We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Mountains Heritage Motel
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence
Maroubra, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Location”
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We booked our spa room on wotif.com, and were very pleased with our stay. The staff were very friendly and knowledgeable about the area. The room was spacious and very well heated with an electric blanket, electric fireplace, and standard heater. We opted for the spa room for fun, and the jacuzzi tub was great. There was also a small kitchen with fridge, microwave, sink, and electric kettle. Fresh milk was provided upon check in for use with coffee and tea in the room.

The breakfast was included, and a great way to start our day. Standard cereal/toast options, as well as a hot buffet with eggs, tomatoes, and delicious cinnamon pancakes.

The location was perfect. Quick walking distance to local restaurants and supermarkets, but on the quiet end of Katoomba Street, so the room was quiet at night.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fiona h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    60
    26
    10
    7
See reviews for
39
69
8
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Narrabri, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

Had a spa room at the front, very quiet and comfy. Heating was already on for us, and when we arrived the guy at reception couldn't have been friendlier, showing me a map telling us what to see & do and if I had any questions about an attraction etc to ask. Breakfast was very nice too. We only booked the first night and winged it from there, but in hindsight I would've just booked this place for all 3 nights. Would definately stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a king spa room, you won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kieran S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australian Capital Territory, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012 via mobile

We booked through wotif and paid $128 for a small double room.

Check-in
The check-in wasn't friendly and when I went down to grab some brochures and asked what the main club for entertainment was, the gent point in he direction and said "the RSL". That was the extent of information or conversation provided. Very poor customer service skills in a service driven industry!

Room
Cleanliness was average, in bad need of a basic spring clean. Dusty bed head, skirting boards, bathroom mirror etc. seal of fridge door needs a good wipe as there were crumbs etc in the cracks and again much dust on top of fridge and microwave! Bathroom basin was not up to scratch with mould around base of tap handles and rim of drainage whole. Floor was not shinning and corners of bathroom behind toilet dusty!

Breakfast
Breakfast was part of the tarrif and was not bad. Plenty of variety on offer and quality was good.

Location
The location of the motel was great. Opposite ALdi and Coles. Also situated at base of main street close to all shops and only a 4 minute walk to the RSL Club.

Recommendation
Give rooms more attention re dusting and general cleaning. For checking people in, either improve your customer service skills or employee someone who has these skills. First impressions are very important to the entire experience! Provide information to guests in a presentable folder and not have 4 individual laminated A4 items! Looks cheap and tacky. I would give this motel another chance as over value for money when including breakfast was satisfactory and hopefully the above addressed would have been dealt with prior to next visit.

Overall rating 3 out of 5.




Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Cole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 April 2012 via mobile

Stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment when travelling in a group of 2 couples; slightly strange arrangement as the door to the corridor led into the 1st bedroom. Needed a few touches - hot plate in the kitchen, mirror I he second bathroom - but it was very comfortable, and spacious. Easy to get to everything (shops are just over the road). Would stay there again - the apartment gave us great space to hang out in the evening

Stayed April 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Zonkasays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2012

As a birthday treat my partner took me to the mountains. He booked a suite which was large but was not furnished to a 4 star level. It needed some updating and touches like good coffee. The robes and fire were appreciated. The view from the balcony was a bit obscured by trees. The better view was from the restaurant & bar area. We ate in 1 night but the food was average. Overall, the musty smell when we entered was an indication that this establishment needs some 'airing'.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank julie k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2012

I booked a room on Wotif, and on arrival was given a room that was very disappointing and looked nothing like on the pictures - a small, dark, noisy room, facing the busy main street. Strong advice - do not book this motel on the internet, as you may not get what you expect. Check the actual room you will get before reserving it! The motel has several names, including Blue Mountains Heritage Motel, and also Town Centre Motel, Katoomba. The motel consists of an older rather ramshackle building that was apparently called St. Elmo in the distant past, and later, 1960s red brick wing in the back. The location is good, if you want to be in the centre of the town, right next to the shopping street. The furniture and fittings are acceptable, but not really the advertised 3 1/2 star quality - more like 2 stars. The mattress in my room was worn, lumpy and uncomfortable. The room was clean and generally well maintained, with refrigerator, microwave, and tea and coffee making facilities. However, the walls were thin, and one could hear guests next door and above walking and talking. The bathroom was adequate, but again nothing like 3 1/2 stars - the basin was a relic from the 1940's, charming but practically unusable. When we questioned the quality of the room at the reception, we were told that this is what you can expect for $138. Well, one can get a perfectly decent 2star room in places like Paris, London or Rome - but apparently not in Katoomba... A positive feature - a generous and tasty fully cooked buffet breakfast. Overall, a reasonable motel, but not up the advertised standard, somewhat overpriced for what it offers, and there are some rooms that are clearly not up to scratch, so booking on the internet is rather risky and should be avoided.

Room Tip: There are some rooms that are clearly not up to scratch, so booking on the internet is rather risky...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jpfSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

We found this place on-line and could not be happier. It was so cozy, clean and lovely. The woman running reception was on top of her game and so pleasant. Our room was large, very clean and comfortable. We picked a room without a view to save on cash and were still able to have great views by sitting in the main dinning or the "sitting" room. It was a close walk to the downtown and a short drive to the three sister's. The price included a continental breakfast and for $10.00 more we were able to upgrade the breakfast. Lovely experience and would love to visit again.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lore G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
0.3 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
916 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
571 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
0.0 mi away
Katoomba Town Centre
Katoomba Town Centre
#6 of 15 in Katoomba
239 reviews
0.8 mi away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Mountains Heritage Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Mountains Heritage Motel

Property: Blue Mountains Heritage Motel
Address: 218 - 224 Katoomba St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia (Formerly St. Elmo Heritage B & B)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Mountains Heritage Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Mountains Heritage Motel is rich with historic culture, friendly customer service and an unbeatable location in the heart of the Blue Mountains. The motel is situated in close proximity to top quality restaurants, quaint cafes and eclectic boutiques and shops, yet it is well away from highway and railway noise. The property is just a short stroll from Katoomba Railway Station and only a 10 minute walk to Echo Point, The Three Sisters, Scenic World and The Edge Cinema; allowing you to experience all that the Blue Mountains has to offer. Visit our website or contact our friendly front desk staff for more information on packages, events and more. Blue Mountains Heritage Motel is a proud link in the Equeva Accommodation Group chain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Blue Mountains Heritage Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Mountains Heritage Motel Katoomba, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing