We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 March 2014

We stayed in this motel in the Blue Mountains and whilst the mist made the visit unsuccessfully, the motel provided a good value, comfortable place to stay. I left something behind and they kindly posted it on to Perth for me. A friendly owner with good service. Thank you.

Room Tip: Need a car to get into town.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KerrySkyRider, Manager at Sky Rider Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thank you for your review.
Its a shame the wether was un favourable but we are pleased you had a comfortable stay with us. It was our pleasure to return your item we know how easy it is to leave something behind.
WE look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (412)
There are newer reviews for Sky Rider Motor Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

325 - 331 of 412 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

Booked 2 months in advance for a 4 night February stay in a Queen Superior Room, was excellent very clean, very little road noise , had breakfast each morning full hot breakfast served to us in dinning room for only $7 each, our friends in room next door went out every morning into Katoomba cafes and spent up to $25 each. Our hosts were very helpful in every way better service than some of the more Named Accommodation in the area. Will stay again in future and tell my friends when visiting. The pool and BBQ in a good spot.

Room Tip: Queen Superior are the Best rooms for up to 3 people price difference only a few dollars
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Koalaphil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KerrySkyRider, Manager at Sky Rider Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thank you for your review.
We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay and found the motel to be quiet and clean. Thank you for the review regarding breakfast we try to offer good value for money with our breakfast as we know how expensive it can be to eat out.
We pride ourselves on offering the highest level of customer service to our guests and we are pleased we met your expectation.
We would be delighted to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

We stayed with a group of about 36 friends for 3 plus nights and had the most fantastic time ever. It was our 4th annual rally which is held in a different state each year. Kerry and her staff made everyone welcome and provided excellent service and hospitality. They arranged dinner on the first night which was better than some restaurants we've been to. The breakfasts were awesome. The rooms were very clean and cosy. The roomy and covered barbeque and pool area provided a nice Sunday night dinner. The best part was the surprise wedding reception we had in the dining room on the Saturday night. No one new till that afternoon.
We will definitely be having more stays at this Motel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tezza109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KerrySkyRider, Owner at Sky Rider Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our motel.
We were thrilled the wether was good during your stay and you the wedding was a success, the reception in the dining room looked beautiful as did the Blushing Bride.
I'm glad you enjoyed the BBQ area and your group were able to enjoy dinner by the pool on the Sunday night. Thanks for the positive comments regarding the dinner we provided, we pride ourselves on providing "real home cooked" meals for our groups, so its always good to receive positive reviews.
We would be delighted to have you and your group stay with us again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2014 via mobile

Great place to stay in Katoomba. Very clean and tidy, nicely appointed decor and great staff. The breakfast is also good quality and good value.

I left my boots behind and when I called Lyn kindly offered to part then back to me.
I would recommend this place to anyone :-)

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank WDMoore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KerrySkyRider, Owner at Sky Rider Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thank you for your review.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and we met your expectation.
Our pleasure to return your boots I hope they have now been safely received.
We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Booked and stayed in a two bedroom family unit (sleeps 5) just before Christmas. Arrived in a heatwave but the AC was more than up to the task. Clean, roomy and well equipped. We did wonder on first arrival about the outside appearance but these fears were swiftly allayed. Breakfast was simple and adequate.
The main thing for us was the bargain rates as we were only there for two nights and undertaking some strenuous activities in the Blue Mountains.
Staff on the front desk were friendly and accomodating.
Didn't go in the pool so can't comment.
Value for money 10/10.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nealfranio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KerrySkyRider, Manager at Sky Rider Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review us.
We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay and was able to enjoy all the Blue Mountains have to offer. We are lucky the mountains only have a few days a year where the Air conditioners are required, even on the hottest days the temp normally drops pleasantly by the evening.
We are working hard to upgrade and renovate the exterior of the motel. Late 2013 we repainted the whole motel and replaced the old awnings. We still need to finish works in the gardens which should keep us busy through the winter.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Stayed overnight with two friends after sightseeing and wandering Katoomba and surrounds. Booked a family 2 bed unit which was clean and comfortable and had all the amenities required. Reception staff friendly and polite, book-in easy ( via wotif ) . We grabbed some supplies from a local supermarket and barbequed our evening meal. We came on a hot day but the evening was too cool to test the pool which looked inviting, but we were provided with free dvd's to keep us amused :)
Overall I'd say this motel is best suited to family or friend groups for a short stay in warmer months to be able to take advantage of the pleasant BBQ and pool facilities

Room Tip: Family unit 2bed will sleep 5 comfortably ie 1 queen and 3 single beds
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M0iM0i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KerrySkyRider, Manager at Sky Rider Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thank you for your review.
We are pleased you enjoyed your stay with us in our 2 room Family Unit and was able to take advantage of our BBQ facilities, it is a shame you didn't get to go in the pool as its a lovely way to cool off during the hotter months. We offer free DVD for our guests to enjoy during their stay, just enquire at reception.
We hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We had a great experience staying here at this motel. It is dated but is clean, staff are great and in a very good location. The rooms are older but very clean and functional. The breakfast in the morning is the best deal around and the food is excellent. If ever back in Aus in this part of the country I would definably stay here again.

Room Tip: Depends on how many people are going. For family's the family room is more than big enough.
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Canuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KerrySkyRider, Manager at Sky Rider Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2014

Thank you for taking the time to review our motel.
We are glad you enjoyed your stay and you enjoyed the breakfast options, we have beautiful dining room with an open log fire so even in the winter months you can enjoy your breakfast in comfort. We have Family rooms for up to 5 Guests including a 2 room Family Unit which is very popular with Families.
We hope you get the chance to return to Australia and to the mountains for another visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
0.7 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
944 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
586 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Katoomba Town Centre
Katoomba Town Centre
#6 of 15 in Katoomba
245 reviews
1.6 mi away
Echo Point Discovery Motel
Echo Point Discovery Motel
#10 of 15 in Katoomba
291 reviews
1.4 mi away
3 Sisters Motel
3 Sisters Motel
#7 of 15 in Katoomba
491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sky Rider Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sky Rider Motor Inn

Address: 302 Bathurst Rd | (Cnr. Valley Rd), Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Katoomba
#1 Best Value Hotel in Katoomba
#5 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range: £55 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sky Rider Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Blue Mountains Motel with a B&B atmosphere is perfectly positioned in the heart of this stunning World Heritage area in the main town of Katoomba. The motel is family owned and operated, your hosts Jamie and Kerry are on hand to offer that extra personal touch and attention to detail to create a friendly relaxed atmosphere during your stay. Spend a night - Not a fortune!! The Sky Rider Motor Inn is renowned for providing clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation in a quiet garden setting. Our 24 guest rooms types vary from Queen, Twin, Deluxe and a range of Family rooms, all provided with free wireless internet. Our popular salt water swimming pool and BBQ area are favourites with our guests can enjoy their breakfast in our dining room with garden views and open log fire for the cooler months, we serve a full continental breakfast as well as hot breakfast daily. Free parking is available to all of our rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sky Rider Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky Rider Motor Hotel Katoomba
Sky Rider Motor Inn Blue Mountains/Katoomba, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing