We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient to Leura Village. Character-filled accommodation.”
Review of Leura House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Leura House
Ranked #5 of 10 Leura B&B and Inns
Reviewed 13 November 2010

Stayed with a group of five friends for one night. Easy walking distance to Leura Mall with shops and cafes. Beautiful character filled building and bedrooms with ensuites. New managers welcoming and friendly, however the boundary between providing a service and the accommodation being an extension of their own home is blurred. Not a good look for to be wandering around (outside) with a beer and cigarette whilst answering guests questions. More suited to an outback pub. The two labradors are beautiful dogs, well-behaved but have the run of the communal areas where guests meet. If you don't like dogs then this is a negative. 4 of us weren't able to have a shower in the morning and we weren't told when booking in, despite the manager telling us on checkout when we asked about the problem of no hot water, that the hot water system had been playing up for nearly 9 weeks. What would have happened if we had stayed for 2 nights??? Two of us shared a room and requested 2 beds on booking ... the second bed was a pull-out sofa bed, despite the room having plenty of space for a proper bed. I understand though this was planned for later on, but again not made aware of this at the time of booking. We decided against having the inclusive breakfast, opting for a Leura Mall cafe. Mixed feelings about recommending this guest house - check if the hot water is working.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Carrie33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mahden14, Owner at Leura House, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2010

Thank you for your comments, Carrie33, and we will take them on board for future reference.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

178 - 184 of 211 reviews

Reviewed 27 October 2010

We had a great stay at Leura House for 3 nights in early October. Friendly, co-operative hosts Denise & Larry. Large, well appointed room with comfortable bed and including settee and good overhead lights for reading (often lacking in hotels!); large, moden en-suite - with no hot water problems! Big communal lounge and enchanting garden room for breakfast. Well located - only a short walk to Leura Mall shops and restaurants.
Only negative would be if you didn't like or were allergic to dogs - the hosts have two beautiful and well controlled / behaved labradors ... who know they are not allowed in kitchen or dining areas (or upstairs in guests' rooms, of course). Highly recommended.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FailfordNSWtraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahden145167, Owner at Leura House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2010

Thank you for your comments FailfordNSWtraveller. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

We have a little bit of exciting news...well, for us anyway. Our plumber arrived, told us what the problem was and is in the process of fixing our issues. It's only taken 12 weeks to get the problem looked at, so the next time you think of coming to stay we should have everything sorted :)

As for our dogs, thank you for the comment about guests with allergies. We did have that issue with one couple, however because we don't allow the dogs into rooms and maintain a high level of cleanliness with them in general, our guests were very pleased to stay.

Your comment will help us to work out a better way for those guests who do have an issue with dogs to be able to enjoy their stay just as much as those guests who do adore dogs.

Thanks again for your words of encouragement and we hope you come back again. :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2010

We stayed here to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary and found it very enjoyable. It's a beautiful old house with lots of character, management is friendly and welcoming and the location is close to Leura's main street so we were able to walk to our restaurant for dinner (and not worry about enjoying a celebratory bottle of wine).
My only gripe is that it was too cold to sit out on the balcony and enjoy the lovely view! But then we are from Qld...so next time we will come in summer.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahden145167, Owner at Leura House, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2010

Hi Emason and thank you for taking the time to make some comments on our home. Every comment is gratefully accepted and we appreciate the effort.

We're both glad you enjoyed your stay. Sorry we couldn't provide you with some warmer weather, but hey, it wouldn't be the Blue Mountains if we had sunny days all the time ;)

You're both most welcome to come back in summer. I can guarantee we'll get weather, just not sure what type. Bring your jacket so you can sit out on the balcony.....just in case.

Thank you again and hope to see you another time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 August 2010

It's worth noting that management at Leura House changed in July 2010. My wife and I stayed there last weekend in one of there top floor rooms and had a fantastic stay. It was the little things that make a difference on a weekender. They accommodated for food intolerances, made sure we were happy with our breakfast and even recorded the overnight rugby in South Africa for me to watch the next day. I highly recommend them for a weekender.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andrew M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahden145167, Owner at Leura House, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2010

Thank you SydneyAndrew for your comments. They are most appreciated by Larry and myself. We do try very hard to make sure all our guests are as comfortable as possible, and it is nice to see that we achieved that to an extent with you and your wife.

Sorry we couldn't provide a win by the Aussies on the Sunday morning ;)

We're still looking at how we can improve our guests' stay, so next time you both come up hopefully there will be more improvements to be seen around the place.

Our gratitude to you in bucket loads.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 August 2010

Great location - it is just up to the road from Leura shops and easy to access all the sites

Stayed in a standard room and it was super spacious and had everything you need. Hot water was a bit dodgy when we stayed, though it didn't ruin the stay.

Housekeeping standard didn't seem to be amazing though again wasn't a huge fuss for us.

Breakfast was pretty good.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank platyandg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahden145167, Owner at Leura House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2010

Thank you platyandg. We intend to look into the issues you raised. We've been here since July 1 2010 and we are still now, trying to get a plumber to come and look at our hot water problems. I would be much happier knowing that my valued guests are leaving Leura House in good spirits, rather than disgruntled.

I do hope the next time you come up, there will have been some noticeable changes.

Cheers

Denise Abraham
Owner/operator
Leura House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2010

Stayed at Leura House, Blue Mountains with spouse and elderly parents last weekend. Rooms were warm and comfortable and common lounge area was inviting. Breakfast the next morning was okay with cooked breakfast with well cooked bacon and eggs, if a little slow in delivery. Hosts were friendly and interested in making sure our stay was comfortable. Was a little worried when had read earlier reviews (pre July) however with recent change in owners/managers don't be put off as new hosts are trying very hard to overcome issues mentioned previously. House is short walk to Leura's main street so good for browsing amongst interesting shops and cafe's of Leura. A lovely place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank johnolovesmtb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mahden145167, Owner at Leura House, responded to this reviewResponded 4 September 2010

Hi johnolovesmtb. Thank you for taking the time to write some positive comments for us. I feel so much better when people want to let others know of their experience staying here.

I do apologise for taking a bit more time getting your breakfast out to you. Both Larry and I try our hardest to ensure the food we send out is up to our high standards. There's only the two of us serving breakfast.

I hope that if you choose to come back another time, we will have improved.

Cheers
Denise Abraham
Owner/operator
Leura House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2010

Friendliness and good cheer the whole weekend, no request a problem, endless patience with the children who had a ball, excellent breakfasts (thank you Larry), a short walk to the lovely Leura shops ... what was not good about our weekend at Leura House? We'll go again and are planning a trip with friends. A genuinely family friendly heritage house!

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bushandcafes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mahden14, Owner at Leura House, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2010

Thank you for your review of our house. Larry and I appreciate the time you took to write something for us. I am so glad you and your family had a wonderful time. You are most welcome to come back and stay with us again. Larry's getting better at cooking those eggs ;) Fighting the demons of the past is not easy, but with guest reviews like yours, at least we know we are doing something right.

Again, thank you from Larry, Denise (me), Jack and Grissom.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leura
1.3 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#2 of 15 in Katoomba
955 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mountain Heritage
Mountain Heritage
#5 of 15 in Katoomba
588 reviews
1.0 mi away
Waldorf Leura Gardens Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#6 of 10 in Leura
39 reviews
1.3 mi away
Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Bethany Manor
Bethany Manor
#4 of 10 in Leura
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Leura House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Leura House

Address: 7 Britain St, Leura, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Leura
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Leura
Price Range: £64 - £117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Leura House 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This mountain Guest House (c.1880) is an historic and magnificent home. Spacious gardens and sweeping valley views surround the house situated on the highest point (1,900 ft above sea level) of the beautiful village of Leura. Central heating throughout with log fire in the lounge. Superb dining, conference and reception facilities. Adjacent to the many tourist attractions, walking tracks, sporting activities, village shops and railway station. elegantly furnished with lots of old-world charm. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Leura House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Leura House Hotel Leura
Leura House Blue Mountains, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing