We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Rooms were nice but everything else was awful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Waldorf Leura Gardens Resort
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Leura
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Rooms were nice but everything else was awful”
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I travelled there recently with my family, wife and three children under 9. We booked the family suite which was comfortable enough and very roomy. On arrival the reception staff were very friendly and explained where we could go for dinner that night. Our room had a recently refurbished bathroom. Our first encounter with dining room was poor. The food was over cooked and there was not enough room to cater for all it's guests. We waited for some time before being shown to a table and it was 2 degrees out. By the time we finished the line had doubled in size and people were turning away. Not good when breakfast is included. On the second evening the toilet blocked up. We were offered another room, but the prospect of packing up a family of five and moving to another room at night was not good. We were given access to another room to use the bathroom. In the morning the shower had blocked up, which meant showers in another room. Staff did all they could to help but our bathroom was flooded. When we checked out there was a feint apology for the inconvenience and nothing by way of discount. It didn't occur to me to ask, it was just something I would've expected. Doubt we'll stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Robert T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    215
    122
    34
    14
See reviews for
153
298
18
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
345 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We were very happy with our room looking over the pool area. King size bed and spare single bed in a large room. Electric blankets on the bed that had been turned on. The bed was very comfortable with just the right amount of blankets. Room heating that we could control ourselves. The only annoying thing was when you turned on the bathroom light the fan also came on and it was very noisy. We had come for the Fawlty Towers dinner and show there which was very clever. Breakfast was a buffet in the cafe near the pool. Plenty of car parking. There are 80 rooms there so breakfast was busy. Happily stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms looking over the pool area seem to be the best option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lyndy J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

We usually enjoy travelling to Katoomba a lot, but this weekend disappointed us.
our room looked out on to bush, but the door to the balcony didn't shut properly there was a cold breeze and the door rattled a lot. DVD player was not connected to anything, and the bedside For how big the hotel was, there was not enough space for the rush of people there was for breakfast. the dining staff handled themselves professionally, through difficult situations.
the restaurants were very recommendable, and the restaurant staff too. so hopefully, our room issues were a one off situation.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank elizabeth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Just wanted to say thank you for all the service you and your staff have
given us on our recent visit; we loved our room and the breakfasts in the
Olive Tree were delightful and the waiting staff and chef were mots helpful
and friendly; bless you - Len & Dot Bradley

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Len B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
167 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014

A motel style property that is dated a bit and needs refreshing. That being said the WiFi and parking were free. The room was quiet and comfy and fairly roomy. If you are expecting a five star resort property you will be disappointed but it you want good value for money and a lovely area, then you will be a happy camper.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Les M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 July 2014

Just the place for a couple of days in the mountains. Our room was comfortable and quiet and the breakfast was great. Room a little dated but quite acceptable.Good location and good value. Will be back here again on our next"getaway"

Room Tip: we requested a quiet room(just to be sure
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karma14u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We booked and paid for a "deluxe resort room" - and what we got was a small shabby motel room. There was no seating area. If you sat at the desk you could not see the TV and no-one could get past the end of the bed. There was no clock and/or radio. There was no safety chain on the front door. The safe did not work. The only overhead light in the room did not work. There was no exhaust fan in the bathroom, leaving everything damp. There were no electric blankets on the bed, despite being advertised. The walls, furniture and fittings were all chipped and marked.
I would have thought that all of these things are fairly standard - and certainly not 'deluxe'.
All in all, we were very disappointed and felt that it was vastly overpriced.
I also note similar comments on previous occasions - the Waldorf obviously do not feel that they have to lift their standards.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GJC52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leura
1.9 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 880 reviews
1.7 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 555 reviews
6.5 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Hydro Majestic Blue Mountains
1.9 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
2.1 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Waldorf Leura Gardens Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Waldorf Leura Gardens Resort

Property: Waldorf Leura Gardens Resort
Address: 20 - 28 Fitzroy St, Leura, New South Wales 2780, Australia (Formerly Mercure Resort Blue Mountains)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Leura
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Leura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Waldorf Leura Gardens Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waldorf Leura Gardens Resort offers warm country hospitality set amidst 4.5 acres of landscaped gardens and overlooking the 4th fairway of Leura Golf Course, the Resort offers a relaxing and memorable venue for any occasion.The location is perfect, only minutes from all the attractions of the Blue Mountains. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Waldorf Leura Gardens Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Waldorf Leura Gardens Hotel Leura
Leura Gardens Hotel
Waldorf Leura Gardens Resort Blue Mountains, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing