We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why stay at ' Manderley?”
Review of Magical Manderley

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Leura
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Magical Manderley
Ranked #1 of 10 Leura B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 August 2014

My wife and I have been visiting Robyn Piddington's Magical Manderley periodically for some years, and though we have tried other places to stay in the Blue Mountains, keep returning for a number of reasons.
The property is very well presented, attractive and comfortable, and with only 2 accommodation options for guests, is quiet and private. It is also a stone's throw from the Leura township, so walking to anything else you may need, such as local restaurants, is easy. Most importantly, returning to your 'suite' feels like returning home: it is warm, very comfortable, and everything you are likely to need in terms of food and drink is laid on. It is a perfect getaway destination in the sense that you don't have to think about or bring anything.
As a bonus, Robyn is a wonderful and obliging host, and we, like many of the other guests who have become regulars over the years, have become good friends with her.
My only reservation in recommending Magical Manderley whole heartedly is a selfish one - in that should it become more popular, we may find it even harder to book :)
By any measure, but especially if you consider value for money, you will go a long way to do better.

Room Tip: Of the 2 suites, the downstairs unit is more cosy and compact, and as a couple, we usually choose th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Ross A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manderleys, Owner at Magical Manderley, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Thank you Ross for your wonderful Review and lovely comments. It is always great to welcome you to Magical Manderley and very much appreciate your return visits.

Good to hear you enjoy Leura's many great restaurants. We are indeed so fortunate to have a variety just within a short walk of Manderley.

Look forward to seeing you back before too long. Take care. My sincere thanks and best wishes. Robyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

205 - 211 of 242 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

From the moment we arrived Robyn made us feel "special". We could sense how proud she was of her "Magical Manderley" and rightly so.....it is a very special retreat full of luxuries. We walked 200m up the road to Leura's main street, a picture postcard town. The blue mountains were beautiful (as usual), but having Magical Manderley to come home too just topped off our stay. Thank you Robyn, and we look forward to our return visit.

Room Tip: We stayed in "Treetops" and when we go back, I would stay in the same room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Michael O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manderleys, Owner at Magical Manderley, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Thank you Michael for Reviewing Magical Manderley. Was great to meet you both and welcome you to to Magical Manderley. Please to hear you enjoyed Treetops and little goodies. Our guests do indeed enjoy walking to popular Leura Village and choosing one of the many restaurants for dinner.

Thank you again and very much appreciate the Review. Hope to see you again before too long - perhaps in our coming Spring when Leura is just stunning. Best wishes. Robyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

We're not regulars to reviewing but when we stay somewhere that gives us everything we want then we feel obliged.

As well as the location close to the Leura Mall and in touching distance of the key Blue Mountain attractions the Magical Manderley gives space to relax.

When you arrive your host Robyn makes you feel immediately at home and that nothing is too much trouble. You have your own front door, beautiful room with spa bath and facilities to eat in if you want to enjoy the cosiness.

The attention to detail stands out and the little extra finishing touches make everyone feel like a special guest.

As there are only two rooms/apartments this is the perfect place for us to stay for some peace and quiet and possibly ideal for two couples staying at the same time.

Nothing is too much trouble as a guest and is you're lucky then you might have an exclusive encounter with Miss Plum the Pug who is a little elusive but still a local celebrity in her own right.

Robyn seems to know everyone and everything between Leura and Katoomba and can always recommend the best places to eat as well as any other activity.

We wouldn't say anywhere else in in the Mountains - Robyn and Miss Plum make the stay special.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MatthewandClare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manderleys, Owner at Magical Manderley, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Hi Mathew and Clare, I was delighted to read your lovely Review. The photos were wonderful - loved the one of my Miss Plum the Pug!!!!! Glad you enjoyed Manderleys position near our great Leura Village. Will hope to see you again before too long. Best wishes Robyn and Miss Plum!!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Manderley is a beautiful mountain escape, close to the charming Leura village but with a priceless secluded feeling. My partner and I stayed in the Terrace room - it was just gorgeous. With welcoming decor, lots of complimentary goodies and a spa bath to fit two, we were truly spoilt. Run by the every friendly and welcoming Robyn, this is a wonderful B&B for a couple looking for somewhere warm and cosy to relax and unwind.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Adele T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manderleys, Owner at Magical Manderley, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Hi Adele, Thank you for your great Review. Was so pleased to hear you enjoyed The Terrace, Spa and closeness to Leura Village, restaurants, galleries and tea rooms.

Always lovely to hear you had a relaxing and happy time at Magical Manderley.

Hope to see you again. Best wishes. Robyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Such a beautiful place to stay, a stroll to Leura shops. We stayed in the bottom Terrace and were greeted with romantic music, a gas fireplace burning, and chocolates/cheese/biscuits and dip. The bar fridge was stocked with premium bottled water and champage. This place is a hidden gem. There was even a spa! Will be back!

Room Tip: Bottom Terrace has a gorgeous courtyard which is great for a morning coffee or to sit in the sun
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Antonina C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manderleys, Owner at Magical Manderley, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2014

Thank you Antonina for your great Review. So pleased you enjoy the fire, little extras and the Terrace's Courtyard - it is enjoyed by our guests for leisurely breakfast especially in Spring. Will look forward to welcoming you back to Magical Manderley. Cheers. Robyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014

My husband and I have been enjoying Magical Manderley since 2000. We elect to stay in Treetops, the upstairs apartment. It is so very beautiful. The furniture, fixtures and fittings are first class and the bed and bathroom are simply Devine. Thick, fluffy towels, gorgeous bubble bath gel, shampoos and body creames are popped at the end of your bed. In the well appointed kitchen there are plenty of provisions. Bacon, eggs, bread, milk, coffees and teas, lovely bottles of bubbles, aperitifs, chocolates - and then there are the treats, such as a lovely cake for afternoon tea or crackers and cheese. And of course there is beautiful Robyn, the owner of our home away from home. Robyn is the most warm, welcoming person we know. Visiting Manderley is like visiting a favourite sister, the love is in the detail. When we arrive (no matter the time) the fire is lit, the lamps are on and our favourite CD of Rod is playing on the CD player. I know we will be coming back for another 15 years! Thanks again Robyn.

Room Tip: Both apartments are lovely but we prefer the upstairs "Treetops" because it has a fully eq...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kerri-Ann F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manderleys, Owner at Magical Manderley, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Hi Kerri-Ann and Michael, What a wonderful Review - I am deeply touched by your lovey comments. 15 years enjoying Magical Manderley - where has that time gone!!!! I look forward to your returns each year and it is certainly like welcoming family. Your comments certainly inspire me to continue in tourist accommodation after 32 years and stay at Magical Manderley. I enjoyed restoring the property in 2000 and from memory you both were one of my first visitors. Glad you enjoy the Rod Steward cds - what a joy his songs are, and the books and dvds.

Thank you again - I appreciate your Review so much. Take care and will look forward to your return in 2015. Best wishes. Robyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2014

Such a beautiful place to stay. It's very relaxing & romantic. Room is absolutely beautiful & included are cheese, chocolate & champagne on arrival, as well as lots of breakfast treats. Romantic music, Dvd's & books are all there to enjoy, next to a cosy fireplace. It's the perfect escape & Robyn is such a lovely, pleasant lady. This is our second year at Magical Manderley & we will be booking again. Truly amazing & unforgettable!

Sonja

Room Tip: Tree Tops is amazing!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Sonja S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eddy P, Owner at Magical Manderley, responded to this reviewResponded 16 July 2014

Thank you Sonja for your wonderful Review. It was delightful to welcome you both back to Treetops for your second visit. Glad to hear you enjoy the romantic ambience, dvds and complimentary little goodies.

Will look forward to seeing you again next year. Take care and my best wishes to you both. Cheers. Robyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leura
1.3 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#3 of 15 in Katoomba
976 reviews
5.9 mi away
Parklands Country Gardens and Lodges
1.1 mi away
Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Broomelea Bed & Breakfast
0.7 mi away
Waldorf Leura Gardens Resort
1.7 mi away
Lilianfels Resort & Spa - Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Magical Manderley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Magical Manderley

Address: 157 Megalong St, Leura, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Leura
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Leura
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With 20 years experience in Blue Mountains Tourism and luxury accommodation, Robyn Piddington proudly presents - LEURA'S MAGICAL MANDERLEY - a unique style of self-contained luxury accommodation.This gracious property consists of the main residence (circa 1915) and two self-contained, elegant apartments – each accommodating one couple.Magical Manderleys’ apartments – ‘Treetops’ and ‘The Terrace’ enjoy an idyllic private and secluded setting, centred around magnificent old gardens, fountains and water features.Stunning treetop and garden views, exquisite furnishings and decor, create a sophisticated and romantic ambience. Over the years the property has become affectionately known as 'Leura's Honeymoon Haven'.Escape - Embrace and Experience the romance and Magic of Manderley right in the heart of historic Leura ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Magical Manderley Leura, Blue Mountains, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing