We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“16 pillows for 10 fantastic nights” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Leura
GreenLeadersGold level
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
110 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“16 pillows for 10 fantastic nights”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

Before our arrival at Fairmont my wife and two young children were assisted by the staff at reservations to get an early check-in organised because of our early arrival time at Sydney airport and a reservation for the right room for our nine night stay. During our stay we thought that the beds (in our room) were divine! It was my best sleep in a hotel bed ever. Way to go Fairmont! Having spent nine days plus an additional day in the Leura and Katoomba area with my Family, I can't think of a better place to stay than at Fairmont. Fairmont isn't a Hotel; it's a resort and the amenities fill pages. The Resort is tucked away in Leura's south so having a car is really important. Don't think you can walk with the kids to Leura Mall - it's hilly and we burnt far too many calories than we wanted. We enjoyed dining in the Resort too. The food in Ember's Bar was really great. We were unfortunately appalled by the quality of the Eucalypt Restuarant's food preparation. The salty meals my wife and I had just didn't meet our expectations. The desserts were so sweet we could only have a few spoonfuls - we were thankful that we were reimbursed for the desserts. I would again spend many nights in the Resort if it wasn't 10,000 miles away from where I am now :-) And why were the 16 pillows mentioned in the title? Our superior room had two beds each topped with eight pillows.

Room Tip: Ask for a "corner room" as they are a little more spacious. When there ask to see the room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tototronic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont7resort, General Manager at Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear Thorsten, Thank you for your very infrmative feedback on your stay with us. We apreciate you acknowledging the good. I am very sorry that the food in Eucalypt did not meet your expectations though. We will use your feedback to review outr offerings.
kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,307 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    793
    901
    374
    132
    107
See reviews for
733
1,073
35
156
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (434)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2014

The location and views in the Fairmont are really beautiful - such a pity we couldn't see the magnificent view through the window of the main restaurant as it was dirty and full of cobwebs.

The room we stayed in (Deluxe Room) was spacious and vast which was a pleasure. So sad that the coffee/tea station didn't even provide any sugar.

In addition to this, you pay $24 per day for internet connection PER DEVICE!!! So for two of us it could have cost $48 a day!! Considering that most hotels the world over offer free wifi this is pretty disgusting. It smacks of a hotel which is trying to penny pinch at every opportunity.

Speaking of penny pinching, beware you don't order the cheese plate via room service as you will pay over $20 for the tiniest slivers of 3 cheeses and a few nuts, dried fruits and biscuits. This seems like a hotel who is attempting to SAVE funds rather than please guests at any cost.

While the Fairmont is in a lovely location and has the grounds to make it magnificent, the management seems to desire to turn this place into a penny pinching, low class establishment. We only stayed here because we needed to attend a conference at the location - would never choose to stay here again.

Another extraordinary example of the generally awful accommodation options available Australia wide. My only advice to Australia Tourism would be, if you want to attract tourists you had better improve what you have to offer!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
241 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

My wife and I booked a one night stay here to celebrate our wedding anniversary. The hotel is located near Sublime Point which has some specatcular views of the Blue Mountains.

The property is large, situated on a golf course. The entrance is grand with it's high ceiling and view over he Blue Mountains valley.

We were on level 3 - which is down a level from reception. Our room was large with a big comfy bed (a mandatory for me!). We had a good view over the Mountains from our room. The room is large, but unspectacular - the grand entrance doesn't really follow through in the rooms which are largely neutral. I'm probably a harsh judge on this having stayed in a W a couple of weeks ago which sets a standard for funkiness and design.

We ate at Embers for lunch which is a bar/casual dining option, and enjoyed a $20 fish and chips which was great value and tasted great. We didn't try the other dining options, but if they were at least as good as Embers, I'm sure their lofty price range would be reflected in a good quality dining experience.

All up, it was a pleasant one night stay, I'd happily return for a relaxing weekend away.

Room Tip: Try and get a room no lower than level 3 - I imagine level 2 and 1 don't have much in the way of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jdmiller83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont7resort, General Manager at Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Dear JD,
Thankyou for your feedback on your stay with us at Fairmont, we are very pleased you enjoyed the facilities and food. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future
kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burradoo, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 March 2014

We stayed at the Fairmont resort for just a couple of foggy, raining, windy days - so no comments about the outside!

It's important to mention that the Fairmont Resort, Leura, has no relationship with the Fairmont Hotel group international - it merely shares a name. Therefore a star rating will not equate with the internationally accepted hotel star rating, it is merely a personal opinion of this hotel.

One of the bits of documantation in our room was a most interesting history of Leura, the Leura golf club and the hotel itself - quite a lot about the latter two. To say that the resort has had an "interesting" ride would be an understatement but it may throw light on some of the very negative comments on Tripadvisor, especially the older ones.

There was a period of several years during which the owners apparently reduced the staffing levels to almost zero, little maintenance was done and the place was basically allowed to run down to a tip. Eventually it was taken over and a lot of money has been put into it, with a complete change of management. However, it takes a LOT of money and considerable time to put years of neglect right: it appears that the first emphasis has been on renewing the rooms and public areas: looking at the exterior is no indication of the standard of the accommodation that has been renovated.

I was unable to ascertain how many rooms were still to be redone, but our "entry level" room in the rear of the Megalong wing was obviously newly renovated: it was clean, new carpet, large flat panel TV, well appointed with bathroom consumables and with a very comfy king bed. Well up to international standards for such accommodation.

We found all the staff most helpful, polite and willing: on check-in we were asked, as Accor card holders, whether we wanted complimentary WiFi and for how many devices; this was an unexpected bonus. (Free or *really* nominally charged WiFi is becoming increasingly important for many, and I suspect that hotels not offering such will lose bookings in the future. And by "nominal" I mean say $5 a day, not $20 - 30. Management(s) please note!)

We ate just once, in the Embers coffee shop style restaurant with views over the Blue Mountains valley. Quite a limited and basic menu, with friendly service, the food was adequate for what we wanted, a quick fill-up before an early bed.

The Leura golf club just 100 yards away offers meals and friendly bar service if you want to eat out but don't want to drive into town.

To sum up, we were very happy with what was on offer, for two nights to look around the area. There *are* many group bookings from China and elsewhere, and if you get caught up with a conference crowd or during school holidays lots of feral children it might not suit you. But none of these things affected our stay and I would happily stay again.

Room Tip: Go for a room that has been done up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wol747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont7resort, General Manager at Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
Thank you for your very interesting and informative commentry on your stay with us at Fairmont. The weather may not have been kind, but it seems you made the most of your stay.
best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

We had a family garden wedding at the Fairmont.
It rained 15 minutes before the ceremony was about to start.
No problem.... we will move it all inside they said!
And within 30 minutes.... it was!
GREAT staff.

And do not miss the coffee in the bar / lounge area.
We congratulate the young barista on duty that afternoon.... he makes just magnificent coffee.

And stay alert for the "Cloud Watching"... late afternoon the clouds slowly rolled in up the valley and after 30 minutes the window outside the bar /lounge was transformed from a grand vista to a white wall..... and 30 minutes later it was gone...just in time for sunset.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank MOGGIE1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont7resort, General Manager at Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 1 April 2014
So glad you were able to enjoy the mountains in all their wonder. Thank you also for the great feedback on our location, staff and services - we all do appreciate it very much
kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
moss vale
Level Contributor
80 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014

My wife and I stayed for 3 nights from the 14th of March. This was our second trip in 2 years to celebrate our anniversary. The hotel is a favourite of ours and being an Accor member makes a stay here value for money. Dining in can be expensive. Eucalypt restaurant: $85 for a 3 course meal. But food is outstanding. Jamison buffet: $79 a head. Not so great on the night we dined, maybe due to lack of people, food was a little tired. Our pick. Embers. Good food, fair price, good vibe and outlook. Car parking. This can be an issue. Something must be done to prevent people from parking along the road entering the resort. It's just plain dangerous particularly if you happen to meet a bus or someone who is not in holiday mode and must be there NOW. Overall another enjoyable stay, and with the anticipated continual improvements it should be a must stay destination.+

Room Tip: Try and get 2nd/3rd floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank holtipsfrombagz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont7resort, General Manager at Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 3 April 2014
Thankyou for choosing Fairmont to celebrate your anniversary and thankyou for the informative feedback on your stay. I certainly agree with your comment about cars parking along the road and assure you we are looking at ways to control this. We are very pleased you enjoyed dining in the various outleyts and hope you will be back soon.
kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leura
2.4 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#3 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
6.7 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
5.1 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
2.3 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection

Property: Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection
Address: 1 Sublime Point Rd, Leura, New South Wales 2780, Australia (Formerly Peppers Fairmont)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Leura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Leura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring 222 rooms, the Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains is the perfect place for a romantic escape, a get together with a group of friends, family retreat, golf enthusiast, business retreat or conference. The Fairmont Resort is currently undergoing a transformation as part of its entry into Accor's MGallery collection of Unique Upscale hotels. The Fairmont Resort has awe inspiring views over the beautiful Jamison Valley & adjoining Leura Golf Course and an extensive array of leisure facilities including five stunning dining options, indoor heated lap pool and spa, outdoor pool, tennis courts, gymnasium, indoor cinema, amazing indoor kids playgrounds, bowling alley, billiards room, library and endless nature walks in World Heritage National Parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, Agoda, Hotels.com and ACCOR so you can book your Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Hotel Leura
Fairmont Hotel York
Fairmont Leura
Leura Fairmont
Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection Leura, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing