We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Conference Venue - MRSHMC”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Leura
GreenLeadersGold level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic Conference Venue - MRSHMC”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

A big thank you to the Conference staff for their support during our recent Conference. We used a all of the rooms in the Resort for our Conference and our suppliers and team members were equally impressed.

I would especially like to thank Carolyn, David, Andrew and Chris.The technical support for presentations was superb and at a level we had not experienced before.

From Team function to Supplier function to Gala Dinner everything was set up, knocked down and transformed seamlessly.

Loved it so much visiting again soon to enjoy the venue on a personal visit.

Thanks again.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrshmc8816
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,340 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    805
    911
    384
    132
    108
See reviews for
748
1,086
36
158
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (439)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
84 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 September 2011

The horror stories surrounding this once fine property are now buried in the past. Accor are now managing the premises & a huge amount of work has been done & is still being done. Most suites have been completely redone including furnishings & bathrooms, new bars etc are underway, existing restaurant & bar are looking the part & the indoor & outdoor pools are up to scratch. Tennis courts are OK & the gardens have been spruced up.
The views over the valley & golf course are magnificent & the local Leura/ Katoomba surrounds are picturesque.
Current pricing is good, obviously to tempt nervous clients back.
We stayed in a standard room for $179/night & will be happy to return, anticipating further improvements as their $10m renovation/revamp rolls out.

Room Tip: Rooms in the Megalong wing offer better views
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank miserygutz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2011

Restaurant and bar Staff were amazing, hotel having upgrade so a little noisy but it will be amazing when its finished.
thanks for a lovely time.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sharon s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2011

We stayed at the Fairmont Resort in July for a long weekend. While the resort looks OK and the new owners are refurbishing, we felt that the very basic requirements just weren't covered. First of all, on arrival, it was pouring rain and there was nobody at the front entrance to direct us or tell us where to park our car. This was annoying because it really was pouring and the carpark was full so we had to wait about 20 mins just driving around until somebody left. Check-in was reasonably swift and the front desk staff were pleasant enough but once inside our room, all was not well.

For a start, the air-conditioning was broken and would only pump out freezing cold air. This, in mid-July, was not great. A staff member then brought us a heater which was so small it did absolutely nothing. We wanted to stay indoors that night for a cosy evening but we were so cold it was really unpleasant. The bed was extremely hard, I have stayed in a lot of hotels and this really was as hard as a plank it was not luxurious at all. The bathrooms seem to have been re-done but the floor tiles look like they need a good acid wash as there is concrete residue all over them so they don't look nice at all. The finishes are very ordinary as well. For what used to be a reasonably luxurious resort some time ago it just all seemed disappointing. Later that night we decided to watch some in-room movies but our TV didn't work. The front desk told us they would give us complimentary breakfast to make up for the problems we had had with our stay and I wish we hadn't accepted to tell you the truth because it was, without a doubt, THE worst breakfast we have ever had.

Broken coffee machine, very long queue to even get hot water for a cup of tea, every single thing on the buffet was stone cold. I have eaten in hotels which cater to hundreds of guests every hour with no problem and manage to keep the food hot but this was truly abysmal. Cold eggs, bacon and pancakes really is not appetising and I wish we had not bothered. The staff walking around the breakfast room were clueless, never once offering us a cup of tea or coffee and each time we tried to get our own from the machine, none of them were able to help, just staring at the machine and offering no explanation or assistance with anything else to drink.

I tried on half a dozen occasions to call housekeeping to get laundry done during our stay but nobody ever answered the phone. Likewise with Reception. The phone would just ring out and we never saw any staff anywhere. The one fellow who checked us in on arrival was the same one who brought our heater and then checked us out 3 days later. There was nobody ever at the entrance, the concierge desk was always unmanned and honestly I think they only have one staff member at this place doing everything because the service is bad.

We stayed at Lilianfels the month prior and it was much better than the Fairmont.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MissFussyPants2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SydneyGeoff, General Manager at Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 9 September 2011
Dear Ms Fussy, thank you for you review and our apologises for the issues you enjoyed whilst staying. Whilst we have a refubishment program underway we have endeavoured to minimize any disruption for our guests. This program is also addressing several of the issues you encountered including the guest room heating, the introduction of a new bedding product with duck feather luxury duvets, pillows and mattress toppers, an upgrade of the breakfast buffet heating system and digital television reception.
We will make contact with you off line to discuss this further and offer a resolution for your disappointment.
Regards,

Geoffrey R York
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2011

After several years absence, my wife and I decided to see if new owners had made any improvement to what used to be one of the star attractions in the Blue Mountains. To say we were pleasantly surprised is an understatement. The new owners are in the process of refurbishing and revamping the old Peppers and bringing it up-to-date with freshened up rooms and attentive and very helpful staff.

Even though the tradesmen were still working in our wing, they were no bother and our room, overlooking the wonderful view, could not be faulted. It was freshly painted and newly furnished and the bed was to die for. We slept like the proverbial babies after wining and dining in the bar area by the fire. The a la carte breakfast was freshly cooked and regularly replenished. The menus were comprehensive and the meals more than to our satisfaction.

Check-in was a breeze as was checking out. The staff could not have been more helpful in all areas and we look forward to staying again shortly. We have recommended the hotel to our friends and would recommend it to anyone wanting a pleasant, stress-free stay in the mountains.

Room Tip: The rooms on reception level have wonderful views overlooking the valley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NormH_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

We stayed at this resort this weekend for 2 nights. Some areas are still being renovated but the lobby area is looking plush. The outdoor pool wasn't open this weekend but the indoor pool and spa were both large and warm and popular. Our room, for 2 children and 2 adults, was in Megalong Wing level 1. It had a king bed which was very comfy and 2 daybeds/singles which the children loved. The room was warm and spacious and quiet and the bathroom was clean and modern and had a good combined shower and bath. We had pleasant views over lawns and trees. The grounds are lovely. There are walking tracks, tennis courts, a little stream with a bridge, quite a large lake to walk around and plenty of parking. We saw guests enjoying Segway tours of the hotel grounds although our children were too young for us to try this (we were told they needed to be at least 10). Things have really changed at this hotel. We loved staying here and we will definitely stay again next time we're in the Blue Mountains.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

My husband and I have just left the Fairmont resort after spending a weekend away in the Blue Mountains. We booked the Fairmont because we are Advantage Plus members and had our complimentary night to use. We were treated to such a gorgeous weekend. We stayed in a deluxe room that overlooked the valley- the views were to die for! We had dinner and breakfast at Jamison's buffet, and both were of an exceptional standard. The staff were very friendly and helpful Didn't get a chance to use any of the leisure facilities, but the pool looked divine. There are a few renovations going on, but that did not bother us or get in the way at all. A great experience!!!!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katemimi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leura
2.4 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 862 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
6.7 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
5.1 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
2.3 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection

Property: Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection
Address: 1 Sublime Point Rd, Leura, New South Wales 2780, Australia (Formerly Peppers Fairmont)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Leura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Leura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring 222 rooms, the Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains is the perfect place for a romantic escape, a get together with a group of friends, family retreat, golf enthusiast, business retreat or conference. The Fairmont Resort is currently undergoing a transformation as part of its entry into Accor's MGallery collection of Unique Upscale hotels. The Fairmont Resort has awe inspiring views over the beautiful Jamison Valley & adjoining Leura Golf Course and an extensive array of leisure facilities including five stunning dining options, indoor heated lap pool and spa, outdoor pool, tennis courts, gymnasium, indoor cinema, amazing indoor kids playgrounds, bowling alley, billiards room, library and endless nature walks in World Heritage National Parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Hotel Leura
Fairmont Hotel York
Fairmont Leura
Leura Fairmont
Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection Leura, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing