We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Katoomba in the Blue Mountains” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Metropole Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Metropole Guesthouse
Ranked #10 of 20 Katoomba B&B and Inns
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Katoomba in the Blue Mountains”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

The Metropole Guesthouse was initially built in the 1880s - so there's big open spaces in areas that aren't usual these days - i.e. landings.
It reminds you of a time that has long gone.
The rooms are quaint. It doesn't profess to be 5 stars, and it isn't. But it is ok if you aren't expecting that.
Right opposite the train station & Trolley Bus corner. Handy to eateries and pubs.
Warm rooms in the cold winter.
What more can you ask?
Probably the worst thing (if I was to pick a First World problem...the pillows were very very firm.)

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    85
    48
    22
    8
See reviews for
29
116
23
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2014

Most Convenient Location:
We were delighted to discover the guesthouse just a mere 3-minutes walk away from Katoomba Railway Station. That was a big plus for us, especially since we had very little time to spend on Blue Mountains and that we were going around on the public transport with our luggages.

Arriving at the guesthouse, we were again pleasantly surprised that we could immediately check-in despite the fact that we arrived at about 9.30 am (way before the the stipulated check-in time). In the glory of the morning sunlight, the guesthouse looked charming and warm, especially given the rather cold weather in June! The lady at the counter got us to our 4-room 'apartment' just round the corner to the front desk and we were grateful for a place on the same floor! I cannot imagine having to lug our luggages up the flight of stairs (didn't notice a lift).

Our family room was modestly decorated with somewhat outdated (and even dingy-looking) furnishings but they sufficed. There was a portable heater in the shared space/lounge area and it was sufficient in the day but at night, it was barely enough .. Brr! Thankfully, each bed in the apartment had one of those heated blankets (?) which definitely helped us (who were very much unaccustomed to the cold) get through the nights. There was only one bathroom area for all 7 of us to share and that became quite tricky when getting ready for the day. The bathroom was also the coldest area in the house, with no heating apparatus whatsoever. Nevertheless, we survived and it was quite an experience.

The Metropole was about 3-minutes walk upslope to the main road by The Carrington Hotel. That was where we boarded our tour bus to Jenolan Caves and also where we took the public bus (service #686) that got us to and fro The Scenic World and Echo Point. There was also an Indian restaurant providing Halal fare on this same stretch of road.

Surprisingly, the guesthouse provided free WIFI for the guests and that was very useful. Overall, we were satisfied with our short stay and the convenience it afforded us.

Room Tip: First floor rooms would be most convenient for those with many/heavy luggages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rayne03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrigal, Australia
Level Contributor
597 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 331 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

we visited for 2 nights paid for upgrade to a king size bed - room

the overall ambiance and atmosphere of the Metropole just takes you back to a bygone era - built in 1933 - many of the buildings attributes have been retained and maintained - polished timber paneling, lead light windows, vintage furniture and photos of Katoomba in its' heyday

very, very comfortable bed, room adequately heated, modern bathroom - no toiletries provided, free WiFi, location is 50 m from Katoomba's main street with shops/cafes and restaurants.

we had a package which included breakfast - which is served between 8am and 9am - basic cereals and a hot breakfast plate of basics, egg, tomato, bacon etc, etc service is fast and efficient - tea/coffee is self serve

we enjoyed our stay at the Metropole - you need to be reminded that this is a guest house in the old -style -reception closes around 6pm - if you are looking for a Novotel or Hilton this is not for you - but for an experience with open fires, games room with pool and table tennis tables a sitting room/library, vintage furniture and curtains we would certainly recommend

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 June 2014

Make no mistake this does not have the features of a four or five star hotel. However it is a clean and comfortable old fashioned guesthouse. It is directly across the road from Katoomba Railway Station. I stayed with a group in the 4 bedroom "flat" which comprised 4 separate bedrooms, a lounge room/sitting room and a toilet/bathroom. Very good for a group or large family. Deals appear to be available and these make it very affordable accommodation. A hot cooked breakfast is included, bacon and eggs etc,and there also is a set dinner menu as an extra.The downside is a freezing cold bathroom, made so by the exhaust fan which runs on the same circuit as the electric light [would be ok in the summer months but not in the middle of winter] and the steep entrance steps from the street to the main front door. Only 6 steps but very awkward for anyone less mobile. This is good comfortable and inexpensive accommodation and i would stay here again.

Room Tip: Take the 4 bedroom "flat" if available and there is a group of you
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JJ1212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

We had a 3-night package at the Metropole which included two breakfasts and two dinners and a hop-on, hop-off bus pass for two days.

The hotel had lots of character of days gone by. The windows and common rooms had many memories of the pass. There was a simple library and a large pool table and free wifi in the common areas.

The dining room where we had our meals was on the ground floor. There were only a few parking spots in the back but as we travelled by train it did not matter.

The train station was across the road and the main street of Katoomba was less than 5-minutes away.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back (away from the road/railway line) appear to be the quietest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank UniquePerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 6 nights using a shopper docket deal. Great value, included breakfast and dinner. Meals were great, of good quality, tasty and filling. Extra touches like the library, games room, central court yard added to the charm. Laundry available, car parking, lift to higher floors for luggage. The $6 lunches are great for a picnic at the caves or inside the national park. Central location, right next to train station, Main Street, bus stops, etc. Staff are very friendly and helpful, particularly to our 4 year old son. I do recommend the Metropole and would stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ThomasJT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2014

I stayed at the Metropole with my elderly grandmother for three nights and we both thoroughly enjoyed the guesthouse. Not only were the common rooms all beautifully decorated, but the private rooms were well equipped and comfortable. The staff were friendly and accommodating, and the food was delicious and prompt each time. I would highly recommend the Metropole - close to town and only a stone's throw from the train station. A must-stay!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank njh680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Katoomba hotels
0.1 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
0.4 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Katoomba Town Centre
Katoomba Town Centre
#7 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sky Rider Motor Inn
Sky Rider Motor Inn
#3 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
1.2 mi away
Echo Point Discovery Motel
Echo Point Discovery Motel
#10 of 15 in Katoomba
3.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Metropole Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Metropole Guesthouse

Property: The Metropole Guesthouse
Address: 11-15 Gangang Street, cnr Lurline Street, Katoomba, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Katoomba
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Katoomba
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Metropole Guesthouse 3.5*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Established during the early part of the 1930s in the heart of the beautiful township of Katoomba; the Metropole Guesthouse offers a uniquely historic Blue Mountains accommodation experience, retaining its period character with fine wood panelling and leadlight windows, some overlooking the lovely Kingsford Smith Memorial Park. The hotel is within comfortable walking distance to several key local attractions, specialty stores, dining options, buses and trains. Whether you're escaping for relaxation, adventure or just a bit of culture - The Metropole Guesthouse is the ideal mountain getaway. It's easy to immerse yourself in the senses and flavours of a bygone era; indulge your appetites in our 65 seat, licensed and atmospheric 1930's dining room; relax with a book in our guest library, use our free Wi-Fi or simply sit back and watch the world pass by on one of our many antique lounges... The Metropole Guesthouse can also provide function areas for meetings, conferences, weddings and birthdays. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your The Metropole Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Metropole Guesthouse Hotel Katoomba
The Metropole Guesthouse Blue Mountains/Katoomba, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing