We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm and cosy”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kurrara Historic Guest House
Ranked #2 of 19 Katoomba B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2013

We spent two nights at Kurrara Guest House and can highly recommend this b&b. Every room was beautifully heated, the beds were extremely comfortable, there was a great selection of artisan breads, cereals, teas and coffee for breakfast, and we appreciated the little touches like port and chocolate. The hosts Iain and Evelyn were very friendly, helpful and knowledgeable. Regina and Paul

Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Regina r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (436)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 436 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2013

I just returned from my weekend away. It was more than I expected. Beautiful rooms lovely ,very friendly management that went beyond there role to help. New owners had so much knowledge on the history of the house. I would only suggest some option for pre ordered bacon and eggs to be included in the breakfast . I'm already planning my next holiday to take my older kids and mum. Great value and unexpected extras that made me feel very at home . Great job!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiatsu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here 16th 17th and 18th of August 2013 and loved it. The owners are lovely people and very helpful. It is located in a central part of Katoomba, half way between the three sisters and the cbd.
Rooms had an old world charm feel, we stayed in room 2 which had a spa and a king size four post bed (very warm and comfy).
for me it was just the small touches that made the difference, For example, Free wifi, free use a large selection of dvds, complementary decanter of Port wine. Free chocolates in the dinning room. etc
Breakfast was included and was simple but delicious.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ozzywally
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2013

First impressions are a bit ordinary - when you first drive into the property there is 'stuff' stacked up along a verandah & then in reception and the signage is in need of some brightening up.
However once we settled in, it had a 'nice feel' about it. The location is good, walking distance to the '3 Sisters' & to town and local restaurants. The owners are very helpful with local info & advice The breakfast sections are excellent. In all we found the property to be very comfortable. Probably one of the 'low' points & this is typical of a lot of B&B's is the lack of shelf space in bathrooms. There is nowhere to put your wetpacks or medipacks (with the older population needing to take more & more medication, another pack seems to be a necessity)

Room Tip: Remember this property has stairs, so if this presents a problem, ask for a ground floor room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MyallTeaGardens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

Just returned to Sydney after 2 nights at this lovely guest house. The rooms are cosy, comfortable and full of olde worlde charm. There is a great choice of cereals, breads, etc for breakfast and the selection of teas is second to none. Prior to arrival I had asked if they had any lactose free milk and was told it would be supplied....on arrival I was given a carton to keep in my fridge to use as/when needed....very impressive! Can highly recommend this place if you are heading up the Mountains.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank koalabear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2013

my wife and I stayed here for two nights 25th/26th July. We found it a very charming and quaint guesthouse, Great location just 15 minutes walk from the three sisters and roughly the same to the town center. The rooms were very cosy and comfortable.The breakfast was very enjoyable with no shortage of cereals and bread. The whole place had an old world charm and the owner, Ian was very friendly and helpful. If you go to Katoomba, stay here

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank liam w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Very comfortable stay. Great choice of fresh continental breakfast with good coffee. Beautiful cosy room with ease of access. Helpful information and good location for all sights and surrounding town centres. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: The Bluebell
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EricaJK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
0.6 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
955 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
589 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Lurline House
Lurline House
#3 of 19 in Katoomba
695 reviews
0.3 mi away
Melba House Boutique Bed & Breakfast
1.2 mi away
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Sky Rider Motor Inn
#1 of 15 in Katoomba
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kurrara Historic Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kurrara Historic Guest House

Address: 17 Coomonderry St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Katoomba
Price Range: £77 - £119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kurrara Historic Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kurrara Guest House was built in 1902 as one of the first guest houses in Katoomba. In 2012, it was handed over to new owners and has undergone a transformation. Our beautiful Mountains Guest House is centrally heated, and offers 3 spa en suites, with 4-poster beds and period furnishings. 5 Upstairs shower en suites are individually decorated and have been recently refurbished. Our guests enjoy relaxing in our communal lounges around Victorian gas log fires and a large screen TV/DVD & library. Enjoy tea & coffee on arrival, and complimentary Port. We offer a full continental breakfast of homemade muesli, cereals, freshly baked bread, fruit, yogurt, and fresh juice. Free wifi is available in all rooms. Kurrara has its own private carpark and off street parking. Situated on a quiet and peaceful corner, surrounded by rhododendrons and mature trees. We are within walking distance to Katoomba town centre and wonderful restaurants, Echo Point and The Three Sisters and the many bushwalks in the surrounding area. We welcome you to stay with us and become part of an 110 year tradition of visitors to Kurrara. You won't want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Kurrara Historic Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kurrara Guest House Hotel Katoomba
Kurrara Historic Guest House Blue Mountains/Katoomba, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing