We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs more consistency”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Leura
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Balmain, Australia
Level Contributor
101 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Needs more consistency”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

I love staying at the Fairmont Leura. A very nice hotel in a great location set amongst lovely gardens and bush. However on my last visit while taking my mother for a treat, I was disappointed in the small things which in my view if a hotel gets it right it ends up being a memorable stay. Firstly a room service tray from the previous occupant greeted us at the door. This tray remained there for two days. I found a large finger nail in the bathroom basin and our luxury room did not have dressing gowns nor a rubber mat for the bath/shower which was quite slippery. Embers was the only option for dinner and I know it is small but we were unable to get a table even at 6:30pm and so had to sit at the communal table. We waited one hour for the meal to arrive. The wait staff seemed disorganised. Our dining experience on the 2nd night improved.

On the plus side the reception and concierge staff were very good and efficient.

I still love staying at the Fairmont and will be back again next month. I do hope there is an overall improvement in service and housekeeping.

Room Tip: Room away from the automatic doors.
See more room tips
Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Slowwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontResortLeura, General Manager at Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 3 February 2015
Dear Slowwhite,
Thankyou for providing such valuable feedback. I am very sorry for the shortcomings with respect to the room service trays and Housekeepiing issues. We do appreciate you as a return guest and trus that we will remedy these problems before your next stay.
kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    823
    931
    394
    133
    110
See reviews for
765
1,112
37
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014 via mobile

Offers great facilities including a golf course across the road. The rooms are basic, but clean, the outside pool spotless and the service efficient and friendly. We avoided the breakfasts which on previous visits were poorly handled, preferring cute coffee shops in Leura.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Nigel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont7resort, General Manager at Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Dear Nigel, Thanks for your comments regarding your recent stay at Fairmont, we are pleased you enjoyed the facilities. I understand your concerns with breakfast and we have made significant changes to service and furniture to address. We will be completely refurbishing Jamisons Restaurant and Buffet during the early part of this year.
kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
79 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

My husband and I stay regularly at the Fairmont Resort and always enjoy our stay there as we did again on the long weekend. It just gets better every time we stay. Service is very friendly and helpful from the concierge, reception to the wait staff. Rooms are lovely and spotlessly clean with the most comfortable beds. The gardens are a delight. Breakfast is excellent with such a big variety on offer as well as great coffees from the coffee machine. We were very fortunate to receive an upgrade to a Superior room and a bottle of bubbly which was an added bonus. Obviously management looks after its return guests. The resort is constantly being upgraded and we were happy to learn that later this year it will have a day spa which we will definitely be using. Fairmont is a great place to stay when visiting the Blue Mountains whether as a couple or family. We can't wait to stay there again.

Room Tip: Superior rooms on 4th floor Jamison Wing have great views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont7resort, General Manager at Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Elizabeth
Thank you for staying with us at the Fairmont Resort, We are very pleased that you and your husband enjoy the Resort so much and look forward to welcoming you back again. As you note, the resort is constantly being upgraded and the day spa is eagerly awaited by all.
kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed on the top floor of the Jamieson wing and our room had a lovely vaulted ceiling, was spacious and well appointed. All staff were friendly and helpful. Buffet breakfast was nice. Overall scope of resort facilities was good. Enjoyed tennis and wally around the grounds. Common areas need refurbishment including library could be nice source but no decent furniture. Only two working pool cues on two billiard tables. Half of tennis courts need resurfacing etc

Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Mattgreengate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont7resort, General Manager at Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 10 February 2014
Dear Matt,
Thank you for your feedback on your recent stay - We are glad you enjoyed your room and I do apologise for the issues with the pool cues. We are getting the tables and equipment refurbuished post school holidays. I take on board your comments regarding the library furniture and will look to improve that area.
kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
36 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014

My family, 2 adults and 2 children[ages 9 and 7], spent 4 nights of the January holidays in the Blue Mountains. We stayed at the Fairmont Resort, Leura, because the reviews were good and it was a resort. There are so many accommodation options in the Blue Mountains, but I stayed with the resort theme for safe keeping. We arrived about lunch time and had booked a family suite, which turned out to be pretty ordinary. It seemed to be in an older part of the resort, ground floor, and the room was in a poor state, with curtains falling off, dusty couch, marks on the walls, dirty finger prints on doors and walls, paint badly chipped, set of drawers unable to close etc. But the bathroom was good! So we notified housekeeping that we were unhappy, and they moved us to 2 interconnecting rooms, in what appeared to be a newer section-4th floor last 2 rooms down corridor.[and for the same price] These rooms together were slightly larger that the family suite and in much better condition. We also had a balcony and a view over the valley. So we were looked after by the sympathetic staff and our stay was most enjoyable. I felt at times that the resort was showing its age, but I don't how old it is. Also, It could have been just a little better maintained. For example, dirty walls and pool gates whose catches don't work, tiles coming off in pool and so on. However, this did not detract from our overall experience during our stay. We had breakfast on 2 of the 4 mornings of our stay and ate in the bistro restaurant twice for dinner. All ok. I found the staff to be of a good standard. The resort has a picture theatre and we watched a family movie one night with the children. Everyone slept well and the beds were of a good standard. There is a choice of 2 pools, one heated and inside and the other outside. There are plenty of lounges to lie about on.
I think 4 nights in the Blue mountains worked well. One day we did the Scenic World and all the lifts, the next day we did Jenolan Caves, and the third day was spent in Katoomba and Leura shopping and sight seeing.

Room Tip: If you have got children and you book a family suite, check it out first. Rooms with a balcony and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Huxtab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont7resort, General Manager at Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 28 January 2014
Thank you for the comprehensive feedback provided on your family stay with us at Fairmont. I apologise for the state of the rooms initially allocated, but am very pleased we were able to deal with the situation to your satisfaction. We take on board your comments about the pool area and advise trhat this area will be upgraded over the next few months including the development of a day spa.Thank you for your positive comments about the staff and other facilities.
kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

very clean hotel 2 restaurants bar facilities are poor they close at 9pm.
bedroom spacious and clean.
pool area was dominated by children
excellent point of stay for touring the mountains with old type bus stopping at the front door
there were 1 pool table and 1 billiard table.
we were left to take suitcases to our room
small bottle of white wine was $19 from the mini bar in the bedroom

Room Tip: really cant help here apart from our room was on the right hand side of the corridor overlooking the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Michelle E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont7resort, General Manager at Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 26 January 2014
Dear Michelle,
Thank you for your feedback on your recent saty at Fairmont. I am not sure what nights you stayed, but Sublime Lounge is generally opened till 10.00pm Last orders for the Restaurants are 9.00 pm.
kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leura
2.4 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
903 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
559 reviews
6.7 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
2.4 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
2.3 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection

Property: Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection
Address: 1 Sublime Point Rd, Leura, New South Wales 2780, Australia (Formerly Peppers Fairmont)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Leura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Leura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring 222 rooms, the Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains is the perfect place for a romantic escape, a get together with a group of friends, family retreat, golf enthusiast, business retreat or conference. The Fairmont Resort is currently undergoing a transformation as part of its entry into Accor's MGallery collection of Unique Upscale hotels. The Fairmont Resort has awe inspiring views over the beautiful Jamison Valley & adjoining Leura Golf Course and an extensive array of leisure facilities including five stunning dining options, indoor heated lap pool and spa, outdoor pool, tennis courts, gymnasium, indoor cinema, amazing indoor kids playgrounds, bowling alley, billiards room, library and endless nature walks in World Heritage National Parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Hotel.de, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Hotel Leura
Fairmont Hotel York
Fairmont Leura
Leura Fairmont
Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection Leura, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing