We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy cottage, friendly staff”
Review of Old Leura Dairy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Old Leura Dairy
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Cosy cottage, friendly staff”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

We stayed at the Worker's Cottage that fit 6 people and this was a lovely little place with full facilities - fire place, heaters, kitchen. Quite old fashioned so you feel like you are at a get away.
Gardens are lovely and you feel like you are well away from anything city like, busy and more like another era.
Its also all eco friendly which blew me away and I left quite inspired about small changes I could make to my home.
The staff were also super friendly and helpful.
Would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RSM6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    22
    6
    2
    1
See reviews for
21
60
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hemingford Grey, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2012

We had booked in for 2 nights in The Studio. Forget the descriptions and all the gushing reviews as it is little more than a wooden shed with a corrugated metal cladding and roof. It is cramped (no room to open our 2 suitcases), has nowhere comfortable to sit other than two ancient wooden chairs which have been shabbily painted. The "dining table" was a plank of wood on an old sewing machine base. The kitchen area was very tiny and as for the sink, well we've seen larger ones in a caravan!!! The microwave above head height was positively dangerous. The room was basically clean, but there were dead insects around the windows and in the bath. The barbecue was new and virtually unused and we cooked on it but struggled to find enough space on the table to eat dinner, and the outside table and chairs were unusable because it was pouring with rain. The private parking facility could not be recommended for anything less than a 4x4 vehicle. Risk of damage to any other vehicle is almost a certainty. This was pointed out by the person who booked us in, so of course you then have to struggle up various steps and through pathways with your luggage. We had no sleep due to rain on the tin roof and then sqawking parakeets and other birds from 3 a.m. onwards. The properties are in the middle of a housing estate a long way from Leura centre. We checked out after the first night and would NEVER go back or recommend.

Room Tip: Dont' bother - find somewhere else!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank roamingroto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaina2012, Manager at Old Leura Dairy, responded to this review, 1 February 2012
We are extremely sorry to hear that 'Roamingroto' had such an unexpected experience at our property. Unfortunately they brought none of their concerns to our attention while they were with us and therefore we did not have the opportunity to address them. We were not even aware that they 'checked out' as they simply left without any advice to us.

We are a 'specialty' property with a distinct character that does not fit into the square box. The heading of Roamingroto's comment probably sums it up well in that we are not for everyone. An unfortunate situation when a booking is made through a travel agent is that it can sometimes be sold to a client that we really don't suit. However those that appreciate what we offer LOVE it, our return guest bookings and word of mouth bookings are in the vicinity of 80% which is exceptionally high.

We're not sure what is meant by a 'housing estate'. Old Leura Dairy is located in a residential area approximately 1 kilometer from the main shopping street of the village. We provide accurate imagery, information, and noted amenities on our property on all our marketing vehicles. Apart from their challenge of personal taste in general, we cetainly don't support the claim that they were advised in the context of a '4 X 4 vehicle' being the only vehicle that does not risk damage in parking. We do point out that lower than average cars may need to take the driveway at an angle.

Lastly I would like to comment that we have just had a very well known British celebrity stay with us in The Studio. She liked it so much that her entry into our guestbook ended up in the Sydney paper (not our doing) and she recommended us to one of her exceptionally high profile celebrity friends to come and stay with us (which she and her celebrity fiancé did). We have also recently hosted the US Ambassador to Australia and his booking came to us through positive word of mouth. We think this speaks highly to the quality and experience of Old Leura Dairy.
Linda Hukins
Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ieper (Ypres), Belgium
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2011

We stayed for one night in the studio and it was really to short! Old Leura Dairy is a beautiful place. The room was very clean and furnished with attention to detail. The hot tub is enjoyable after making a bushwalk through the blue mountains.

Room Tip: The studio is worth the money and perfect for couples (romantic and cozy)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frederik C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Macquarie, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2011

A Magnificent hideaway in the Blue Mountains, very private, beautifully restored property. with all the old world charm and all the mod cons. The staff could not have been more helpful, from the moment of booking, our arrival and stay everything was perfect. Well situated in the heart of the Blue Mountains. Would definately recommend this hotel - just couldn't fault any aspect of it. Definatley be back.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VAL K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

We stayed at the Old Leura Dairy's Moo Manor (2 bedrooms, 2 bathrooms) last Saturday and thoroughly enjoyed it, but found it not worth the high price.

We paid $590 for the one night and this did not include a cooked breakfast or breakfast provisions.

Moo Manor is spacious and attractive and it has a nice, new stove and a small fireplace. We enjoyed relaxing in the lounge room with the TV and DVDs, but were not pleased to see blankets and cloths draped on the low chairs and sofas. This made us wonder if the upholstery was old or unclean. Maybe it was purely decorative, but we didn't think it was of a high enough standard to warrant $300/night/couple.

Beds and linens were nice, but a bit firm. The shower had plenty of water, but stuck to your legs while you showered.

Because this property is called the Old Leura Dairy, we thought it might have been a bit more rural, but it's suburban (surrounded by other homes as opposed to bushland).

The hot tub was okay, but takes quite a while to heat up to a nice hot temperature. The service was friendly and responsive, but I wouldn't stay here again because of cost.

Room Tip: We stayed in Moo Manor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlaneandMickey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2011

We are a family of father, mother and 2 young boys (6 and 2.5 year olds). This was our first time to the Blue Mountains. Old Leura Dairy looked very inviting on TripAdvisor, so we decided to give it a try. Prices from the hotel were cheaper than what we found on wotif.com. We prepaid for 2 nights.

When we arrived in Leura, it turned out that the Blue Mountains area had freak weather of super strong winds. We arrived at Old Leura Dairy to find that many places in Leura have been out of power for the past 24 hours, including the Dairy. It was a bit of a shock to us since it was pretty cold and getting dark quick!

The fireplace thankfully was working and on when we arrived. My husband did have to wake up every 2 hours throughout the night to add more firewood. We all slept in the living room around the fireplace. It was super dark at night since there were only 4 candles.

I was upset as to why I wasn't contacted and offered the option to cancel our stay there due to the power outage. Turned out that they didn't have my local mobile and their Internet was down, so this seemed fair enough.

Woke up in the morning and we decided to stay for the 2nd night even though it was possible to get our 2nd night refunded. The power came back on that afternoon, so we had lights and heat that night.

Overall, we had a very pleasant and enjoyable stay. The cottage we stayed at, Moo Manor, was spacious. The living areas especially were well thought out. You have a seating area around the TV and fireplace. There is also another spacious seating nook off the dining table, for reading and just to get away from the TV. There was a selection of magazines, VHS, books by the front door. We didn't get a chance to use the kitchen since there was no power, but it was fully furnished. There are 2 bedrooms. Both quite small but no complaints here. The master bedroom was freezing as there was no heater (just electric blanket). The 2nd bedroom had no heater either, but was a lot warmer. I loved that there was 2.5 bathrooms. These are not huge but are thankfully equipped with heaters.

Linda the manager over there has been very pleasant to deal with. She answered questions quickly and was very understanding when I was slightly taken aback with the power outage.

Would we return to Old Leura Dairy? As much as I enjoyed our stay, I think I might try other places if we visit Blue Mountains again. We paid $760 for 2 nights, and felt it was quite expensive for what we got. The place oozes charm, but I wish the location were a bit more spectacular. As it is, the Dairy is located in the middle of a neighborhood area and the different cottages are located very close together.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pigletthepug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2011

We finally decided on Moo Manor, one of the individual cottages at Old Leura Dairy for the long weekend getaway. It was slightly more than we'd budgeted so the other half's expectations were high. Traveling with another couple our accommodation was almost perfect. Our fire had been stoked for our arrival, lots of extra wood stacked up for our weekend away, two large bedrooms, two and a half bathrooms, spacious living areas inside and out made for a great time away. A short taxi ride into Leura village ( not an easy walk) for shopping and meals, but so comfy and relaxing we really didn't want to leave. Next time we'd take advantage of the well appointed kitchen and not rely on restaurants for every meal.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terrigaltraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leura
1.2 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
917 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
571 reviews
5.1 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
2.0 mi away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
1.7 mi away
Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Leura Dairy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Leura Dairy

Property: Old Leura Dairy
Address: 61 Kings Rd | Blue Mountains, Leura, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Leura
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Leura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Leura Dairy 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Leura Dairy is leading the way in Australia's luxury, boutique, eco accommodation; offering a unique and exclusive travel experience in the beautiful World Heritage Blue Mountains. Nestled in the quaint village of Leura you are central to all the rugged beauty, attractions, dining experiences, pampering and shopping that the upper mountains have to offer. The eye of an artist appears throughout our wonderful, intimate and sensitive sanctuary. Come & experience Old Leura Dairy ...Where our goal is for our guests to leave taking "something" with them; an experience, a memory, an inspiration, a dream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Old Leura Dairy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Leura Dairy Hotel Leura
Old Leura Dairy Blue Mountains, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing