We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Kurrara Historic Guest House Katoomba”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Kurrara Historic Guest House
Ranked #3 of 19 Katoomba B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Suva, Central, Fiji
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Kurrara Historic Guest House Katoomba”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

We had a most enjoyable long weekend at Kurrara - made most welcome by Ian and his wife Evelyn who went out of their way to make sure our stay was comfortable. We stayed in the Magnolia Room which was lovely - warm and homely with many little touches to enhance our stay. We particularly loved the lounge at night with the fire - great place to unwind after a busy day with a glass of red! also a vast DVD library which you could utilise in a separate small lounge or use in your room - loved revisiting Strictly Ballroom and a little bit of Breakfast at Tiffanys. For us, being in the mountains means staying somewhere old with a little bit of history but still having amenities for a comfortable stay - Kurrara ticks all the boxes and we will definitely be back!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    260
    99
    18
    9
    18
See reviews for
44
265
21
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Surrey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We booked this last minute and only Blue bell room was available - small but beautifully formed. Kurrara is amazing - stepping back in time - true hospitality - comfortable bedrooms and delightful communal surroundings - help yourself to tea, cake , port - incredible vfm. Great breakfast - thank you Iain for huge warm croissants and everything else. Would definitely recommend and return if opportunity arises.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chiddies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here to celebrate our wedding anniversary, and with my husband being into antiques, this place was right up his alley. Old world charm, tastefully decorated and the complimentary port in one of the lounge rooms was very enjoyable :) We stayed in The Lily Room which was very comfortable. Would recommend if you are after a lovely quiet, peaceful break. A 10 minute stroll away from the main street so also convenient location.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kerrie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2014

I was travelling alone and needed somewhere cosy. Kurrara was the place! I stayed in the Lavender room and loved it! Prior to my stay, I emailed them to ask many questions about the guest house, tours around Blue Mountains etc, and they always take the time to give me really long and informative reply! Could tell they were not just pasting some standard answers to every potential guest. The breakfast was nice and healthy stuff and Iain and another lady Stephanie (I think) were very kind and helpful. I was having a cup of tea all by myself in the common room and Iain immediately came in and light the fire! Location of the guest house is perfect too! I wanted somewhere where I can walk to both the 3 Sisters as well as the town area near the train station and this was it! Right in the middle! The dvds were a great way to pass the quiet nights in the mountains. Had only one concern, which is that the heater wasn't that great, and staying at the Blue Mountains in winter, this means a great deal! Would be great if there was more warmth in the room, otherwise everything about Kurrara is perfect.

Room Tip: All the rooms are quaint and cosy!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Flippergal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
89 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed at Kurrara back in March for two nights while in Katoomba to compete in a running event. We were impressed by the genuinely welcoming owners who made us feel at home during our entire stay and loved our light-filled room; the Lily Premium en suite and were impressed by the level of effort the owners had gone to in beautifully maintaining this heritage Guest House. We look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clinton K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We had a wonderful stay at Kurrara Guest House. The staff were very welcoming, the house was always warm and so nice to come back to after a chilly day out walking around the mountains. The attention to detail in the decoration was outstanding and the tea, coffee and port and chocolates were very generous. The beds were very comfortable, and the rooms were cosy. Would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_and_Maggie2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greta, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

Our stay with Evelyn and Iain was nothing short of spectacular. The staff were more than accommodating to our late check-in, even offered us some complimentary port in the lounge room, which we finished. We had a most comfortable sleep in a rustic, but hygienic room. We began our day with delicious gluten-free cereal and finished it with the refilled bottle of port. To you, Iain and Evelyn, we raise our glasses.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank nickyyyjk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
0.6 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 881 reviews
0.6 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
0.6 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
0.6 mi away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
0.3 mi away
Melba House Boutique Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kurrara Historic Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kurrara Historic Guest House

Property: Kurrara Historic Guest House
Address: 17 Coomonderry St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Kurrara Historic Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kurrara Guest House was built in 1902 as one of the first guest houses in Katoomba. In 2012, it was handed over to new owners and has undergone a transformation. Our beautiful Mountains Guest House is centrally heated, and offers 3 spa en suites, with 4-poster beds and period furnishings. 5 Upstairs shower en suites are individually decorated and have been recently refurbished. Our guests enjoy relaxing in our communal lounges around Victorian gas log fires and a large screen TV/DVD & library. Enjoy tea & coffee on arrival, and complimentary Port. We offer a full continental breakfast of homemade muesli, cereals, freshly baked bread, fruit, yogurt, and fresh juice. Free wifi is available in all rooms. Kurrara has its own private carpark and off street parking. Situated on a quiet and peaceful corner, surrounded by rhododendrons and mature trees. We are within walking distance to Katoomba town centre and wonderful restaurants, Echo Point and The Three Sisters and the many bushwalks in the surrounding area.We welcome you to stay with us and become part of an 110 year tradition of visitors to Kurrara. You won't want to leave! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Kurrara Historic Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kurrara Guest House Hotel Katoomba
Kurrara Historic Guest House Blue Mountains/Katoomba, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing