We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic meal”

Darley's Restaurant
Reserve with
Darley's Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1 of 91 Restaurants in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$45
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Private Dining, Reservations
Description: Blue Mountains Best Dining Experience | Darleys Restaurant. Our Blue Mountains Restaurant offers modern Australian cuisine which is served in a romantic space that features beautiful stained glassed windows, original ornate fire places, crystal chandeliers and offers guests a breathtaking view of the surrounding gardens and the Jamison Valley. Open: 6.00PM - 10.30 PM : Tuesday to SaturdayA La Carte Menu2 Courses - $95 pp3 Courses - $125 ppNote: Weekends and public holidays - set price 3 courses $125 6 Course Degustation Tasting Menu $160 ppMatching Wines $75 pp
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
119 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Romantic meal”
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Brilliant food, great service and and excellent wine list. On a cold night, the restaurant was lovely and warm

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralf B, General Manager at Darley's Restaurant, responded to this review, 30 December 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent dining experience at Darley’s Restaurant at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa

It’s a pleasure to read that you had a relaxing and enjoyable dinner and our team that looked after you.

I hope we can welcome you back to Darley’s Restaurant in the near future.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

461 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    330
    83
    26
    13
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Dinner”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We had dinner at Darley's last night and the food was amazing. Service was good and the restaurant itself is very elegant, although pushing the heating up a few degrees would have been nice. We thoroughly enjoyed our night.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Aimee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralf B, General Manager at Darley's Restaurant, responded to this review, 30 December 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent dining experience at Darley’s Restaurant at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa

It’s a pleasure to read that you had a relaxing and enjoyable dinner and our team that looked after you.

I hope we can welcome you back to Darley’s Restaurant in the near future.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Nice decor, good for a special occasion, try the local produce”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

We're not regular fine diners but celebrated our wedding anniversary here while staying at the adjacent Echoes hotel.

Having an understated exterior, we actually missed the entrance to the restaurant in the dark and walked around the whole building, but once inside the interior provided a very warm setting (helps to be near the fire).

Foodwise, my locally sourced wagyu steak ($10 extra on top of the $125 for 3 courses) was the best I'd ever had (think of the delicious fatty bit in the best Chinese bbq pork you've had, but in beautiful steak form), whilst my wife was happy but not knocked off her feet with her lamb.

Can't do this everyday, but satisfied with the visit.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank HazeAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralf B, General Manager at Darley's Restaurant, responded to this review, 30 December 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent dining experience at Darley’s Restaurant at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa

It’s a pleasure to read that you had a relaxing and enjoyable dinner and our team that looked after you to help celebrate your wedding anniversary.

I hope we can welcome you back to Darley’s Restaurant in the near future.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely food, very overpriced”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My husband and I came to Darleys for our first Anniversary and were really looking forward to enjoying a special dinner in a beautiful restaurant. The price of the menu was a bit of a splurge at $125 fixed per head for three courses (we've enjoyed incredible degustation menus at 5 star restaurants for $100-$110), but after looking at the very attractive menu on the restaurant's website, we decided to go for it anyway and just enjoy it.

The first thing we noticed when we got there was that the menu was quite different to what we saw online, and the two things we really wanted weren't there! This was a bit of a disappointing beginning, as was the price of the wine - minimum $17 per glass. The meal was lovely, but not outstanding. I had the pork jowl for entrée, which was delicious, and I'd highly recommend it. My husband had the slow cooked egg (which is a hens egg, not a duck egg as advertised online). It was nice, but nothing too special. Mains and desserts were lovely, but again nothing to write home about.

Perhaps the most unusual moment of the night was when the lady at the table next to us, who as a vegetarian had ordered the slow cooked egg with gnocchi for entrée, and a main that also had gnocchi, was told when her entrée came to the table, that the chef had decided not to include the gnocchi in the entrée, because she was having it for her main as well! She wasn't given an explanation past this, or to my knowledge a substitute, as the waitress disappeared before she had a chance to respond. The lady was rightly livid and was quite vocal in her anger, however didn't mention it to the staff. She was however wondering out loud whether she would be getting a refund for her gnocchi. Somehow I doubt she got value for money out of her $40ish entrée.

Overall we enjoyed our night. The restaurant is beautiful and the decor is lovely, warm and inviting. Our waitress was friendly but was out of her depth with the finer points of the menu. She was saved a few times by other staff whenever anyone around us had a question about food or wine. The maitre d was very warm but did't touch base with us until after we'd finished. I'm glad we went as it was a special meal for a special occasion, but doubt we'd ever come back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine_1055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralf B, General Manager at Darley's Restaurant, responded to this review, 30 December 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent dining experience at Darley’s Restaurant at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa

It’s a pleasure to read that you had a relaxing and enjoyable dinner and our team that looked after you for your anniversary. Please accept my apologies for the difference in the menus as our menus do change quite often which is dependant on what fresh produce our Executive Chef can source from our local suppliers.

I hope we can welcome you back to Darley’s Restaurant in the near future.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice restaurant, fancy and pricey - but good for a special occasion.”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This is an expensive restaurant with a good menu, nice food, and good staff. My husband and I were seated near the beautiful fireplace and the staff helped us with the wine selection and we both had the toothfish, which was fantastic. The meal cost over $300 for both of us, but was to be expected given the style and ambiance of the restaurant. I'd recommend it to others wanting a fancy meal for a special occasion.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Audra E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ralf B, General Manager at Darley's Restaurant, responded to this review, 30 December 2014
Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for reviewing your recent dining experience at Darley’s Restaurant at Lilianfels Blue Mountains Resort & Spa

It’s a pleasure to read that you had a relaxing and enjoyable dinner and our team that looked after you.

I hope we can welcome you back to Darley’s Restaurant in the near future.

With thanks,

Ralf Bruegger
Group General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Darley's Restaurant also viewed

Leura, Blue Mountains
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 

Been to Darley's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing