We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful and serene accommodation” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Argyll Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Argyll Guesthouse
Ranked #5 of 11 Leura B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
129 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Beautiful and serene accommodation”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 March 2012

This was our 4th visit back to this beautiful b&b in Leura.This truly is a peaceful and relaxing experience. The spa suite is just magical.
If youre looking for somewhere to lay your head for a peaceful night sleep then this is the place. Leura is a great place just to unwind.
Cherill the host of this b&b is pleasant and easy to chat to. Her breakfasts are great and I cant find any fault in this place at all.

We will definitely be back to the Argyll Guesthouse at Leura many many more times.

Room Tip: The spa suite is defiinitely the one to go for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsgwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    55
    13
    2
    0
    3
See reviews for
10
48
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hawkesbury, New South Wales, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2012

We stayed at Argyle Guesthouse in the Spa Room for the first time on Boxing Day. We enjoyed delightful hospitality from Cheryl and Jane for two days and will definitely book for a couple's get-away again. The rooms are immaculately clean with all the little luxuries you would hope to find in the Spa room. The generous breakfasts were also a delight with Full Scottish or English Breakfasts, including whisky porridge or kippers! The little studio at the back was also wonderful and we must admit we splashed out on one of Jane's original "living" artworks in the form of a lampshade streetscape of Katoomba. Just wonderful, we recommend you try it!

Room Tip: For absolute luxury, go for the Spa Suite with sunroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 January 2012

Another wonderful stay at Argyll House with the ever hospitable Cherril. We have stayed here before and will stay here in the future on trips to the Blue Mountains. The four-course breakfast is spectacular and will stand you in good stead for any amount of bushwalking, trekking or antique shopping (ask Cherril for advice, she's a mine of information) you may care to tackle in your day.

Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank craig r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2011

We have come to rely on Cheryl and Jane's hospitality at the charming Argyll House on a yearly basis. This is our fourth year and we continue to enjoy the great service.
The rooms are immaculately clean with electric blankets for the cold evenings on hand.
We have always enjoyed the generous breakfasts available- black pudding, kippers and porridge to choose from along without usual bacon and eggs.
The different room configurations are great, in previous years we have had friends with us where we had two rooms and have shared a bathroom, otherwise we have had a room with an ensuite.

Argyll House is conveniently located, a short walk away from Leura village where there are charming shops and cafes. Next door to house is Jane Stanford's art studio where we have enjoyed admiring her paintings.

We have enjoyed our stays at Argyll House than at most hotels and highly recommend staying at the charming bnb.

Room Tip: Book in advance especially if with friends, the rooms sharing a bathroom would be good in this insta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flobpo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gibraltar
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2011

This is the place to be in the heart of the Blue Mountains.
We stayed their all 5 of us and was very warmly greeted by Cheryl into the lovely B&B.
Argyle House is truly a remarkable place and takes you back in time with the comfort of a warm log fireplace and period furniture.
Breakfast was excelent and was well catered by Cheryl and her local knowledge of the area.
The stay was for only one night which was a real shame, we have no hesitation on calling in again on our next Blue Mountains trip to Argyle House.

Room Tip: All rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank superfour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kununurra, Australia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2011

This is the 4th time we've stayed at the Argyle B&B in Leura and as always, we are never disapointed. The hostess Cheryl is a truly hospitable lady and a dam fine breakfast cook. Something to excite the senses in the morning is her special Whiskey Porridge, a real treat. In addition, a full 5 course breakfast is available if you've got the appetite! There are two suite rooms and 2 rooms with a shared bathroom plus toilet.
The place oozes old world charm and is tastefully decorated in the style of the time in which the house was built. It harkens back to the early heydays of Leura, in the 1920's, when the village was a retreat for Sydney siders wishing to escape the foul miasmas and heat of the summer months for some cool clean mountain air.
Located just a street away from the main shopping strip, the Argyle is a great place to stay when you're coming up to explore the delights of the Blue Mountains.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Talwyn22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2008

We wanted to stay at the Woodford of Leura, but they were booked out and they gave us the Argyll's details. They had room for us and we were pleased with the experience overall.

We were charged a reasonable price ($140 AUS) for one night in a king bed with a shared bathroom and a full cooked breakfast. The neighborhood is really lovely and only a couple of minutes walk from the small town and train station.

The town shuts down early so we were really glad that the hostess had DVDs for us to enjoy in the common room in the evening. She has great taste too! One problem we encountered was that we were really cold at night. The room was too cold.

The cooked breakfast was great overall. They serve orange juice that isn't fresh squeezed, but they do serve fresh fruit. The porridge was really wonderful too. The staff is helpful and friendly. The view from the breakfast room is of a lovely garden.

  • Liked — charming location
  • Disliked — cold room at night
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AlaneandMickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leura
1.3 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 843 reviews
0.3 mi away
Broomelea Bed & Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Leura House
Leura House
#6 of 11 in Leura
3.5 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection
0.7 mi away
Waldorf Leura Gardens Resort
0.6 mi away
Bethany Manor
Bethany Manor
#4 of 11 in Leura
5.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyll Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyll Guesthouse

Property: Argyll Guesthouse
Address: 11A Craigend St, Leura, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Leura
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Leura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Argyll House... beautiful in all seasons. Scottish or English hearty breakfasts served in Argyll's spacious, sunny dining room. 300m level stroll to the centre of Leura Village. Be as social or private as you wish. A 1918 "Californian Bungalow," Argyll House is a boutique B&B with only 4 guest suites with a choice of the luxurious Spa Suite, en suite or our budget Traditional Rooms. Guest facilities include a large lounge with with a DVD library, music and open fires in season and the light-filled breakfast room with all day tea and coffee-making facilities. 4 course breakfast every morning - start with fresh fruit and juice and work your way through a full on English or Scottish breakfast, finishing with toast, jam and marmalade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Argyll Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Argyll Guesthouse Leura, Blue Mountains, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing