We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Metropole Guesthouse
Ranked #8 of 19 Katoomba B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

What a charming vintage style hotel. Feels like you stepped back in time. Friendly staff and quiet guests. Only real problem is its right next to the train station and the trains were still going till 12am and then again at 4am. They were quite loud so might be a problem for light sleepers. Games room had pool and table tennis along with a cute reading room with vintage radio and gramaphone. Tea cups provided in the rooms weren't clean and the toilet was so small that when you sit on it your knees hit the door. Other then that it was very pleasant and so close to all the main attractions. Very happy

Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
Thank MsBorda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (260)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

169 - 175 of 260 reviews

Reviewed 7 January 2014

The hotel was in a great location with excellent access to the train station and walks around Katoomba. Staff were nice and polite, the place was neat and mostly clean - it was a bit dated but had a library and reading rooms with LOTS of character. However, the sheets and curtains had some odd (grease?) stains on them and the room/ensuite were so tiny there was not even room to put the suitcases! I've seen bigger rooms in a caravan! Plenty of hot water and pressure in the shower, and the bed itself was nice enough. Good for a short stop where you don't expect to spend much time in the room

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Erin92andChris91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed one night here recently and overall I thought it was quite a nice little place.

The common areas of the hotel are gorgeous. Not fancy or modern, but very beautiful and with a lot of character. There's a library and a games room with an old gramophone, and most of the windows have stunning lead-light panels in them. The location was also wonderful. Very close to the train station and the main road, with plenty of places to explore and eat nearby.

The staff were friendly but hard to find. When we arrived to check in, we waited at least 10 minutes at the desk while a cleaner vacuumed around us and told us "just a minute". When we checked out the next morning we asked the receptionist about local attractions and she was quite happy to help but didn't know much about transport to the place we wanted to go (we ended up walking).

The room we stayed in was basic, but had a similar charm to the rest of the hotel. The bathroom was nice and clean and the bed was comfortable. I would happily stay here again the next time I visit the mountains.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank robot_crab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

We stayed here for one night on December 28th. Arrived to find that there were no staff on duty and had to find our key in an envelope on the back porch. The room was EXTREMELY basic, threadbare and very dark as it looked onto a central courtyard. The bar was locked and shut, there was no-one to be seen anywhere and it had the feeling of a low-rent boarding house rather than a guesthouse. Despite have a rooms vacant sign on the door, we met several people outside trying to get in touch to get a room via the number supplied, but all left as there was no answer. At 4am the fire alarm rang out for sometime before finally being shut-off. At no point were any guests informed as to whether this was an actual fire or an error. The following morning we went to breakfast to be told our rooms were not on the list. We persisted and finally received our food. When checking out we were told the breakfast was an additional $15 a head. When we pointed out that the website we had booked it through had said breakfast was included, the manager said that this was incorrect. When she checked the site and saw that this was the case, she told us that this only referred to standard doubles and not the king-size doubles we had booked. She was extremely rude, and after asking why there was no-one on reception when we arrived, why the bar had been shut, why the alarm went off during the night and why we were not listed for breakfast, her repeated response was "I don't know, I wasn't on yesterday". She was extremely rude, unfriendly and ruined our morning as we were all so furious leaving - especially after such an unpleasant experience. Avoid this dump like the plague - it may seem reasonable but is not! Katoomba is a great little town very close to the Three Sisters and I highly recommend the Carrington for pre-dinner drinks on their terrace and the Old Bank for dinner - great atmosphere and fantastic food.

Room Tip: Do not stay here!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brymay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
metropolekatoomba, Manager at The Metropole Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Dear Brymay,
It is most unfortunate that you feel the need to denegrate this business and staff as you haven't included the whole story. We have been operating for a long time and have many loyal patrons who year after year come back to stay and bring family and friends. This in itself says a lot....
I must say I noticed in your comments that you didn't mention the fact that all of you received a free breakfast....
We do not advertise a 24 hour reception, and if we do not receive a guests telephone number or they do not read their booking information, this means we cannot contact them to go over after hours key collection, therefore we follow the procedure you mentioned and have done for many years, with no complaints or problems.
In regard to your booking, you had no evidence of your booking to show that a breakfast was included, when you were shown a copy of the booking information we had received from the secondary booking company, this had no mention of a breakfast included. I then looked up the actual booking and the room type that included breakfast was not the type you had booked.
Regards
Janet Cosgrove (Manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

We booked a 2 night stay diret through the Metropole website. The rate was very competitive and included breakfast as well. At check in receptionist was really helpful, gave information for all the local attractions + discounts, we save more than $15 per person.
We throughly enjoyed our stay , will definitely be back
Thank you

  • Stayed: December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mariafox994
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
metropolekatoomba, Manager at The Metropole Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Dear Maria,
Thank you for your review, we always appreciate guests feedback.
We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay, discounts offered and the local attractions, hope to see you again in the near future.
Best regards
Janet Cosgrove (manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2013

the hotel is averagely priced in comparison with nearby hotel . and you get what you pay for. first the good things. the hotel is conveniently located to the High or main street for shopping and food. the car parking is off street which is a blessing as parking restrictions abound in the area. and breakfast was good value when compared with any other cafe on the main street.

on the opposite side. The room I had was old and reminds me of motels back in the early 70s in California or bed and breakfas places in the UK. Furniture is old and tired . and floorboards creak at every step . one can tell who is moving in which room by hearing the creaks. and anyone walking the corridor will certainly be announced by the floor board creaks.

Room Tip: dont pick any rooms near the lift. The lift does make a lot of noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fly_a_lot888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
metropolekatoomba, Manager at The Metropole Guesthouse, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2014

Thank you for your feedback, it is always appreciated.
We are an olde worlde guesthouse & that is what we try to maintain as there are not many left in the area, from most of the feedback we receive this is what our regular guests enjoy and appreciate.
Like all businesses we are continually working on improvements, but are always mindful of not losing the charm of a past era.
Best regards
Janet Cosgrove (manager)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

I spent 3 nights at the Metropole Guesthouse and would recommend it as a good place to stay in Katoomba. I arrived after reception closed but was able to phone in advance to arrange retrieving my keys from a keysafe, so don't be put off by the early evening closure of reception.

The guesthouse is located opposite the railway station - a huge relief when I arrived during a heavy downpour! It's also opposite the Blue Mountains Explorer Bus office - the guesthouse reception can sell you discounted tickets for this, you just take the voucher across to the Explorer office to exchange for your ticket and it's excellent value as the ticket lasts for the duration of your stay. Reception can also arrange other discounted attraction tickets too, a really helpful service. The guesthouse is well-located for restaurants and shops.

My room was on the ground floor facing in to the central courtyard. It could be a little bit noisy with other guests passing through the courtyard, but not a major issue. My room was adequately furnished, warm and clean. The ensuite was rather amusing where someone had planned the layout of the bathroom rather badly, there was a notch cut in the door so that it could swing past the toilet! This just added some comedy value, it in no way affected the cleanliness or comfort of the room, so don't be put off by the photo that someone else has posted on their review.

This was a nice place to stay, it possibly attracts older clientele more, as my visit seemed to coincide with a couple of senior citizen group trips, but it's a lovely old place in a very convenient and central location, I'd recommend it to anyone looking for a decent, clean and comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Catfreak2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
0.1 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
976 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#6 of 15 in Katoomba
596 reviews
0.4 mi away
Katoomba Town Centre
Katoomba Town Centre
#7 of 15 in Katoomba
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Echo Point Discovery Motel
Echo Point Discovery Motel
#10 of 15 in Katoomba
304 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Sky Rider Motor Inn
#1 of 15 in Katoomba
436 reviews
1.1 mi away
3 Explorers Motel
3 Explorers Motel
#9 of 15 in Katoomba
355 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Metropole Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Metropole Guesthouse

Address: Cnr Lurline Street 11-15 Gang Gang St, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Katoomba
Price Range: £47 - £96 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Metropole Guesthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Metropole Guesthouse is a proud member of the Equeva Group, established with a view to provide the Complete Accommodation Experience for every type of traveller; from individuals to extended families. Located in Katoomba, in the scenic upper Blue Mountains. Established during the early part of the 1930s in the heart of the beautiful township of Katoomba; The Metropole offers a uniquely historic atmosphere. We are within comfortable walking distance to several key local attractions, specialty stores, dining options, buses and trains. It's easy to immerse yourself in the senses and flavours of a bygone era; indulge your appetites in our licenced 1930's dining room, relax with a book in our guest library, use our free Wifi or simply sit back and watch the world pass by on one of our many antique lounges. The Metropole Guesthouse can also provide function areas for meetings, conferences, weddings and birthdays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Metropole Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Metropole Guesthouse Hotel Katoomba
The Metropole Guesthouse Blue Mountains/Katoomba, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing