We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst place rudest owners”
Review of City Centre Motel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
City Centre Motel
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Kempsey
Reviewed 4 September 2013 via mobile

Having negotiated room rate with managers one week to charged a different rate the next week on long term arrangement for a number of staff members. Rang motel to tell them one staff was getting in late (8.30pm) receptionist told him if he wasn't in by 9 he would have to find somewhere else to stay which we now have done. One would think with Kempsey now bypassed they would happy to get any business. Go up the road cleaner,friendly and better rate with out having to ask for it.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stanhope54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MotelKempsey, Manager at City Centre Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2013

In response to your review, Our office is open to 9.30pm so I cannot understand why one of our staff members would make a comment advising one of your staff members to be at the motel by 8.30pm, we also have a key safe which allows guests to check into the motel after 9.30pm? Your staff were very nice and easy to get along with and enjoyed staying with us at our motel, due to our great location, clean rooms and friendly staff, as was yourself until you wanted to check out at 2pm and not pay for the room and it wasnt until this point that you decided you would not return to our motel. We have guidelines we need to follow as you would have also in your business. Sorry you felt you needed to write the review you have and we are disappointed that you have decided not to continue staying with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (91)
There are newer reviews for City Centre Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 91 reviews

Reviewed 30 May 2013

Stayed here for two nights due to working in area. Reasonable price and a place to sleep in a central area. Able to walk to street where there were restaurant options for meals. Directly next to McDonalds for anyone interested in having a breakfast there in the morning. Older motel but has all facilities. Only point was that my air conditioner was cold air only and would have been good to have some warmth in the room during winter.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AnnD919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We stayed at this motel for business. The lady has been sooo nice to take our late call and give us the opportunity to have a roof on a very wet night!!
Other then that... We couldn't have breakfast in the morning because was too late for the chef to get ready and have our order... Mmm ... At 11.30 at night ...Ok
Rooms are ok. Old building with thin roofs so a bit noisy!
You are in kempsey after all... Is probably one of the best around!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gentileluca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

Stayed one night on the way home. Room was reasonable and clean. Cheap places to eat close by. Didn't hear the traffic noise from the highway close by as the room was at the back of the building. Pool area was clean. Older building, but seemed to have been painted and refurbished recently.

Room Tip: Ask for a room towards the back of the building so you dont hear the traffic on the highway.
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gr8M8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2013

Stayed in one of your newly renovated rooms a couple of times. My favourite is the one with the King bed. Great location, lovely on the river. Economically priced with great restaurants. Love the Chineses restaurant.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room. I think they nearly all are now, but they are so much nicer
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aaron B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2012

We stayed in this motel a year ago and it remains strong in all our memories as the dirtiest, most broken down place we have stayed. The reception staff were hostile and bored, the carpets in the room were so dirty that our baby's tshirt was black from comando-crawling on the floor within 5 minutes. The coverlet on the bed was heavily stained. The light in the room was broken and there was mold on the ceiling. The plates were dirty , probably due to the sign indicating you were required to wash up your own dishes, which clearly the previous occupant had not.The doors were so thin that you could hear the trucks both on the road and the five that were parked directly across from our room in the driveway. We ended up leaving at 4am because no one could sleep from the noise.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alex H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MotelKempsey, Owner at City Centre Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2013

Thank you for bringing this to my attention. This is not our usual standard and I was both pleased you let us know and disappointed to hear of your dissatisfaction. The carpets are steamed cleaned every six months & vacuumed after every customer checkout, I have noticed that with the increase in road workers staying in this room, they should be steam cleaned more often. The trucks outside your room were from the road crews, unfortunately i have no control over what time they leave, generally, it's not til 6.30am. We don't have coverlets, so I'm assuming you mean the bedspread, should never be dirty & stained, I have spoken to housekeeping in this regard. Most of the rooms have been newly renovated, unfortunately for you, this was not one of them. Dirty dishes are just unacceptable and housekeeping should have checked & ensured they were clean. Reception staff should always be pleasant and obliging and I have brought this to there attention. I do apologise for your uncomfortable stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2012

I stayed here overnight with my family. The motel is situated off the main road and you can park directly in front of the room. The room was cheap but comfortable ( two double beds, bar fridge, table that could seat four against the wall, TV). The bath room was a nightmare with children though. The shower has a raised floor and obviously all of the water runs down into the rest of the space- wetting the floor in front of the toilet. The sink is situated seperately outside the bathroom. You can eat at the Chinese restauraunt linked to the motel but there are lots of options with in a short walk.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robyn F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MotelKempsey, Owner at City Centre Motel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2013

Even for an economy room at $75 per single per night, the door should have shut and the the soap holder should have remained on the wall. The reason we can offer such a low price is we use furniture leftover from our newly renovated rooms in our economy rooms so as to provide for all budgets.. We always use good beds. Sheets are laundered after each guest checkout & are clean and white. Should you ever find these issues at any establishment you should bring it to the managers attention upon check-in whereby you could be offered a different room or your money back. Once the room is used this is not an option.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kempsey
17.6 mi away
Seabreeze Beach Hotel
Seabreeze Beach Hotel
#2 of 4 in South West Rocks
157 reviews
2.8 mi away
Kempsey Powerhouse Motel
0.3 mi away
Moon River Motor Inn
Moon River Motor Inn
#2 of 7 in Kempsey
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Park Drive Motel
Park Drive Motel
#3 of 7 in Kempsey
56 reviews
1.0 mi away
Motel Kempsey
Motel Kempsey
#5 of 7 in Kempsey
56 reviews
0.2 mi away
Colonial Court Motor Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Centre Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Centre Motel

Address: 95 Smith St, Kempsey, New South Wales 2440, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Kempsey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in Kempsey
Price Range: £58 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — City Centre Motel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 43
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your City Centre Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing