We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic stay at Argyll Guesthouse”
Review of Argyll Guesthouse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leura
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Argyll Guesthouse
Ranked #7 of 10 Leura B&B and Inns
Reviewed 7 May 2012

We had a wonderful 3 nights in the Spa Suite - it consisted of our own little lounge area facing north with TV, DVD Music etc plus a fridge. The bedroom was large with a canopy bed. The bathroom had a spa bath and a great shower. All very private.
Every day we came back to more chocolates on our coffee table, towels changed and attention to detail amazing.
Cherrill was a lovely hosts we enjoyed her company very much. The 4 course breakfasts were also something to look forward to each morning.Jane her daughter is an artist and helps out on weekends it was lovely to meet her and yes we bought a couple of her paintings. She has a studio at the back. We will definately be back.

Room Tip: We liked the spa suite as we were separate. But the ensuite room also is lovely but just has a smal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mal44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (73)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

62 - 68 of 73 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2012

We had a great time at Argyll. Cherill was delightful and made us feel very welcome and at home. The rooms are clean and comfortable, and we slept very well - which is just as well as we needed our energy for the breakfasts! Four courses of home cooked goodness - continental, or English, or Scottish (for those brave enough to take on porridge with whiskey, and black pudding). Perfect start for a busy day doing brilliant walks, many of which are within walking distance from Argyll.
We had a great few days in the Blue Mountains and this had a great deal to do with Cherill and Argyll.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2012

The comfort and service afforded by Cherril and Jane in this lovely guest house is unsurpassed and excellent value for money.
I have had many visits there over a period of years either alone or with friends and it was always
a joy to be greeted with a smile and a hug and the smell of woodsmoke in the cooler months.
Cherril's delicious breakfasts and relaxing in the sunny breakfast room afterwards were a great
start to the day before taking off for outdoor activities. In the evening we enjoyed the many
facilities of the guest lounge (including a glass of sherry or port) and the company of other
guests.
Unfortunately it is no longer possible for me to get back to Argyll House but I commend it to those seeking first class accommodation at an affordable price.

Room Tip: Go for the Spa Suite if a couple but back rooms are best for singles with friends with a fabulous ba...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marcelle n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

to stay in an English house with all that tradition and having a great experience and warm atmosphere there. Cheryl prepared a fantastic breakfast and porridge which was excellent with her own made jam! that gave me the feeling to be with my grandma!

lovely sitting room and listening to some collection of classical music and watching documentaries on DVD was a relaxing experience after a long drive and hiking.

the wooden fireplace was memorable too and the most interesting part was the electric blankets on the bed which my wife loved it so much!

we took the 2 other rooms (not the spa one) and shared the bathroom and toilet.

we would like to have stayed there more!

Room Tip: The spa room has a private toilet but anyway the bathroom is shared. if you are the only guests that...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kayvan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2012

This was our 4th visit back to this beautiful b&b in Leura.This truly is a peaceful and relaxing experience. The spa suite is just magical.
If youre looking for somewhere to lay your head for a peaceful night sleep then this is the place. Leura is a great place just to unwind.
Cherill the host of this b&b is pleasant and easy to chat to. Her breakfasts are great and I cant find any fault in this place at all.

We will definitely be back to the Argyll Guesthouse at Leura many many more times.

Room Tip: The spa suite is defiinitely the one to go for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mrsgwilson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2012

We stayed at Argyle Guesthouse in the Spa Room for the first time on Boxing Day. We enjoyed delightful hospitality from Cheryl and Jane for two days and will definitely book for a couple's get-away again. The rooms are immaculately clean with all the little luxuries you would hope to find in the Spa room. The generous breakfasts were also a delight with Full Scottish or English Breakfasts, including whisky porridge or kippers! The little studio at the back was also wonderful and we must admit we splashed out on one of Jane's original "living" artworks in the form of a lampshade streetscape of Katoomba. Just wonderful, we recommend you try it!

Room Tip: For absolute luxury, go for the Spa Suite with sunroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2012

Another wonderful stay at Argyll House with the ever hospitable Cherril. We have stayed here before and will stay here in the future on trips to the Blue Mountains. The four-course breakfast is spectacular and will stand you in good stead for any amount of bushwalking, trekking or antique shopping (ask Cherril for advice, she's a mine of information) you may care to tackle in your day.

Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
Thank craig r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leura
1.3 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
955 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
589 reviews
0.7 mi away
Waldorf Leura Gardens Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Broomelea Bed & Breakfast
0.4 mi away
Leura House
Leura House
#5 of 10 in Leura
212 reviews
1.6 mi away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Argyll Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Argyll Guesthouse

Address: 11A Craigend St, Leura, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Leura
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Leura
Price Range: £2 - £3 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Argyll House... beautiful in all seasons. Scottish or English hearty breakfasts served in Argyll's spacious, sunny dining room. 300m level stroll to the centre of Leura Village. Be as social or private as you wish. A 1918 "Californian Bungalow," Argyll House is a boutique B&B with only 4 guest suites with a choice of the luxurious Spa Suite, en suite or our budget Traditional Rooms. Guest facilities include a large lounge with with a DVD library, music and open fires in season and the light-filled breakfast room with all day tea and coffee-making facilities. 4 course breakfast every morning - start with fresh fruit and juice and work your way through a full on English or Scottish breakfast, finishing with toast, jam and marmalade. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Argyll Guesthouse Leura, Blue Mountains, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing