We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“anzac break 2014”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Blue Mountains Heritage Motel
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Stayed at Blue Mountains Heritage Motel had not been to the Mountains for over 30yrs, picked this motel from wotif. Excellent place to stay close to shops club etc and if you are fit 40 min walk to see three sisters. The break y was everything anyone could want and served by a lovely lady who is amazing. The Manager was really helpful also. Great place

Room Tip: It was very busy parking could be a problem if you drove after dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 548sharon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (153)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

91 - 97 of 153 reviews

Reviewed 1 May 2014

Just stayed 1 night & found the bed was comfortable, shower recess very clean but all surfaces in room dusty, I had to use a tissue to dust bedhead & bed side table, looks like cleaner doesn't dust at all. Balcony furniture needed washing as it was so dirty so we couldn't take advantage of balcony to sit outside. Room has sink, crockery, toaster, electric jug & microwave. Tea bags & coffee satchets supplied, also small carton of milk but if you like biscuits with your tea/coffee take your own as they are not supplied. I advise you not to book direct with motel as they take $50 deposit PLUS credit card charge $2/$3 dependant on what c/card you use. Book through bookings.com or any booking agency that doesn't charge booking/credit card charges. I have travelled extensively & giving c/card number when booking has always just been to hold room NOT to take a deposit + c/card charge without advising same. Having said all this I would stay again as gentleman at reception did refund the c/card charge when I told him I hadn't been advised of this policy when I booked direct with motel. Breakfast was included in our tariff & was fine.

Room Tip: If you have bad knees request a downstairs room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank buffie46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charles80, Owner at Blue Mountains Heritage Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Thankyou for staying with us, look forward to seeing you on your return.
As you no doubt noticed during your stay the roads outside the motel where blocked off for resurfacing and the construction of a new roundabout, the massive grinding machines used gave us three weeks of living in a dust storm, given the circumstances our staff did a great job and the majority of guests understood.
Glad you appreciated the 300ml carton of fresh milk rather than those horrible little plastic capsules of processed stuff you get in most places.
Most properties and websites require a deposit, ours at just $50 is at the low end of the scale and we do advise that on websites and over the phone. If you book with many websites thety will ask foir the full amount up front as will Airlines, Cruise Companies, Ticketec etc. You can pay us by direct credit, cheque or credit card, if your choice is credit card there are costs involved imposed by the Bank and we pass these on. but only to a max of $2 for Mastercard and Visa and $3 American Express and Diners.
Our direct booking tariffs are at least 6% less than if you book by any 3rd party website, and they mostly charge a booking fee on top. If we pre-authourise a credit card the Bank holds the full amount for a least a week after your stay and you cannot use it.
We have plenty of rooms on the ground floor and easy access to the other floor, many guests comment that their knees feel better after the excersise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

Comfortable establishment, but not extravagant. Convenient location, close to restaurants and attractions.

Dining room for breakfast very full, but not surprising given this time of stay (Easter).

Only issue was that the crumpets were almost three weeks last their use by date (pack was unopened at the time), and the muffins were possibly one week past use by. I am sure that these items would have been discarded if they were pointed out to staff, however, the crumpets, at least, we're still there the following morning. Perhaps some better food management is required. I stuck to the higher turnover items at the toasters!

Otherwise, breakfast and the stay was fine.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
Thank RRY_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charles80, Owner at Blue Mountains Heritage Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Thankyou for staying with us. As is common industry practice all bread items are bought by tray quantity as soon as they are delivered, they are then quick frozen and thawed for use when required. This follows Tip Top guidelines where we can freeze and keep frozen for 3 months and then the item must be used within 4 days. With such a busy breakfast room we are sure that you understand the need for this. If you had commented to us while you were here we would have happily explained to you and even shown you our frozen stock.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I stayed recently at the Blue Mountains heritage motel. The place was OK, but a bit tired and overpriced given the facilities. On leaving this feedback online I got a call from Hilary, the manager who told me I am "EVIL, NASTY, AND DESERVE TO DIE" for saying this about her establishement.
Bates motel just about sums it up . Avoid at all costs, you'd be safer sleeping in your car!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank mumonroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charles80, Owner at Blue Mountains Heritage Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

How could we possibly respond to something as silly as this

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2014

Building itself nad the corridors have been restaured well but rooms need to be fixed as well. Stayed in family room. Good was the well renovated bathrooms but no real possibility to make food. Also, the furniture was rather tired. Curiously, there was not any place to hang up clothes! Location of motel is fine in laid-back Katoomba that has many small shops but also supermarkets. Breakfast is abundant adn heavy, some fresh fruits and yoghurt would give a lighter feeling. The breakfast room walls are covered with framed newspapers showing royal family visiting Australia and other curious stuff. Oldish feeling in this place, in good and not-so-good sense.

Room Tip: Family room was next to breakfast room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jusaja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2014

I have stayed at a range of accommodation options in Katoomba from the ultra cheap to the most expensive (Lilianfels) and I think the Blue Mountains Heritage is the one I'd go back to. It's not the Ritz but it provided a comfortable nights sleep in a good location at a reasonable tariff.
The building itself is "historical" and has "character" which means old. Some people will really like that - they might appreciate the ornate timberwork, the detailed ceilings, the open fire place in the reception area, the photos from yesteryear that line the corridors, etc. And it's all pretty well maintained too.
The rooms are large (ours had a separate alcove / lounge area) with a clean, well maintained bathroom and large flat screen TV. Our room was a little musty smelling on arrival but a short burst with the air-con soon overcame this. The bed was very comfortable but I thought my pillow had that same musty smell as the room. For those rooms that have them, the views would be awesome and probably worth the extra if you have a chance to enjoy them.
The staff were friendly, helpful and informative. We didn't dine there but our friends who did, said the breakfast was good. Also the hotel is located an easy walking distance to the town centre and railway station.
So, to conclude - am I fussy in my tastes? Yes.
Would I stay at the Blue Mountains Heritage again? Yes.
I hope you enjoy your visit there too.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Davo_Fido
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

This is a simple motel at the end of the main road of Katoomba. The highlight of the hotel was the excellent hot breakfast with westerner options (eggs, pancakes, french toast, bacon, sausages, etc.) as well as asian ones (fried rice and noodles). The staff was very friendly and well informed about the attractions in the area. The room was spotless. My room seem to have had the bathroom renovated recently, but the room itself was a bit outdated. They have WiFi throughout the hotel but there was an extra charge for using it. The only negative was the noise from people at the parking lot which carries easily into the rooms (there were lots of signs asking people to be quiet after 10pm... but people would still speak loudly).

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ca14rs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
0.3 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
968 reviews
0.4 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#6 of 15 in Katoomba
592 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palais Royale Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Katoomba Town Centre
Katoomba Town Centre
#7 of 15 in Katoomba
251 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Sky Rider Motor Inn
#1 of 15 in Katoomba
431 reviews
0.8 mi away
Echo Point Discovery Motel
Echo Point Discovery Motel
#10 of 15 in Katoomba
302 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Mountains Heritage Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Mountains Heritage Motel

Address: 218 - 224 Katoomba St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia (Formerly St. Elmo Heritage B & B)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Katoomba
Price Range: £52 - £144 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Blue Mountains Heritage Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Blue Mountains Heritage Motel is rich with historic culture, friendly customer service and an unbeatable location in the heart of the Blue Mountains. The motel is situated in close proximity to top quality restaurants, quaint cafes and eclectic boutiques and shops, yet it is well away from highway and railway noise. The property is just a short stroll from Katoomba Railway Station and only a 10 minute walk to Echo Point, The Three Sisters, Scenic World and The Edge Cinema; allowing you to experience all that the Blue Mountains has to offer. Visit our website or contact our friendly front desk staff for more information on packages, events and more. Blue Mountains Heritage Motel is a proud link in the Equeva Accommodation Group chain. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Blue Mountains Heritage Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Mountains Heritage Motel Katoomba, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing