We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A truly great place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Wouldn't bother looking anywhere else. We had a lovely stay. Friendly staff, clean rooms, great breakfast... Best value for money by far in and around Katoomba.

Had a great weekend!
http://youtu.be/AxfexcDoonw?list=UUAxx0OcbZwHRBepP1AKLjSQ

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1964Chalkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KerrySkyRider, Manager at Sky Rider Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

Thank you and we look forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (423)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

311 - 317 of 423 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in late July and were impressed by the accommodation. We were in a Family 5 room which was well equipped with TV, fridge-freezer, kettle, toaster etc and complimentary tea / coffee / milk which were replenished each day when the beds were made-up.

The room had its own heating which unfortunately did not extend to the bathroom which was very cold.

The beds were comfortable and the lady on reception (presumably the owner) and the ladies who cleaned the rooms were very friendly and pleasant.

Sky Rider Motor Inn is within a 15 minute walk of Katoomba town centre and railway station but the Scenic Railway and Echo Point / Three Sisters are a longer walk or a short drive away.

We'd certainly consider staying here again were we in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ainsworth179
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KerrySkyRider, Manager at Sky Rider Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

Glad you were impressed with the facilities in the room and the housekeeping service offered. The bathrooms can get a little chilly in the winter until you get the shower going, but the rooms are always toasty. Our location is nice and central but as mentioned about 5 mins drive to scenic world and 8 mins to Echo Point and the Three Sisters. Hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

I stayed with family for one night and everyone was so friendly and the service excellent. It was so cold in Katoomba that night, that I asked for a spare heater and they gave me one straight away. Breakfast was great. Defenitely coming back next time. Thanks

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank Andres C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KerrySkyRider, Manager at Sky Rider Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

Hope to see you again soon, perhaps in the summer so you can enjoy the pool and BBQ area, thank you for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

I stayed at the Sky Rider for almost 3 weeks while visiting family at Katoomba. The owners Kerri and Jamie were welcoming and very helpful during my stay. The room was clean and warm, the shower was hot and the facilities enabled me to be self catering. I did use the restaurant occasionally for breakfast. Good selection of cooked and continental breakfast in a warm sunny room with open fire.
Great value for money with friendly staff. Quite location despite it's proximity to the main highway. Will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Blueheeler15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KerrySkyRider, Manager at Sky Rider Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

Love the photos you posted, it was a real pleasure to have you stay with us and we are pleased we could offer you everything you needed for your extended stay. Hope to see you next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

Thanks Kerry and Jamie for a fabulous place to stay. It was so affordable and you gave excellent service. We have already recommended you to others. To have such a warm room and beautiful beds to come back to was just fabulous. The little extras are what made it so nice, the loan of a microwave, warm room on arrival, help with food places (YELLOW DELI is a must do for everyone!!!) offer of crockery and cutlery to use, DVDs to borrow, eggs my way!!! The personal touch is worth more than anything else. To everyone who reads this I would definitely say stay with Kerry and Jamie.....Also Sky Rider is close to everything, lookouts, scenic world, toy museum. It is just best value for money I have had in a long while.
Heide

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heide K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KerrySkyRider, Manager at Sky Rider Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

Thank you. Thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and your time in the Blue Mountains. We are delighted to have exceeded your expectation with service and value, it was a pleasure to cook the eggs your way and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The Sky Rider Motor Inn was a welcome relief for this family of five. Firstly we all slept comfortably in a room that had been warmed up for us prior to arrival. The room was very clean, furnishings were well maintained and the welcome when we checked in friendly and helpful. The Sky Rider Motor Inn was recommended to us and we will continue to recommend to others. Thank you!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RABS78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KerrySkyRider, Manager at Sky Rider Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

Thank you and we hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We stayed for four nights at this motel in Katoomba returning home last night. We have stayed there several times before and we noticed that since Kerry and James have taken over the management role from their parents that the refurbishment process has really got going.

The breakfast room is great in the cold weather with a real log fire and the cooked breakfasts are especially good. The continental breakfast is as good as any, and there's allways more coffee or tea available if you run out.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Roger F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KerrySkyRider, Manager at Sky Rider Motor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 12 September 2014

Thanks for the kind words, we have been here 2 1/2 years now and although we have done a lot of renovations we still have lots of projects to work on so thank you for all your feedback and for noticing the improvement and we will certainly continue the hard work in the months / years to come. We love the dining room as much in the winter with the log fire going as we do in the summer with the sunshine streaming in through the big windows.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
0.7 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
955 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
589 reviews
0.9 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Katoomba Town Centre
Katoomba Town Centre
#6 of 15 in Katoomba
249 reviews
1.6 mi away
Echo Point Discovery Motel
1.4 mi away
3 Sisters Motel
3 Sisters Motel
#7 of 15 in Katoomba
502 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sky Rider Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sky Rider Motor Inn

Address: 302 Bathurst Rd | (Cnr. Valley Rd), Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Katoomba
#1 Best Value Hotel in Katoomba
#5 Romantic Hotel in Katoomba
Price Range: £56 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sky Rider Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Blue Mountains Motel with a B&B atmosphere is perfectly positioned in the heart of this stunning World Heritage area in the main town of Katoomba. The motel is family owned and operated, your hosts Jamie and Kerry are on hand to offer that extra personal touch and attention to detail to create a friendly relaxed atmosphere during your stay. Spend a night - Not a fortune!! The Sky Rider Motor Inn is renowned for providing clean, comfortable and affordable accommodation in a quiet garden setting. Our 24 guest rooms types vary from Queen, Twin, Deluxe and a range of Family rooms, all provided with free wireless internet. Our popular salt water swimming pool and BBQ area are favourites with our guests can enjoy their breakfast in our dining room with garden views and open log fire for the cooler months, we serve a full continental breakfast as well as hot breakfast daily. Free parking is available to all of our rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Sky Rider Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sky Rider Motor Hotel Katoomba
Sky Rider Motor Inn Blue Mountains/Katoomba, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing