We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a luxury resort for a fraction of the price.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Leura
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“a luxury resort for a fraction of the price.”
Reviewed 19 August 2010

We had a great weekend at the Fairmont Resort in the spectacular Blue Mountains. Our standard room was reduced to half price and although it was quite basic, it was very good value for money. We enjoyed all the excellent facilities the resort has to offer including the pool and spa. The views of the Blue Mountains were amazing and the food was tasty with several menus to suit all tastes and budgets. I would definitely recommend the Fairmont Resort, and the good deals on LateRooms let you enjoy the benefits of a luxury resort for a fraction of the price.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Millsimus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,389 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    823
    929
    394
    133
    110
See reviews for
765
1,111
37
160
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (449)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sydney
Level Contributor
52 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2010

We stayed at the Fairmont for 1 night in July. We stayed in a Fairmont room on the ground floor. The resort lobby is beautiful, high ceilings and a fireplace in very small restaurant. Our room was in the megalong wing, as we walked through the doors to the lifts we were faced with a horrible 1980’s wallpaper and decor, as well as the lifts being very old and scary to catch. Lucky when we entered the room it had jumped about 30 years ahead of the walkway. I believe the room had recently been renovated, it had a king size bed (2 beds pushed together) a new lcd tv, small table with chairs and 2 small lounges. There was also a large wardrobe with a mini bar and safe in it. The bathroom unfortunately had not been renovated and was quite old with a bath/shower – although there was plenty of hot water so you can’t complain. The only bad thing with the room would of had to be the lighting, there was no actual lights, they were all lamps which made the room quite dark.

We went for a walk around the grounds- very run down, the games room had old arcade games from the 90’s, the outdoor pool looked dirty, although it is winter that could be why, but it would have been nice if it was maintained a bit better. The indoor pool was nice as well as the gym.

We ate dinner at the restaurant, it is very small and more like a bar. There is a beautiful fire place along the window, yet as we were eating dinner we could not really see it which was a shame. The food was average..but you got what you paid for, it was very cheap compared to the restaurants in Leura. The location is good, it is a 5 min drive from the 3 sisters.

Overall the Fairmont have done well with renovating the rooms, yet someone needs to renovated the rest of the resort- little things like the lift can make a big difference. Also the restaurant has so much potential- extending it, putting more tables and replacing the chef could make it when of the best restaurants in leura with views over the valley, even having high tea on a Sunday there would be lovely.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NatalieDW89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2010

When we arrived we checked into our room straight away with friendly reception staff. We were in a standard room which was clean and tidy. We couldn't complain about our room for a 3.5 star hotel. We did have 2 single beds pushed together but that wasn't a problem. The hall ways walking to our room could do with a bit of attention, but bar and reception areas very clean. My main problem with our stay was we had asked friends to come to the hotel for a drink who we hadn't seen in a long time. We had a table round by the bar/fire place. We had just sat down when one of the staff said we had to move because someone had asked to watch the rugby. They wheeled out the TV and had sport on very loud so it couldn't be ignored. Why when you go to a resort to enjoy having a drink in a cosy laid back bar does a tv have to be put on?? If people want to watch tv, why don't they watch it in their room, or if the Fairmont want to show sport, why not have a dedicated area or sports bar. There are a lot of people who dont' want to watch sport, so why in a lovely bar isn't there some nice background music for a good atmosphere rather than a tv, showing something that only suits a really small percentage. We had to take our (very expensive drinks) up to the lounge upstairs, where again there wasn't much atmosphere. It did rather spoil our experience, and as The Fairmont isn't near any other bars so we couldn't just walk out and drink somewhere else. I do think The Fairmont is making good progress as the staff were all friendly and helpful, but a simple thing like a TV blaring can make a huge difference in enjoying a night out.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam82trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 29 July 2010

My wife and I have just stayed for the Fairmont with friends. it's been some time since last here but must say other than being a bit tired in one or two areas we had an enjoyable time away....nice breakfast selection, indoor pool and spa all good and staff are keen to assist. With a bit of money here and there it will clearly return to the hotel of past years

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helen145
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sydney
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2010

If you have stayed in the Peppers Resort some years ago, don't expect a part of that comfort.

This hotel is a total rip off.....No Service...Dirty rooms...Dirty pool...Pool changing room full with used towels everywhere...nobody takes care.

Eukalyptus Restaurant....Cold meals.. ...bad service....not interested in customer satisfaction al all.

It's a pitty the former Peppers resort at a wonderful location is managed down to that poor level.

Save your money and do not stay there..its a total rip off

I agree with some others here..it should be shut down due to the hygenic condition.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wolfgang L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SydneyGeoff, General Manager at Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection, responded to this review, 31 July 2010
Dear "Wolf 1802", thank you for the feedback and apologises that we didn't meet your expectations. We were however quite suprised by the tone and content of your review given the daily focus on guest satisfaction that now exists, the new staff employed and that the resort has been recently independently assessed twice by the AAA with high ratings for cleanliness & hygiene in all areas.
Nethertheless we will make contact with you offline to discuss this further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2010

We decided to stay at the York Fairmont Resort for two nights during our stay in the Blue Mountains. Admittedly I booked this room quite late after being undecided as to where I should stay. Its website displays newly refurbished rooms and talks about it being under new management. I decided not to book the cheapest room and went for the deluxe room.
On arrival, no one collected our luggage. We were forced to carry it all the way down the long hallway and to our room. Once checked in we were given key cards to our room. The cards were slipped into a cardboard sleeve, with the room number drawn on in texta. Very professional. Leading up to the room, the hallways on our level were old and musty.
On a positive note, the initial hall with the billiard room, library and internet rooms were excellent features.
The room however was very average considering I was paying almost $200 a night.
The bathrooms had been recently renovated but that was about it. Much to my disappointment the room looked nothing like the photos on the website. Nothing deluxe about it. Our King sized bed was two singles pushed together, not the most comfortable of sleep. The decor was old. Lamp covers were stained, furniture was from the 80s and the heating and cooling system was probably the oldest thing I had ever seen.
The room had a flat screen with Austar which was good.
Looking through the resort information, it reads some deluxe rooms have day beds! Some! Looks like I drew the unlucky straw.
The overall resort itself is not too bad. The cocktail bar with open fire place is a good touch and a pianist playing on Friday night was an impressive touch.
We ate at the a la carte restaurant one night which was an interesting experience.
The food was excellent, we were really impressed but the service was below average.
There was long periods of waiting and while the restaurant appeared half full, it seems there was one man rushing around trying to attend to everyone.
I take my hat off to this man because he was really making an effort, while other staff seemed to be missing in action for long periods. Our experience in the restaurant overall was pretty good.
My partner used the gym and she said it was fairly outdated.
Using the trolley bus to get around to the attractions in the area was an excellent idea.
While we understand it has been really hard for new management who have just taken over the resort, people need to know what they are paying for.
Everyone would agree with me that two singles beds pushed together and an outdated room is not deluxe.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank theretreat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manly, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2010

I had the joy or traveling with 2 x boisterous ten year old boys to the Blue Mountains and staying at the Fairmont Resort, this can be a challenge in any location with 2 kids to entertain. The large divine Fireplace at the end of the Lobby was beginning of us all unwinding. The Resort is fantastic for Mum's & Dad's and it offers so much for the 0-14yr old age group. It was brilliant value. Our room was beautifully appointed with King Size Beds, lovely heated rooms and a modern flat screen TV. The Resort offers a great School Holiday program including Hollywood Movie Night, Buffet Diners and fun and games rooms, free Wi-Fi and 2 x computers. The kids loved the Italian Buffet and great Buffet Breakfast...a must before a big day in the cold mountains. (You must try the Bircher muesli that has a hint of lemon zest and freshly grated apple) The kids loved the choice of food and have decided they want their Birthday Parties at the Resort in summer. (very easy with a big heated outdoor pool)

On our first morning we went for a swim in the heated pool and Spa. And it’s was wonderfully hot. The staff are all locals who are passionate about their jobs and after traveling the world; I have not seen better customer service…it was spot on. The staff were so accommodating to our every need, and nothing was a bother.

I will be going back for a longer stay next time, and will take Grandma and Grandma, as I think it offers so much for every age group. The Resort is not just for families, it would be a super location for corporate events and weddings.

Do not be put off by the previous Management, this year they have got it so so right. It’s only a 90 minute drive from Sydney, and you will come back feeling well rested and with a Mountain glow from eating great food and walking through some of the most glorious bush lands in Australia.

Take a break, and visit The Fairmont Resort ☺

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SEOnounou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leura
2.4 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
903 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
559 reviews
6.7 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
2.4 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
2.3 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection

Property: Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection
Address: 1 Sublime Point Rd, Leura, New South Wales 2780, Australia (Formerly Peppers Fairmont)
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Leura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Leura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 222
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Featuring 222 rooms, the Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains is the perfect place for a romantic escape, a get together with a group of friends, family retreat, golf enthusiast, business retreat or conference. The Fairmont Resort is currently undergoing a transformation as part of its entry into Accor's MGallery collection of Unique Upscale hotels. The Fairmont Resort has awe inspiring views over the beautiful Jamison Valley & adjoining Leura Golf Course and an extensive array of leisure facilities including five stunning dining options, indoor heated lap pool and spa, outdoor pool, tennis courts, gymnasium, indoor cinema, amazing indoor kids playgrounds, bowling alley, billiards room, library and endless nature walks in World Heritage National Parks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Hotel Leura
Fairmont Hotel York
Fairmont Leura
Leura Fairmont
Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection Leura, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing