We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First and last time staying here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kurrara Historic Guest House
Ranked #3 of 19 Katoomba B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“First and last time staying here!”
Reviewed 20 June 2011

When we arrived the front door was closed so we rang the bell but no answer. We then called the number listed on the front door but it went to voice mail. We then went around the back to find the manager outside smoking. Not sure why he didn't answer the phone but we went in the rear door and were shown our room.
The room was obviously not cleaned very well as there was dust all over the bed side tables etc so I cleaned then with a wet cloth.
Next we turned on the TV only to find the reception was not very good so off we decided to have a spa. We noticed that there was not enough hot water for the spa which we had paid an extra $25/night for so we went to bed.
Noise from other guests can easily be heard and this made it hard to go to sleep.
The bed moved around a lot when either of us turned over so this was another reason why we found it hard to sleep.
The next morning we had to go out to get breakfast as no breakfast was offered and when we returned we noticed that our door opened by simply pushing it.
I was quite upset at this as we had out laptop and other valuables in there and I was sure I had locked the door.
When I asked the manager who had been in our room he informed me that the door lock was not working properly and that it took some knack to close it properly and that any slight turn to much would cause it to not lock.
The only redeeming feature we found was free wireless Internet.
We would not stay there again and would recommend others look around for other Bed and Breakfast places as we are sure you could do better.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Travelbugs18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    99
    18
    9
    18
See reviews for
44
265
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
andover
Level Contributor
110 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2011

... and now for something completely different! We were sorry to read dismal reviews of this place as we enjoyed our 2 night stay here with friends. Pity if it is true that breakfast is no longer an option as this was excellent, especially for the reasonable price – fresh, well presented and with lots of choice.

This old colonial style place must be unique. It's full of so many pictures, books and curiosities that you would need to spend more than a few days here to fully appreciate its historical importance. Attention to detail even went as far as playing 'The Laughing Policeman' at breakfast which we found amusing.

Yes, it's a bit dark and maybe cluttered but that's all part of the charm. Incredible that they have managed to fit the 'essential' elements of spa baths and internet into the equation without destroying the theme. But it is not luxurious in the modern sense, our room was 'cosy' and the bathroom just about big enough.

It is in an excellent situation, in a quiet road, close enough to the main attractions to walk by day, or evening, but superbly tucked away from passing traffic.

Lots of choice for food in the town but our friends introduced us to the idea that you can eat at any veterans, golf or bowling club by 'joining' for the evening. There's a particularly good RSL in Katoomba which serves a mix of Chinese, Australian and European food at excellent prices. Our portions were so large we followed the example of others and took some home in containers they helpfully provided.

Room Tip: The Old Rose room is particularly spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jacqueline G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2011

Stayed recently at the Kurrara B&B and there was no breakfast. A B&B with no breakfast!!! When we booked the tariff included breakfast but after we checked in we were told that they had stopped doing breakfast and were now a guest house not a B&B although the website and brochures at the front door still said they did breakfast! The guy on the front desk was not apologetic and didn't seem to care. Nice bedrooms but the service could be much better.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank beccall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2011

We stayed for 9 nights at Kurrara on our honeymoon and were very pleased with the guest house. I was glad to find that we were away from the noise of the main roads, unlike some places in the area. Everytime we arrived back at the guest house we would notice some other beautiful feature we hadn't seen yet. We had a sneak peek into the other rooms and all have their own charms and are decorated in old fashion. Meals and cooking facilities are not provided but we did have a kettle in our room and there was always ample tea and coffee. Close to the Three Sisters and many amazing bushwalks, restaurants and cafes. It was nice to come back to a heated room after being out in the cold.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Yizzimindi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2011

The place was run down, dirty stinky bathroom, peeling paint on the walls, really need a good face lift. The Italian man that runs it is rude and obnoxtious. We wanted to leave our bags at the b&b the next day as we had the whole day in the blue mountains before flying out that night. Would not let us leave our bags, he was rude about it and practically threw us out. We had the spend the whole day sitting in a cafe as we could no go on walks with our suitcases. It really ruined our weekend.

With so many places to stay near by, I would NEVER recommend this place to anyone!!!

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VMcClay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2011

My partner and I stayed for 3 nights. The host was very kind and friendly, the room was gorgeous. Four poster bed, spa bath and our own private sitting room. Will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank romantics27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2011

I went to Katoomba with my girl friend for a weekend of music, bush walks and ..time off.
We enjoyed the country music played by some good local folks and the dinner at the brasserie was good watered down with some good James Squire.
The room we got at the guest house, the Rose, bring back to us wonderful memories, the great fire place helped us to feel warm and the spa to see the end of a bottle of French champagne for a very special occasion. Thank you to everybody there for the help on planning our bush walk from Leura cascade to Gordon Falls lookout.
We will be back for our next anniversary :)

Room Tip: Our room the Rose was wonderful, fireplace, spa
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sydneybluebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
0.6 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 879 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.6 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
0.6 mi away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
0.3 mi away
Melba House Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kurrara Historic Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kurrara Historic Guest House

Property: Kurrara Historic Guest House
Address: 17 Coomonderry St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kurrara Historic Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kurrara Guest House was built in 1902 as one of the first guest houses in Katoomba. In 2012, it was handed over to new owners and has undergone a transformation. Our beautiful Mountains Guest House is centrally heated, and offers 3 spa en suites, with 4-poster beds and period furnishings. 5 Upstairs shower en suites are individually decorated and have been recently refurbished. Our guests enjoy relaxing in our communal lounges around Victorian gas log fires and a large screen TV/DVD & library. Enjoy tea & coffee on arrival, and complimentary Port. We offer a full continental breakfast of homemade muesli, cereals, freshly baked bread, fruit, yogurt, and fresh juice. Free wifi is available in all rooms. Kurrara has its own private carpark and off street parking. Situated on a quiet and peaceful corner, surrounded by rhododendrons and mature trees. We are within walking distance to Katoomba town centre and wonderful restaurants, Echo Point and The Three Sisters and the many bushwalks in the surrounding area.We welcome you to stay with us and become part of an 110 year tradition of visitors to Kurrara. You won't want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Kurrara Historic Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kurrara Guest House Hotel Katoomba
Kurrara Historic Guest House Blue Mountains/Katoomba, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing