and electric blankets are always a welcome relief.
unfortunately as a Family owned and managed motel, we are not equipped to manage our own wireless internet system and instead outsource to a reputable company Easyweb. However, this does mean we do not have the freedom to offer free internet. Our rates are $4 for 1 hr, $12 for 1 day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2013

We spent two nights here after having a terrible experience staying in Sydney city, this hotel was beautiful, so clean and was so modern it was such a relief to stay somewhere so nice. It's location was great close to scenic world, the pool was great for the kids and shops where local also the breakfast I must say was great and they totally cater for kids which was what we needed. The staff were very friendly and could not do enough for us, I would recommend this hotel to everyone I know. And as for the painting of the exterior they were working hard painting away whilst we were there. This motel is awesome!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nikki M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkyriderKatoomba, Manager at Sky Rider Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thank you so much for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and you were able to enjoy the pool area and the local attractions which are all a short drive away.
We are pleased you enjoyed the breakfast, we do try our best to cater for families, so I'm glad we could offer what you needed.
Regarding the exterior of the motel, we have taken on board the comments regarding the exterior and we are indeed in the process of a full renovation, it is a slow process and we stop work when the motel is full, so we do not to disturb our guests. However we plan to complete the final stage of renovation in the next 2 months, a new sign, new awnings and further improvements to the pool area including new roof over the BBQ area are all planned. We thank our guests for all their feedback and hope to have more positive responses in the future regarding the exterior.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

My partner and i stayed overnight...
The room was lovely and renovated. The bed was soo comfortable.
The owners are friendly and the breakfast is cheap and tasty.
Set in a quiet area the pool was a bonus..
The A/C was great.
Very good for the price.

Room Tip: Go for superior queen
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hannah237
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SkyriderKatoomba, Manager at Sky Rider Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Thank you for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your stay and that you found both the room and motel grounds to meet your expectations. The pool and BBQ area is lovely this time of the year, being one of the only motels to have a pool in Katoomba it is a real bonus.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2013

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds
Thank Jerome J
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SkyriderKatoomba, Manager at Sky Rider Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 22 January 2014

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
0.7 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
944 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
586 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Katoomba Town Centre
Katoomba Town Centre
#6 of 15 in Katoomba
245 reviews
1.6 mi away
Echo Point Discovery Motel
Echo Point Discovery Motel
#10 of 15 in Katoomba
291 reviews
1.4 mi away
3 Sisters Motel
3 Sisters Motel
#7 of 15 in Katoomba
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sky Rider Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sky Rider Motor Inn

Address: 302 Bathurst Rd | (Cnr. Valley Rd), Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Katoomba
#1 Family Hotel in Katoomba
#5 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range: £55 - £102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sky Rider Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Blue Mountains Motel with a B&B atmosphere is perfectly positioned in the heart of this stunning World Heritage area in the main town of Katoomba. The motel is family owned and operated, your hosts Jamie and Kerry are on hand to offer that extra personal touch and attention to detail to create a friendly relaxed atmosphere during your stay. Spend a night - Not a fortune!! The Sky Rider Motor Inn is renowned for providing clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation in a quiet garden setting. Our 24 guest rooms types vary from Queen, Twin, Deluxe and a range of Family rooms, all provided with free wireless internet. Our popular salt water swimming pool and BBQ area are favourites with our guests can enjoy their breakfast in our dining room with garden views and open log fire for the cooler months, we serve a full continental breakfast as well as hot breakfast daily. Free parking is available to all of our rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sky Rider Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky Rider Motor Hotel Katoomba
Sky Rider Motor Inn Blue Mountains/Katoomba, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing