We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Leura
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Write a Review

2,387 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    823
    928
    393
    133
    110
See reviews for
765
1,109
37
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (448)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 8 July 2014

great family time away lots for kids to do within the hotel the cinema room was a great experience. also we really enjoyed the segways tour. the only difficulty we had was having a nice quiet meal at dinner and if we wanted a quiet breakfast we had to go very early due to lots of younger children at a later time.


Room Tip: good size room and the court yard would be nice in the warmer weather
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with MGallery Hotels

Helpful?
Thank Vickie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont7resort, General Manager at Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 15 July 2014
Dear Vicki,
Thanks for your response, We're very pleased you had a great family time away , I understand your comments regarding a nice quiet meal or breakfast and we are working on ways to provide additional or alternate spaces during the busy holiday periods.
kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights - the hotel was nice and the beds comfortable but there were too many negatives for me to ever come back: the food is very expensive, the service was appallingly slow at embers when we went there for dinner (at 9pm!), there was a white tip spider in our room and when we tried to kill it we found a bandaid on the floor that had been missed by the cleaners and they also didn't take out our dirty room service plates or a used towel one day. The staff were friendly enough, but for the price you pay I would expect much more from a 4 star hotel.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank flying_kangeroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont7resort, General Manager at Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Thank you for your feedback over your stay with us at Fairmont. I am very sorry about the negative issues you experienced with your room and the restaurant, but apreciate you taking the time to let us know.
kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
158 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2014

We attended the Yulefest Buffet at the Fairmont Resort in the Blue Mountains this weekend and at $85 per person for food only, we expected something quite special. The hotel entrance and foyer was decorated for Christmas and looked like a wonderland - really awesome! They even had a very authentic Santa walking around, chatting to people. This was going to be good!

As we entered the dining hall, after queuing up to get in, it was immediately disappointing. No music, no candles, no decorations apart from a few baubles & crackers on the tables, no atmosphere - in fact the ligths were on bright and it felt like a food hall in a shopping mall.

We were seated at our table and we asked for some water for the table. The waitress told us that they don't water jugs for the tables - we have to get up, walk cross the dining hall and fecth a glass of water from the water dispensers on the other side. A little while later, we saw a waiter walking around with water jugs, and asked for one. So why the earlier "we don't do water jugs"?

Another waitress came to take our drinks order. We gave her the order but she did not know which wines we referred to as she was admittedly not familiar with the wine list, so we had to point them out to her. We ordered a bottle of red wine for $54 (retails at $22) and a bottle of white wine for $36. She brought 5 wine glasses (we were 6 people) and the two bottles of wine and told us that she was not going to pour the wine as she did not know who was having which wine... (What?!)

The buffet had a few salads which were your average run of the mill but actually quite good except for the wilted tomatoes in the french salad. Then there was the seafood buffet which everyone at the table enjoyed. The sushi was old - definitely not freshly made that day. It was hard, dry and chewy. The hot buffet was the biggest let down - potatoes, a few ordinary veggies and three types of meat already sliced up and in trays with the edges dried and curling up. No gravy anywhere in sight. I've had a better hot buffet for $10 at my local RSL club - it does not even live up to a pub meal. I don't know how that could be described as "gourmet" on their website. Dessert was a nice variety and actually tasted quite good. No ice cream.

All up I would not pay more than $30 for what was served up and I certainly would expect table service for the drinks and at least serving people at the buffet. There was no one at the buffet area and if you had a question about a dish or an ingredient, there was no one to ask. (I did ask a passing waitress a question about one item and was told she did not know...)

I have to mention that when we spoke to the manager about the service he went out of his way to put things right for us but it was towards the end of the meal and too little too late for the overall experience. We had to queue up to get in and we had to queue up to pay the bill. I may sound like a grumpy old person but not one of the people in our group of 6 were impressed. We went to another restaurant in the area the previous evening for $55 per person and this did not even compare to what we had there.

Before we went to this dinner, we mentioned to the manager of the guest house where we stayed that we have booked this dinner, his reaction was a bit concerning - something to the effect of "we've done it last year and it's OK", but we thought we'd go check it out ourselves. For $85 per person and $54 for a bottle of wine, surely it would be worth it. It wasn't. Obviously we were not the only people who thought it as an overrated rip-off.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Aussie_Travel_Writer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont7resort, General Manager at Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Aussie Travel writer,
Thank you for your detailed feedback on your stay at Fairmont, you have provided us with valuable insights on whereto focus our efforts.Thank you for your positive impressions of the entrance effect and Santa Claus. I am usure regarding your comments about the music as we do generally have music playing in the restaurant (christmas or not) and a pianist in the Lobby. We do take on board your comments regarding the other decorations - they are not intended to be overdone
I do apologise for the service issues with both wine and water
kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

We stayed for three nights at the Fairmont in a superior room. The room was nicely appointed with lovely Appelles toiletries provided in the bathroom, and a nice selection of teas in the cupboard. The room was comfortable but a little warm and we had to use the airconditioning on cold to cool it down. The sound insulation was not good through the front door, so we were awakened at 7am by children running down the halls and other room doors slamming shut.
The breakfast buffet was lovely with a wide selection available. Unfortunately it was extremely busy and difficult to find a table. The table allocation seemed a little disorganised and the restaurant could have benefited from more staff. The staff however were friendly and helpful.
The segway tour was fun. There is a nice children's play area for smaller children. The pool was warm but quite crowded due to the school holidays. The gym area had a wide selection of equipment and I believe is undergoing a full upgrade shortly. It will also be nice when the spa/treatment rooms are completed. Free wi-fi would have been appreciated.
Overall, we were very happy with the hotel. We were pleased for the hotel that it was fully booked, but I suppose if you would like a quieter less hectic stay, then the school holidays are probably not the best time to visit. We would come again and would recommend the hotel to others.

Room Tip: Upper levels have a nice view. Pick a room away from the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Caroline S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairmont7resort, General Manager at Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Caroline,
Thank you for your comments on your recent stay with us, I'm glad you enjoyed the room and amenities. As you note in school holidays it can get busy and we are planning to enlarge and improve our Jamisons Breakfast room and buffet in addition to the Day spa and other improvements.Please do come again.
kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leura
2.4 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
901 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
559 reviews
6.7 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
2.4 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
2.3 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection

Property: Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection
Address: 1 Sublime Point Rd, Leura, New South Wales 2780, Australia (Formerly Peppers Fairmont)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Leura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Leura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring 222 rooms, the Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains is the perfect place for a romantic escape, a get together with a group of friends, family retreat, golf enthusiast, business retreat or conference. The Fairmont Resort is currently undergoing a transformation as part of its entry into Accor's MGallery collection of Unique Upscale hotels. The Fairmont Resort has awe inspiring views over the beautiful Jamison Valley & adjoining Leura Golf Course and an extensive array of leisure facilities including five stunning dining options, indoor heated lap pool and spa, outdoor pool, tennis courts, gymnasium, indoor cinema, amazing indoor kids playgrounds, bowling alley, billiards room, library and endless nature walks in World Heritage National Parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Hotel Leura
Fairmont Hotel York
Fairmont Leura
Leura Fairmont
Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection Leura, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing