We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ambience with good quality eating”

The Carrington Dining Room
Ranked #21 of 91 Restaurants in Katoomba
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Ambience with good quality eating”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

The setting is very relaxing, reminiscent of a bygone age. Tables are suitably spaced to allow for good conversation. The food itself was good, well presented, and the service was friendly.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Carole T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    62
    11
    12
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“High tea - poor quality”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

During a romantic weekend, my partner and I attended The Carrington which boasted a well reviewed high tea. Unfortunately, it did not match the reviews. The food was bland and chunky. The 'sandwiches' might have sufficed had they not been served on bread rolls (?!). And it appeared that the oven was faulty producing dense scones and uncooked spinach and ricotta puffs. The only saving grace was the tea itself which was devine and clearly good quality, and the jam on which I had nothing of edible quality to eat it upon. We attempted to provide verbal feedback on several occassions but the staff avoided eye contact and were all round unapproachable. A disappointing end to an otherwise wonderful weekend.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Eric D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumming, Iowa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great buffet breakfast”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

The food was excellent. First time I ever tried passion fruit. So yummy. The staff was excellent. We went back for seconds it was so good.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sherry1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
56 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“It was closed!”
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Booked a romantic get away midweek and wasn't told the dining room and most of the other things at the hotel are only available for the weekend. Imagine our diappointment that we couldn't celebrate our wedding anniversary in a long awaited stay at what is suppose to be the premier heritage venue.

Don't make the mistake we made.

We did get to experience the dining room at breakfast time. They don't cater for people with dietry restriction such as Wheat free, Gluten free etc.

The dining room is elegant but tired, like the rest of the hotel.

Incredible atmosphere, felt very posh if you could overlook the tiredness of this heritage site.

We did check out the menu for the 3 nights a week it is open and it looks very pricey and as I have dietry issues there was little I could eat. Got a much better deal across the road at two of the many restaurants there.

We bought dessert back to the massive lounge area and enjoyed the recorded music ( no musicians during the week) at the totally empty private room with dessert and a coffee.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lesley N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not worth the price”
Reviewed 3 January 2014 via mobile

It's pricey for poor food and service. Overcoocked salmon and being ignored by waitresses in an empty dining room.

I would recommend the bar instead. Good selection of cocktails and a beautiful courtyard to sit and enjoy.

Helpful?
Thank Monica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Carrington Dining Room also viewed

Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 

Been to The Carrington Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing