We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Excellent Accommodation”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome to 'Burnie Brae' circa 1908
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to 'Burnie Brae' circa 1908
Spacious main living area Dine is style in the main dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Welcome to 'Burnie Brae' circa 1908
Spacious main living area
Dine is style in the main dining area
Traditional main bedroom with queen size bed
Second Bedroom (optional pricing structure applies) - locked off when not required
Second Bedroom (optional pricing structure applies) - locked off when not required
Country style kitchen to have breakfast in
Traditional bathroom with modern fittings
Traditional shower area with room for two
Wide shady verandah to have your morning cuppa out on
Wide entrance hallway
'Burnie Brae' c 1908 is located in a quiet street in a historic part of town
Visit and be awed by The Three Sisters
Do a bushwalk to Katoomba Falls
Frollick in the waters of Katoomba Cascades
Admire Jamison Valley & Mt Solitary
Enjoy the thrills at Scenic World
Be dazzled by Weeping Rock
Go for a paddle at Queens Cascade
Be enthralled by Wentworth Falls
View the splendour of the Grose Valley
Hunt for hidden treasure at the Victory Theatre
Have lunch at the Megalong Tea Rooms
Explore the underworld of Jenoleon Caves
Take afternoon tea at The Paragon
Cherish some quality local restaurants
Ride the historic Zig Zag Railway
Meander the gardens of Mt Wilson
Find inspirion at Norman Lindsay Gallery
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Katoomba, Blue Mountains, New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Geoff and...
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Excellent Accommodation”
Reviewed 16 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018
1
person found this review helpful

Absolutely loved this place, location is fantastic, house is very comfortable and livable. Loved all the antique furniture and fittings and even though the house is close to town it is very quiet.

Shops, cafes, bars, restaurants and public transport (buses and trains) are all close at hand, so much so that during our four night stay we didn't use our car once.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merv418
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely mountain house and perfectly located.”
Reviewed 12 March 2018 for a stay in March 2018

it rained every day but no matter. Everything, cafes, station, buses, the Carrington, the cinema, were in walking distance. The house is really lovely, very fully equipped with under floor heating to add to the comfort.
Could do with brighter lighting in the kitchen and for reading, but otherwise a perfect mountain retreat.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul F
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful and quiet place to stay”
Reviewed 4 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Enjoyed spacious and private, lovely garden view, convenient location.

It is a comfortable self contained Traditional Mountain Home for single or small family. It is also a good place for retreat.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ScottishD...
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 215 helpful votes
“A perfect stay in the Blue Mountains.”
Reviewed 10 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

We have only just left Burnie Brae and we already miss it! I stay in serviced or self catering accommodation for about 250 nights a year and many of my reviews are based on past experiences. When I came upon Burnie Brae the pictures and description sounded ideal and when we walked in the door the expectation was more than met. We spent 5 nights in this delightful cottage and could have easily stayed longer. Lovely, comfy bed, well equipped kitchen, beautiful lounge and dining room all in spectacular surroundings. The walk to town was very easy and we fell in love with Katoomba as well. I cannot fault this cottage in any way and would gladly return!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paul Z
1 review
“Very relaxing week in a great Blue Mountains Federation home”
Reviewed 18 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

My wife and I really enjoyed a week spent in this very nicely renovated Federation home in Katoomba. We elected to use only the one bedroom (green room), though two are available. We would recommend this home to those looking for something unique and well cared for - many modern conveniences within a short distance of Katoomba. Recommended.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dixeychic...
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
“Elegant house in mountains perfect for the weekend and for self-catering”
Reviewed 2 May 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Great location within walking distance to Katoomba shops and train station. Beautiful, elegant and spacious house with lovely gardens - perfect for the weekend or a longer stay. We were 2 couples and it suited us perfectly. I would highly recommend it.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sir Keith...
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A Truly Charming House”
Reviewed 16 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017

We stayed at Bernie Brae for three weeks, making it our base for a holiday from the UK. The house lived up to and exceeded our expectations; it is in a quiet road and is an easy walk into town. It is a comfortable 'home from home' with plenty of space. The rooms are all large and very well appointed. The owner (Michael) could not have been more helpful giving great advice on local restaurants and when I told him that we were planning to drive to the Hunter Valley for a couple of days he recommended a route (The Putty Road) which was stunning and really added to our visit. We will be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing