We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best eggs with hollandaise sauce” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fresh - CLOSED

Fresh
Cuisines: Cafe, Australian
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Best eggs with hollandaise sauce”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 May 2014

Great place to have breakfast. Everything on the menu looked delicious! I had fried eggs with hollandaise sauce and bacon on sourdough bread. It was absolutely divine.

Small and busy place on the main road in Katoomba.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sue H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    32
    4
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Awful!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

We must have come in on a bad day for these guys because the service was absolutely awful! My husband and I came in with our 3 year old on Easter Monday for breakfast, and ordered our coffees first when we got ourselves a table. There were a few customers around but no one have us a menu for breakfast. After out coffees arrived we had to remind them of our daughter's babycino and ask for a menu. The babycino came soon after, but still no menu. I had to go look at the menu outside the cafe and my husband was about to do the same when the menu finally came. When no one came to take our order in 10 minutes I went up to the counter to order, and was told that someone will come take my order soon. Another 5 minutes later, we were still waiting, so my husband lined up to order at the counter. Again, he was told that someone would be there in a minute, even when he mentioned that we have been waiting for sometime. Meanwhile, a new table of 4 came in and sat next to us. A few minutes later when the waiter went to take their order before ours, we decided that it was time for us to leave! I can understand service being slow on a busy morning, but surely you would serve the table that has been waiting for almost 30 minutes over the table waiting for 5 minutes?!
I think one of the main guys there could tell we were really annoyed with this, because he was apologetic and didn't charge us for the coffees. This, and the fact that the babycino came with 2 marshmallows (as supposed to one) is the only positive feedback I have to give this place. Even then I wouldn't come back the next time we visit Katoomba. Such a disappointment because we were looking forward to trying it out after reading all the good reviews on trip adviser! We went to Promegranate Cafe instead, and it was fantastic! We ordered and finished eating in 40 minutes.

Helpful?
Thank Pinkgal79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary V, Owner at Fresh, responded to this review, 25 April 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review your visit.
I am very sorry that certain aspects were not up to standard. We have clearly fallen short in couple of areas during your visit.
I will address your comments with our staff at our staff meeting. Notwithstanding we endeavour to deliver service at the highest quality, is it disappointing to read this was not the case in your experience.
You are right in reminding us of the competition in katoomba, this only pushes us to do better and to be more mindful. Our reviews have been outstanding and every once in a while, a review like this can be a wakeup call to any business owner.
I hope that you will give us an opportunity to turn around your opinion of our family owned cafe in the future.
Kind regards, Chef and Owners, Gary and Sarah.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Fresh is best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

The best food you will ever here in katoomba if you have not been there you should pay then a visit today

Helpful?
Thank John C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
69 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Brilliant Blue Mountain Brunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2014

Loads of places to choose from on the Katoomba High Street, but very glad we went to Fresh for brunch - very friendly staff, plenty of daily papers, extensive brunch menu with big portion sizes.

My friend and I had the chorizo & eggs and it was a great way to kick off a day of hiking in the Blue Mountains.

PRO-TIP: Get the the chorizo and eggs.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth
2 reviews
“Excellent Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 March 2014

Staff very friendly and the breakfast portions were large and extremely tasty. We would recommend going here for breakfast.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Royalblue85Perth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fresh also viewed

Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing