We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Kurrara Historic Guest House
Nearby Hotels
US$136
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Carrington Hotel(Katoomba)(Great Value!)
US$229
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$98
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
3 Explorers Motel(Katoomba)(Great Value!)
US$95
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$92
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sky Rider Motor Inn(Katoomba)(Great Value!)
US$76
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$67
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$222
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$207
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$277
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$266
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
3 Sisters Motel(Katoomba)(Great Value!)
US$83
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$76
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$74
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$69
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
Katoomba Town Centre(Katoomba)(Great Value!)
US$97
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$91
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Blue Mountains Heritage Motel(Katoomba)(Great Value!)
US$91
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$88
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (464)
Filter reviews
464 results
Traveller rating
311
104
20
10
19
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
311
104
20
10
19
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslily roomrose suiteboiled eggscomplimentary porttea selectionafternoon teablue mountainswarm croissantscoffee machinespa suitesun roomthree sistersecho pointcontinental breakfastlovely guesthouseold world charmquiet street
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
306 - 311 of 464 reviews
Reviewed 11 January 2014

Great friendly place with excellent owners who care about their property and the comfort and privacy of their guests.
Iain booked a restaurant for us for dinner (Pins) which was excellent and guided us to Niagra the first night, which again was excellent - and both BYOG! (We travel with our own supplies that we prefer)
We'll be back, breakfast was great, plenty of variety and good coffee. Rooms, Magnolia and Bluebell were very comfortable, although it did take 1/2 hour to fill the spa! However it was very relaxing after a day's climbing around the area. Very central to Echo Point and CBD Katoomba, just a short drive to Leura where we had a delicious lunch at the Deli overlooking the valley.

Room Tip: A very quiet area so no street noise at all. Any room would be great, just whatever suits you.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sally G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KurraraHouse, Owner at Kurrara Historic Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Kurrara, and that everything met your
expectations, we look forward to welcoming you back when you feel like a break.
Kind regards
Iain & Evelyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013

On arrival in the late afternoon for a 3 night stay, after a day of travelling we were told that we would be upgraded to a spa suite as they had double booked our room with a party of 3. The booked room was a refurbished room on the first floor. The spa suite we were shown was on the ground floor and had clearly not been refurbished. There was no wardrobe, or shelf space or luggage rack for suitcases. Also the room was very dimly lit and felt depressing. Not ideal when on holiday! The receptionist said she would move us to another spa-suite which had a wardrobe, then when we entered the room she realised the wardrobe had been removed, probably because the room was too small. Asked if they had a clothes rail, the best that could be found was a towel rail. Lighting was again very poor with 2 of the 5 bulbs in the light fitting were missing. The reason given was reducing energy consumption. Also one bedside light was not working. The windows in the bedroom were sealed, no air conditioning hence no ventilation. There was one window in the bathroom that could be opened. The shower was poor, water pressure was low, and nearly scalded ourselves trying to set the temperature. The sloping base to the spar bath was slippery and made it difficult to stand comfortably under the shower, it felt precarious. I told the receptionist this was unacceptable and we be staying one night only and she agreed readily to a refund of the other two nights. We never did see the refurbished room but would advise anyone considering Kurrara house to establish exactly what they are getting. I would not recommend booking Kurrara House, but if anyone should consider it, don’t book the “spa-suites” until they have been refurbished, and for summer bookings ensure air-conditioning has been installed. The final criticism was breakfast. This was self service which is not a problem. However, the tables weren’t laid and it was another guest who showed us where the cutlery and crockery were. The staff member who was around didn’t ask if we needed help, or any other sign of offering a service. The only comment made was “ oh you are the ones leaving today”. On the positive side, the bed was comfortable.

Room Tip: Don't book an unrefurbished room. Don't accept an upgrade until you have compared your original booked room and the substitute.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank StarryBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
KurraraHouse, Owner at Kurrara Historic Guest House, responded to this reviewResponded 13 January 2014

Dear ‘starrybob’

In response to your “review” posted on tripadvisor ref your overnight stay at our property. As much as I do apologise for your inconvenience, I would like to correct some of your comments.

1) Due to the nature of the international booking system (not ours)and its inherent time zone delays, there are occasionally errors, i.e double bookings. If this occurs we do our best to either upgrade the guest or find alternative accommodation (you declined the offer).

2) Both spa rooms on the ground floor that you were shown as an upgrade had been refurbished to heritage standards. Both bedrooms are 5m x 4m + ensuite (hardly small), the 1st room you were shown also had a separate private dinning area. All ground floor rooms have 3.5m high ceilings, vertical tower eco-fans are provided.

3) Of the two rooms offered you picked the ‘Honeysuckle’ one of our most popular rooms, the bedroom has two 1 x 2.3m high windows (impressive and light). The room does have shelf space in the cupboard at the entry to the ensuite (an oversight I’m sure), the chandelier has 3 halogen globes out of 5 fittings producing high output 1250 ansi lumens, (we do our best throughout the property to minimise our carbon footprint) ‘Honeysuckle’ also has two bedside lights and a third by the TV. If one was unplugged it was probably due to a previous guest charging a phone.
The ensuite 2.5 x 3.3m, again quite spacious. also has two 1 x 2.3m windows. As in all properties in Katoomba, water pressure is dictated by the local water company. The spa bath shower has a non-slip surface conforming to Aus Standards.

4) Kurrara has been operating as a guesthouse since 1902. it is one of the few examples of this style of building left in the mountains, and we do our best to provide the ‘experience’ of a turn of the century guesthouse. Breakfast is fresh everyday and laid out, it’s serve yourself, how much and how often as you like. Kurrara is a heritage style guesthouse it has a very congenial atmosphere and for 112 years people meet, talk, share stories and travel adventures.

5) Situated in the mountains over 3300ft above sea level, the mountain air is cool clean and crisp, combined with the design of the house little need for air conditioning. Even in the high points of summer heat, we experience good breeze with low humidity. 'Kurrara' in traditional language means high campsite.

In conclusion ‘Starrybob’ I get the impression that our older style of accommodation may not have been the ‘experience’ you were looking for, I hope the Motel was more to your standard. The booking issue was obviously frustrating, again I apologise for the inconvenience to both you and your partner.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 December 2013

We really enjoyed our stay here, so comfortable and relaxing. It is in a great location just get off at stop number five on the explorer bus and the guest house is a quick walk down the street. Ian was great with advice on what to do and where to eat. Lovely enclosed front porch area to eat breakfast . You can walk to Echo point from the guest house which is nice in the evening when the three sisters are lit up
It just has a nice homey feel to it which is what we wanted

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tobanWinnipeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

Kurrara guest house was one of the loveliest places I've ever stayed! My first B&B and wow the entire family loved it! The room was lovely with a slanting roof and high bed. Crisp clean sheets and clean bathroom. I thought the old school light switches and antique wardrobe were great touches to the room.

The tea/brekky room was great! Lounges and dining tables to sit and enjoy coffee and some of the 20 types of tea Iain and Evelyn had available for guests to enjoy.

We all enjoyed the brekky of croissants with cheese and tomato, cereals, fruit toast, yoghurt and more types of jam than we could try in one brekky!

Iain and Evelyn were lovely hosts- helping with any questions we had about must see places in the area. Thanks guys for a wonderful stay! If we are ever in the area we'll be back :)

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shannon104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Kurrara is a real gem. It looks a little tired from the road at first, but is undergoing a refurbishment program. The owners are prioritising the most important bits first. The rooms have been really well restored with fresh paint, fixtures and the best bed I've slept in for a long time. Ian and Evelyn are great hosts, happy to offer advice on tours, local eateries or have a chat about their beautiful guest house. There are several common areas, all are very comfortable with a great range of teas, coffee, juice and snacks (fruit cake, biscuits, fruit etc) available to consume whilst relaxing in one of the leather lounge chairs reading books, newspapers or catching a TV show or DVD. Highly recommend a stay here, much better than the bland brand x hotel/motel.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Stevendebc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews