We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quirky and quaint” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Leura House

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Leura House
Ranked #6 of 11 Leura B&B and Inns
Lake Macquarie, Australia
Level Contributor
360 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Quirky and quaint”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

Grabbed the mid-week special (good value) and were allocated a room at the rear of Leura House. The room, Number 7, overlooked the garden and there was only a little noise from the Great Western Highway and railway line. Nothing to worry about. The room was adequately furnished with a very comfortable bed and plenty of drawer space. It was heated, but not air conditioned, and had a small balcony. The bathroom had a shower and was very clean except for some cobwebs on the ceiling light. Rooms are on ground and first floor. If you have trouble with lengthy and narrow stairs, ask for a ground floor room. Leura House is an old style Victorian guesthouse with multiple bedrooms and some common areas. It has a wide range of furnishing and decoration styles and fits perfectly into the Agatha Christie style guesthouse. It would be easy to host a 30's style "Murder Mystery Night" here. A large comfortable lounge room is available with a great bookcase of books for your use. Yes, the House is somewhat tired but it does have charm and is not all chrome and Mod Oz as some hotels are these days. There may be some negative issues with some guests; breakfast is only between 08.30 and 09.30. It's cereal and toast style. Reception is only available in the morning between 09.30 and 10.30 so those wishing to leave prior to then are asked to push their room key under the Office door. Reception is open for about four hours in the afternoon. There is no evening restaurant, but the House is only a few minutes walk from Leura Mall which has multiple cafes and restaurants. Off street parking is available

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the rear. Rear external stairs close to car park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

186 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    66
    51
    25
    15
    29
See reviews for
23
115
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tilos
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2014

We were lucky to get a midweek special in early May - so for the price, I was pleasantly surprised by the super-comfy queen bed, large room, spotless bathroom, and views over the garden and the Blue Mountains. We loved the Victorian feel of the building, and the comfortable lounge area, and the internet worked well. The only negatives were not finding anyone at home when we arrived (we had to wait outside until a guest let us in), and a fairly basic breakfast (fine for us walkers paying a midweek special price, but if you were paying full price you'd expect better). The room was cold when the temperature dropped, but otherwise very comfortable and on a sunny afternoon, the balcony would be fabulous... It's a house with history but is bright and comfy. Easy walk to shops and to walking trails.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

We paid top dollars as it was Easter weekend (I do understand that this is going to be more expensive. Bed very hard. Decor very sad and dated. I requested gluten free bread for breakfast, but they had neglected to provide any saying that the shops had been shut the day before so they hadn't purchased any. The breakfast was very stingy - 2 tiny rasher of bacon and an egg. Fruit juice not fresh and out of a can. Accommodation was very poor and the service was even worse. Have stayed many times in both Leura and Katoomba and have enjoyed exellent hospitality on many occasions. This fell a long way short and I certainly would not stay there again.
Very poor all round.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Wendy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Leura hotels

Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

We arrived to find the appearance of the building did not match the photo, clearly it had been taken some time ago. We were welcomed by the owner who was more officious than friendly and provided a tired overview of the history. We were bustled up to our room and given brief instructions on how to get in and out of the building without assistance with a sense of "we don't want to be bothered". Rooms have now air conditioning and we were advised to open the window and fit an expanding fly screen which fitted with gaps allowing mosquitoes access. The building has some great history but needs a good restoration. Breakfast is only served between 8:30 and 9:30 in the dining room where you will find cereals and toast. The owner popped out from the kitchen in shorts and thongs and greeted us with "Eggs and bacon?", I don't believe we had any option. Food was ok but short in quantity. In an area with lots of quality B&Bs, we will not return.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ianthomo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange NSW
Level Contributor
115 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

First point - dont bother turning up before 2pm because the office is not open.
We stayed in February and it was very hot in the rooms. No airconditioning and no fan. Breakfast is only served between 8:30 and 09:30 so its very restrictive. Saying that the breakfast wasnt great, hard poached eggs, bacon and tomato. The back garden is pretty, if you do stay here which I dont advise ask for a room which overlooks the garden. We were able to have a drink on our little balcony.
Its close to the shops so you can walk but be careful of the traffic. Its not very safe to cross at some points

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LucyOrangeNSW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

If you're looking for a modern, sterile, chain Hotel with all the modern conveniences and frills, this is definitely not for you. This hotel is beautifully situated within easy walking distance, and just a few minutes walk away from the head of the main street in Leura. The house carries a lot of history - being the first house to be built in the area in the 1890;s. The rooms are clean &, beautifully kept (all en-suite) - but reminiscent of times gone by. We wanted to see the 'real Australia' and experience it's heritage, this place fitted the bill perfectly. Breakfast was simple but freshly & individually cooked - and not a stale buffet, (plus small selection cereals, fruit and toast). For a taste of the true authenticity request a balcony room. The owner told us that he had only recently taken over the Hotel, and wanted to add improvements and changes. For what we paid for our stay we were pleased with our choice and would stay again. .

Room Tip: Speak to the owner to request a balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JanieW_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Lovely old guest house but its conducted for the owner not the guests. Doesn't have breaky till 08:30 and if you arrive at 08:25 he sends you away. He doesn't like people and if he is not happy with something (no matter how insignificant) he lets you know.

We were locked out of our room and had to sleep in another room that had the door left open 1 night but didn't tell him because of his mood swings. We were also promised full hot breaky every day but no that was only forthcoming some of the time. Room was not serviced one day and our tea mugs were never cleaned, nor used tea bags taken away. Also no rubbish bin to put them in. I realise that service in Australia is the worst in the world (and I'm a well travelled Dinky Di) but this is unacceptable.

However, its a big improvement from the previous owners who turned the guest house into a dumpmaster, but now its like being in a psycho ward.

When you look at the Old Convent from the outside and the breakfast room, and living areas it appears to be a fantastic guesthouse but the decor in the rooms is not up to scratch. You would expect some Old world charm in the rooms after seeing the rest of the guesthouse but that is not forthcoming. However, it has the potential to be an excellent stay even for small sophisticated groups one day.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 644GregE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leura
1.3 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#3 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
1.4 mi away
Palais Royale Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Waldorf Leura Gardens Resort
1.3 mi away
Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Leisure Inn Spires - Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leura House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leura House

Property: Leura House
Address: 7 Britain St, Leura, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Leura
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Leura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Leura House 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This mountain Guest House (c.1880) is an historic and magnificent home. Spacious gardens and sweeping valley views surround the house situated on the highest point (1,900 ft above sea level) of the beautiful village of Leura. Central heating throughout with log fire in the lounge. Superb dining, conference and reception facilities. Adjacent to the many tourist attractions, walking tracks, sporting activities, village shops and railway station. elegantly furnished with lots of old-world charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Leura House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leura House Hotel Leura
Leura House Blue Mountains, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing