We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't go for the food”
Review of Restaurant 1128

Restaurant 1128
Ranked #68 of 101 Restaurants in Katoomba
Description: Perched on the edge of the Blue Mountains Echo Point escarpment, with breathtaking views of the Jamison Valley, The Lookout, Echo Point is a world class food, wine and hospitality destination, unrivalled by any other venue in the mountains. The Lookout, Echo Point boasts three dining concepts including the Milkbar, perfect for visitors on the go, Restaurant 1128 with stunning views and Heritage menus, and BAR NSW, renowned for its wine and beverage list sourced solely from New South Wales. The three concepts are the pathway for guests, from all walks of life, to discover and enjoy a culturally rich food and wine experience.
Restaurant details
Description: Perched on the edge of the Blue Mountains Echo Point escarpment, with breathtaking views of the Jamison Valley, The Lookout, Echo Point is a world class food, wine and hospitality destination, unrivalled by any other venue in the mountains. The Lookout, Echo Point boasts three dining concepts including the Milkbar, perfect for visitors on the go, Restaurant 1128 with stunning views and Heritage menus, and BAR NSW, renowned for its wine and beverage list sourced solely from New South Wales. The three concepts are the pathway for guests, from all walks of life, to discover and enjoy a culturally rich food and wine experience.
Reviewed 11 November 2017

Went to the bar today for a drink and something to eat, the drink was ok. But the food we had was terrible. We ordered the selection of cured meats pickles and toasted bread.
The meat consisted of danish salami and some cooked beef. Don't know what kind bread we got, but it was sweet. The best part of the dish was the pickles.
I would say that the bar caters for manly tourists. and are not bothered about what food they put out.
It's a shame, I live in Katoomba. I would go again but never again for the food

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jlwAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLookoutEchoPoint, Guest Relations Manager at Restaurant 1128, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2017

Hi jlwAustralia,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback.

We are so disappointed to receive this low review and to read your comments about our food. Our Chefs work very hard to provide quality food and ensure a great experience for all guests.

Nevertheless, we will definitely pass on your feedback to our Head Chef and Restaurant Manager for review.

If you have any other comments on how we can improve the experience, please contact us on enquiries@thelookoutechopoint.com.au

Kind Regards,
The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (78)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 78 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2017

Here for lunch and main course of $25 per person was reasonable specially when kids menu ($12 for Fish and Chips or Nuggets and Chips) was available also. Didn't really have high expectation at a tourist attraction so was quite happy with the food arrived hot and better than my own culinary skills. Ordered wine ($8 a glass), beer ($8 a bottle) and soft drinks for kids ($3 a bottle). The surprise came towards the end when the waitress bought 3 tiny cups of ice cream to the children with a big smile on her face saying "here you go", "enjoy these", "specially for you"... we didn't order them so we thought they were sample free treats from the restaurant promoting the ice cream. I only realised that I was charged $3 for each cup which was half a scoop full. That's my only compliant for the day.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank GoGoEasy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLookoutEchoPoint, Guest Relations Manager at Restaurant 1128, responded to this reviewResponded 5 November 2017

Hi GoGoEasy,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your feedback. We are so glad to hear you enjoyed our food and view.

In regards to the bill, we would like to inform you that our kids set menu includes one dish, one soft drink and one scoop of ice cream – but the cost for this set menus is $18, not $12.

Our system by default divides the bill in three, which is why you may have seen that food was attributed with $12, soft drink $3 and ice cream $3 – hence perhaps the confusion.

We sincerely apologise for the miscommunication and hope this didn’t negatively impact your experience.

Kind Regards,
The Management Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2017 via mobile

Was excited to visit milkbar for a milkshake and fresh donuts
Was left feeling disappointed had to wait as the staff has a conversation in front of me for a few minutes then I order a milkshake $7 and when I received it the cup was barely half full and tasted like crap. It hadn't been mixed properly and was very watery in taste
As for the donuts they were not fresh but cold and gluggy and tasted like flour. Never been more disappointed in the all of the service and food save your money and go else where

1  Thank Lollyz91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLookoutEchoPoint, Guest Relations Manager at Restaurant 1128, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Hi Lollyz91,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us feedback.

We are so upset to hear you were disappointed with your experience at our Milkbar.

We pride ourselves on providing great customer service and quality food and beverages. In this instance, we are sorry the overall experience fell short of your expectations.

We will definitely pass on your comments about the service, milkshake and donuts on to our Restaurant Manager and Chef for review.

If you had any further feedback on how we can improve, please contact us directly on enquiries@thelookoutechopoint.com.au

Kind Regards,
The Lookout, Echo Point

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

was here for a wedding and the canapes were so tasty especially the smoked kangaroo skewers they smoke on site earlier that morning , Great view was blowing a gale later in the night but beautiful spot for a wedding with the bar downstairs pouring a great drop of dark rum under the name Kelpie.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kl1992
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLookoutEchoPoint, Guest Relations Manager at Restaurant 1128, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Hi kl1992,

Thank you so much for your review! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed our canapés and that you had a great time at the wedding. We really appreciate feedback like this and will definitely share it with our chef and the rest of the team. We hope you’ll pop by The Lookout again soon.

Kind Regards,
The Lookout, Echo Point

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2017 via mobile

Beautiful view, but really, really noisy and terrible value for money. We had the Heritage Feast, which is for a minimum of four guests, and up to many. For $45 per person, we had dry bread, salad which was very peppery and really only rocket, fries, beef brisket, green beans, roast chicken with corn, and for dessert, orange and almond flourless cake, with filtered coffee and tea. Can I give you a suggestion? This really isn't worth $45, put carpet on the floor of the restaurant, invest in some more comfortable, and classy chairs.

1  Thank patricialehfeldt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheLookoutEchoPoint, Guest Relations Manager at Restaurant 1128, responded to this reviewResponded 4 October 2017

Hi patricialehfeldt,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are very disappointed to read your comments about our food. Our chefs work very hard to provide quality produce and offer a great experience for all guests. However, we take customer feedback very seriously and so, we will definitely pass on your comments about our Heritage Feast to the chef and Restaurant Manager for review. If you had any further feedback, please don’t hesitate to contact us directly at enquiries@thelookoutechopoint.com.au

Kind Regards,
The Lookout, Echo Point

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurant 1128 also viewed

Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 

Been to Restaurant 1128? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing