We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truely fantastic stay, we didn't want to leave!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Megalong Manor

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leura
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Megalong Manor
Gothenburg
Level Contributor
118 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Truely fantastic stay, we didn't want to leave!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

This is an absolutely perfect place and one of the cosiest places we stayed in during our time in Australia. We arrived before check in time, left our luggage and went for a hike. When we came back in the evening, Dave showed us our room (Windsor suite). It was just perfect. He had already put on the fire and heating in the room and the room was warm and cosy. There are a variety of games, DVDs and books (both facts about blue mountains and classical fiction books) that in my opinion really highlightened the whole relax and spend time with family experience. The rooms are very private and beautifully decorated. You're provided with generous breakfast provisions and can make a fantastic breakfast. All the tools you need for that is also provided. Dave is really nice to talk to and we enjoyed conversations with him. We stayed for two nights and these were the cosiest, warmest nights we had in Australia. We were sad to leave this amazing place and of coarse will be back one day!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sommar-sol_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

25 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
18
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2012

This isn't the first time we stayed at Megalong Manor and I'm sure it won't be the last. We like the location of the B&B with close proximity to the Leura Mall. David is always helpful with recommendations for places to visit and restaurants to eat in. We stayed in the Windsor Suite wonderfully warm and cosy. We like the old world charm that is indicative of the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2012

The sigh of relief on arrival is book-ended with a sigh of grief on departure. During the interval of your stay, however, the batteries are rapidly recharged. Your hosts Dave and Kathy have continued a tradition of providing first rate individual facilities including dining/kitchen with a well stocked larder enabling you to set your own pace. Each of the three self-contained suites has its advantages. The Windsor at the rear has a sunny balcony ideal in warmer months while the Lindsay and Wentworth are at the front and so are able to collect earlier morning sun should you want to rise earlier the first walk of the day. The decor of each is fresh, beautifully appointed and calming. The location is very convenient for those sans car but the background noise from this convenient site so close to the Mall is mostly friendly chatter from passing pedestrians. There is an area in their magnificent garden to sit and contemplate for those who are busy reading the local real estate magazine hoping to join the Leura locals in a life of tranquility. For others, a bracing breakfast and/or lunch and/or dinner can be followed by a choice of walks to the local lookouts such as Gordon Falls. Even these resolute souls are seen checking the period houses in the area idly wondering how they too could join the locals! Don't deny it, I've seen you! For the majority of visitors who arrive by car, staying at Megalong Manor falls into two periods. There are many different outstanding views and walks to be reached within 5 minutes in this area of truly World class national park and you would be foolish to miss any. After these have been experienced and the sensory overload has again become manageable, the second period takes over in which many tend to just sit and relax, be it winter or summer. The Leura air soon takes over and at least for a while, you too can become a local.

Room Tip: Lindsay on east side gets the morning sun first, Wentworth on the west side and Windsor on the sout...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SolarSailorAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

Conveniently located near the Leura Mall, Megalong Manor is a solidly built and beautiful home, once the local library! Our suite was very comfortable and nicely decorated, with everything we could ask for. David & Kathy are wonderful hosts and stocked our fridge with a variety of breakfast foods, fresh fruit and home-baked cakes and frittatas! A professionally run B&B with great attention to detail. Highly recommended

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coma-toes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

Stayed in the Wentworth Suite for 5 lovely nights. David & Kathy were the perfect hosts. They always ensured supplies were stocked up and were very accomodating to our requests. Even when a film crew came (very) early on a Friday morning to film David & Kathy for new show to screen early 2012, they went out of their way to make up for any disturbance (which to be honest, wasn't too bad). We can't wait to see the end results on our screen.
We do miss the resident mini schnauzer, Wolfie. He is so lovable.
We will be back to Leura one day, and will want to stay here again. Highly recommended!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Time_Guy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2011

We stayed in the Windsor Suite for 5 days. The room was gorgeous, very clean, and the hosts provided everything we needed for a relaxing stay. The King size bed is great, the other rooms have Queen size I think. The Windsor Suite is at the back, so it was very quiet, we could sleep at any time of the day. It is a very short walk to Leura Mall, we parked the car and didn't use it for two days. Great gas heater heats the rooms really well. We weren't cold at any stage, and our stay was in the middle of winter. In the warmer weather you could use the little patio area, it's very private.

We're pretty fussy travellers, but we were 100% happy with our stay. Thanks David!

Room Tip: Go for the Windsor suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sammyyoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2011

We stayed in the Windsor suite for a weekend get-away. The room was large and very comfortable with all sorts of nice, thoughtful touches: There were books in the room, CDs, wireless internet and the fire was left on for us. The king sized bed is very comfortable. The self-serve breakfast suited us down to the ground - provisions were excellent and we could sleep till 10 without worrying about inconveniencing anyone.

The proprietors were very friendly without being at all intrusive.

The room was whisper quiet but one block from the restaurants and action on Leura Mall.

We will definitely be back (as soon as we can convince someone to take the kids again).

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank slipstar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leura
1.0 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 861 reviews
1.1 mi away
Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Waldorf Leura Gardens Resort
0.4 mi away
Broomelea Bed & Breakfast
0.2 mi away
Leisure Inn Spires - Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Megalong Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Megalong Manor

Property: Megalong Manor
Address: 151 -153 Megalong St, Leura, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Leura
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Leura
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gorgeous guest house/ B & B. Great location within walking distance to Leura Village. Three suites, we stayed in the Windsor Suite - huge bathroom with claw bath, king bed and separate seating area with open fire and access to gorgeous verandah. Very relaxing, hosts are amazing, breakfast provisions provided along with daily complimentary home made treats and port! Please add to your listings :) Many thanks, ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Megalong Manor Leura, Blue Mountains, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing