We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ah the serenity....”
Review of Old Leura Dairy

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Old Leura Dairy
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Ah the serenity....”
Reviewed 7 March 2013 via mobile

I am currently staying at the Old Leura Dairy for a work conference with 12 colleagues. We have taken up 4 of the buildings onsite and have had a blissful 3 night stay here. While our days have been filled with meetings, the gardens, the peace and quiet and the luxury accommodation have hardly made it feel like work at all. The staff are unobtrusive but obliging; i have hardly seen any of them but our accomodation has been serviced when we return. We walked into Leura for dinner last night and contrary to some other posts it was a relatively short and enjoyable walk even though its on the other side of the GWH, so no trouble really. It is uphill on the way in, but all downhill on the way back. The Straw Bale house is large enough to accommodate 3 families and its a great location for exploring all the mountains have to offer. Congrats to the management team who have done a great job with a beautiful and charming establishment.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank berowramum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaina2012, Front Office Manager at Old Leura Dairy, responded to this review, 28 March 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review!
We all take great pride in what we offer at Old Leura Dairy and it is truly wonderful to receive such positive feedback. We will be sure to pass it on to the entire team.
We hope you left feeling relaxed, rejuvenated and inspired!

All the best
Linda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    71
    22
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
20
59
Solo
0
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
118 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We stayed in the Milking Shed and it was beautiful. The site is actually quite a way from the Leura Village (2-3 minute drive, but it does mean you have to find parking in Leura, which can be difficult). That being said, it is much quieter.
The Shed itself was very comfortable, with an excellent bath and tons of room. The spa was actually quite a way from the Shed (not really practical, trekking through the night in your togs) but we were quite happy crashing in the Shed, which has a beautiful claw foot bath.
All in all, a very peaceful, beautiful site.

Room Tip: Even if it is only the two of you, consider the Milking Shed, as it has a fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Edmo1066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk vulcan
Level Contributor
160 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 January 2013

spent 2 nights here in very nice workers cottage.really well renovated, very clean and retaining its charm.Convenient for the amazing Blue Mountains. Our room was en-suite and we loved the corrugated iron walls - sounds strange but worked well! the facilities were very good and well maintined.
The surrounding area is very nice and you can find everything you want in Leura - including Woolworths but [UK readers note] NOT our old Woolies but a large supermarket!!

Room Tip: try the ensuite - unusual!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank tcauUkVulcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

We found the Old Dairy a beautiful place. A lovely warm welcome. We stayed in the Studio, a lovely building built entirely from recycled materials. You would not believe it. The blue mountains are fab. We found everything you could possibly want in the Studio. From the flat screen tv to the WiFi and iPod docking station, to the fresh jam and coffee In the fridge. I hate spiders and the Huntsman outside the window did scare me! But at least it was on the outside. Great base for our tour round d the Blue Mountains. Would highly recommend.

Room Tip: The studio is a lovely room, did not see the others so cannot comment but am sure they are just as a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sue_downton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaina2012, Owner at Old Leura Dairy, responded to this review, 13 January 2013
Hi 'Sue',

So glad to know you enjoyed your stay and thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback. It is greatly appreciated! We think you're right about the other cottages being just as amazing too! Hope you'll have the chance to come back and visit us again to find out!

All the best,
Shaina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Queenstown, New Zealand
Level Contributor
34 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 December 2012

It was a misty, foggy, cool evening but the directions to find the Old Leura Dairy were clear as picture glass. This is a collection of old buildings restored with found objects and architectural offcasts nicely done to create a farm-like, city experience. Beds are great. Electronics work, the wood burner all stacked up and ready to light. We were in the Milking Shed, sleeps 4 comfortably. Good beds, nice linens and doonas. Extra half bath meant no one had to wait their turn. Each of the sheds and cottages are different and quirky in their own way. Staff was helpful and friendly. My only negative was really the location -- it is on the opposite side of Great Western Highway from the town of Leura, so you have to drive to get anywhere. But then, we came in a car so it shouldn't be a big deal (I just wanted to walk to town, thats all). Pricing was a little steep for the roughness of the furnishings and location,but I suppose in this tourist town, that should be expected as well.

Room Tip: read the website
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marthamatt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaina2012, Front Office Manager at Old Leura Dairy, responded to this review, 2 January 2013
Thank you for your review, receiving feedback from our guests is invaluable.

I am glad to hear that The Milking Shed was well equipped and provided a comfortable stay for you. As you mentioned our six cottages are very unique and they each have their own special touches.

I also appreciate you sharing your feedback in relation to our location. We are on the opposite side of the highway in a quiet, peaceful neighbourhood area. The distance from us to Leura Village is 1.3km and I do hear from many guests that they have enjoyed a 15 minute walk into Leura Mall.

The style of our furnishings are indeed rustic and we feel the character and charm this gives our properties is what keeps our return and word of mouth bookings so high.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2012 via mobile

We have just spent a fantastic weekend with friends, 15 of us in total at Old Leura Dairy. We had a great time creating gourmet meals in the well equiped kitchen, great comfy sofas and beds all set amongst buildings with great character very cleverly decorated to create a unique spot in the Blue Mountains. I enjoyed eating my breakfast in the sunny courtyard watching the beautiful native birds enjoying themselves in the garden who could ask for more. Hope we get the opportunity to visit again.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Beth B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaina2012, Manager at Old Leura Dairy, responded to this review, 2 November 2012
Thank you so much for sharing this wonderful feedback! We are thrilled that you enjoyed your experience so much and do hope we have the opportunity to wecome you back once again very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

We were blown away by how charming and lovely the Buttercup Barn is the moment we pulled up to the driveway. We booked for a night and it was with regret that we had to leave the next day! Old Leura Dairy was nestled in an residential area but we felt as if we were way out in the countryside. We had complete privacy to ourselves, Old Leura Dairy had thought of everything and put everything in place to ensure that we kept that privacy. I loved the information booklet and Blue Mountain brochures, we found everything we need/wanted to know in it!

We were amazed and extremely impressed with both the interior and exterior of the building. I felt so comfortable and at home (a rare feeling to be experienced while travelling!), it made me forget about everything else and I felt great just enjoying being in the barn. The electric BBQ was a great addition, along with the table bench outside the barn. I had a great time eating and having coffee with my friend outside.

Old Leura Dairy is pricer than most places but I reckon that the price was well worth it! I will definitely want to visit again when the opportunity rises!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shaina2012, Manager at Old Leura Dairy, responded to this review, 4 November 2012
Thank you for sharing this feedback with us and others. We are delighted that you loved Old Leura Dairy and our little piece of paradise so much that you regretted not staying longer, that is the highest compliment!
Our aim is for our cottages to feel like a home away from home, a place to enjoy our beautiful surroundings. We wish to offer our guests a wonderful experience and from your comments I feel we have achieved this. We are thrilled.
I hope your opportunity to visit us again is sooner rather than later, we look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leura
1.2 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 877 reviews
0.9 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 553 reviews
5.1 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Echoes Boutique Hotel & Restaurant
1.7 mi away
Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection
2.0 mi away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Leura Dairy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Leura Dairy

Property: Old Leura Dairy
Address: 61 Kings Rd | Blue Mountains, Leura, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Leura
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 Speciality Lodging in Leura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Old Leura Dairy 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Old Leura Dairy is leading the way in Australia's luxury, boutique, eco accommodation; offering a unique and exclusive travel experience in the beautiful World Heritage Blue Mountains. Nestled in the quaint village of Leura you are central to all the rugged beauty, attractions, dining experiences, pampering and shopping that the upper mountains have to offer. The eye of an artist appears throughout our wonderful, intimate and sensitive sanctuary. Come & experience Old Leura Dairy ...Where our goal is for our guests to leave taking "something" with them; an experience, a memory, an inspiration, a dream. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Old Leura Dairy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Leura Dairy Hotel Leura
Old Leura Dairy Blue Mountains, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing