We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs work”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Metropole Guesthouse
Ranked #9 of 19 Katoomba B&B and Inns
Reviewed 14 November 2011

Me and my husband stayed at the metropole for 3 nights in November. Its a little guesthouse close to the main street and raliway station.
We had a package deal which included dinner and breakfast on some nights. The breakfast was ok but nothing special. Dinner was three courses. The food was actually quite nice. Me and my husband found it a little odd though that our waiter gave us a courses and then procedd to sit down at the table beside us and eat his courses and drink wine as if he was a guest, so we were a bit confused on that. He also made a point of looking down at the other waitress and bark orders at her. Bit sad as she was a lovely young girl . The rooms were nice and clean and the reception lady could not have been nicer. I think this place just needs a bit more managemental skills and a bit of an update.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kizza58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

241 - 247 of 252 reviews

Reviewed 18 September 2011

Positives: very close to railway station and main street of Katoomba. Breakfast and dinner OK but nothing to get excited about. You eat what is given, no menu choice, if you arrive late you risk not being fed.
Negatives: Rail noise at night can be an issue even though we were in a room the furthest point fromm the rail line. It is very old, dated, run down and smells of mildew. Poor value for money but that seems to be a pattern throughout Katoomba

Room Tip: Get one on the ground floor so as to avoid the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Dodger52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2011

In the company of 9 others my husband and I spent a weekend last month at The Metropole. It was a gathering of old friends at a town that was accessible for us coming from the ACT, Sydney and the Southern Highlands.
The Guest House is right opposite the railway station on a corner but the noise wasn't too bad. From the outside it looks pretty run down but inside it is lovely. Furnished with the comfort of a bygone era, lots of nooks and crannies to sit with a book,or otherwise have drinks and chat.
The rooms were comfortable and clean with tasteful furnishings, ensuites, adequate heating and room to move around. The beds were comfortable and the room spotlessly clean. The big down turn is there is no lift. Most of the rooms are on the 1st or 2nd floor. One of our party was on crutches and another had a leg injury and as their rooms were on the 2nd floor, they struggled. We all had to lump our lugage up and down the stairs. Perhaps the fact there is no lift should be pointed out in the brochure.
We were on a weekend dinner, bed and breakfast package and with some coming long distances the inflexibility of having to be seated by 6.00pm for dinner. particularly on Friday night, seems a bit antiquated in this day and age. At least there was a bar with a reasonable drinks and wine list but no BY0 and specialty teas and coffees were extra as well. Also having to be seated by 8.00am for breakfast is infleixible too. The food was ok but there was no choice at both meals, 3 set courses at dinner and cereals and fruit laid out for breakfast but small servings of hot meals with no choice there either. It all felt a bit rushed.
Parking was first in first served on an old parking lot at the back or it was the street.
We had a fun weekend, but if I went back I would eat elsewhere.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms on the 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gemmabel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2010

We stayed here for one night and had a package for $220 which included a three course dinner and cooked breakfast. The hotel is in a convinent location at the top of the main street, close to the railway, and it has limited free parking. The interior of the hotel - furnishings and decor is 1930s style. The layout appears to have altered little from when the hotel was built. As such the guest rooms are small and compact, and there are large communal lobbys, library, and games rooms. The hotel is 3 storeys high and there is no lift. If you suffered from mobility issues or had heavy luggage I would recommend requesting a lower or middle floor room. Our room on the third floor was clean, comfortable, but small. For a one night stay it was adequate. The rooms only have ceiling fans. We stayed on quite a hot night and found that the ceiling fan struggled to keep the temperature in the room cool. If booking during summer months again i think i would re consider my stay here due to no proper air conditioning.
The meals are all served in an elegant dining room which only serves meals to guests who book the meal packages. Our three course meal was set and there was no menu choise. The wine list was adequate. Our meal consisted of tomato and kumaru soup, chicken stuffed with spinich and feta, vegetables and rice. Dessert was pavalova and fruit. Breakfast which is served at 8.15am is a buffet continental (no fruit) and a small cooked meal of sausage, poached egg, hash brown, and bacon. The meals while small were good quaility and plainly presented.
Overall we enjoyed the meals and the character of the hotel. We did not have the most comfortable sleep due to the temperature of the room. For a short stay i would recomment this hotel - but not maybe in the hottest months.

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Peterandelizabeth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2010

We stayed at the Metropole earlier this year and it's pretty good. The hotel is very old school, like stepping back in time its great. the food at breakfast is really nice and the staff are friendly.
The rooms are very small however, as is the bathroom, your knees can almost touch the food, but this isnt a very big downfall, you're hardly in your room the whole time anyway.
The demographic for the Metropole was apparently not our age bracket however, but all the guests we're nice and polite.
Had a lovely stay

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jo_Ben88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2008

We stayed here for two night's prior to the six foot marathon. The room was clean, small, but adequate and included a basic shower only en-suite. My only real complaint would be that the bed was saggy, and the pillows hard. The room also suffered from squeakly floorboards which probably irritated the lower floors beneath us, however this is normal in an older style guesthouse.
I would recommend this if you want to experience an traditional, older style, Australian feeling guesthouse. It has beautiful stained glass windows (that could do with a wash) and a curious library/reading room which we unfortunately couldn't get into.
The receptionist was very helpful, however they did not manage to provide the requested bath (which was very much needed after the marathon) which was a disappointment.
Perfect for a very short stay (1 night), if a little expensive for what you actually get.

We did not eat in the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelliekat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2007

We stayed on a Wednesday and Thursday night at The Metropole a 1930s building, decorated in this era with period furnishings and booked directly with the hotel. With all the inclusions, it worked out to be a better deal then staying in a private ensuite at the YHA and purchasing meals and entry fees separately. We paid $175 AUD per person for two nights which included: accommodation, breakfast and dinner each day, 2 day bus passes on the Blue Mountains Explorer Bus and accompanying discounts (this would have cost us $32 per person per day), entry to the Everglades Garden in neighboring Leura ($7 per person) and Devonshire tea and biscuits at the charming Bygone Beautys Antique Centre & Tearoom ($25 per person).

ACCOMMODATION: This hotel had a lot of families and older patrons and is definitely not a party type place, although there are pool tables, books, lounge chairs in the common areas. The room was clean and of average size and included: a queen size bed, tv, ensuite bathroom, coffee/tea service, mini-bar fridge, desk and a couch. The ceilings are high and we did notice a few cobwebs/dust bunnies in hard to reach places but no bugs whatsoever. Our room faced the train tracks so occasionally we heard trains up until about 10 pm at night rolling by but this didn't bother us, although light sleepers may want to request a room facing the inward court, the park or another direction. There was an overhead fan but no A/C which wasn't a problem for us except in the late morning with the room was flooded with sunlight due to the large windows.

LOCATION: The is literally a 2 minute walk from Katoomba train station and the Explorer Bus information booth. Its just off the main street in Katoomba.

FOOD: Full Australian breakfast (eggs, sausage, bacon "rashers", toast, tomato), not continental although cereal, juice and coffee/tea is on offer. Dinner was a three course meal and pretty substantial although, simply average as far as taste is concerned. Some dishes were better tasting then others (lamb was really good), but nothing taste bad. Vegetarian food is offered and care for allergy is taken; we just gave this information at check-in. The meals are had with all other guests in the main area and are served by wait staff. Alcohol is available for purchase and is in line with pub prices (about $4 a beer) but is only served during dinner. You can choose to sit on your own or with others. The only thing that we didn't like is that you had to be at dinner for 6:15 pm; no flexibility but seeing as everything in this small town closes fairly early, it wasn't too big of a deal (although you can't catch the last IMAX movie of the day).

IN GENERAL: We weren't completely sure we'd like the garden and tea room (as we're in our late 20's and this isn't our normal type of thing) but really enjoyed it; especially Bygone Beautys. Check out CUPID'S CUP CAKES on the main stretch by the Explorer Bus stop. They were delicious (better than Cupcakes on Pitt in Sydney) and were served on cute little theme plates with real silver cutlery! $5 for a cupcake and coffee.

  • Stayed: October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CandidCanucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
0.1 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
954 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
589 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Katoomba Town Centre
Katoomba Town Centre
#6 of 15 in Katoomba
249 reviews
1.2 mi away
Echo Point Discovery Motel
0.8 mi away
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Sky Rider Motor Inn
#1 of 15 in Katoomba
423 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Metropole Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Metropole Guesthouse

Address: Cnr Lurline Street 11-15 Gang Gang St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Katoomba
Price Range: £61 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Metropole Guesthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Metropole Guesthouse is a proud member of the Equeva Group, established with a view to provide the Complete Accommodation Experience for every type of traveller; from individuals to extended families. Located in Katoomba, in the scenic upper Blue Mountains. Established during the early part of the 1930s in the heart of the beautiful township of Katoomba; The Metropole offers a uniquely historic atmosphere. We are within comfortable walking distance to several key local attractions, specialty stores, dining options, buses and trains. It's easy to immerse yourself in the senses and flavours of a bygone era; indulge your appetites in our licenced 1930's dining room, relax with a book in our guest library, use our free Wifi or simply sit back and watch the world pass by on one of our many antique lounges. The Metropole Guesthouse can also provide function areas for meetings, conferences, weddings and birthdays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Metropole Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Metropole Guesthouse Hotel Katoomba
The Metropole Guesthouse Blue Mountains/Katoomba, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing