We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Food Ever - what has happened to Solitary?”
Review of Solitary

Solitary
Ranked #7 of 42 Restaurants in Leura
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Australian, Contemporary
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Worst Food Ever - what has happened to Solitary?”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

What has happened to the Solitary we loved so much? A spur of the moment return to the Blue Mountains ended in the worst lunch ever!! Everything has changed for the worse! The service was terrible the restaurant was looking rather dirty & unkept. The warm winter rustic feel has well & truly gone, add to this the smell from the kitchen had me second guessing if the place had been sold to new owners.The food was by far the worst we have had in a long time. Considering the prices (great view aside) it was TERRIBLE!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    111
    61
    27
    15
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The view is better than the service and food!”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Sunday lunch was not as good as we had hoped. Having dined there before we went back with family as we had a special occasion. The wait for our meal was 1.15 hrs after the waitress with the blue hair could not even explain the specials on the menu.
The portions were so small (about the size if a party pie)it was a joke for $35 a dish.We then ordered side dishes of greens and mash as we were so hungry,the greens had 2 beans each and approx a teaspoon of mash.
We were very dissapointed as we had travelled from Sydney.Needless to say I will not recommend this restaurant except maybe for a coffee outside enjoying the view.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sally b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just fabulous”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

Dinner last night was fantastic. The food is fine dining- fresh light and it's leaves you feeling satisfied and full. We added 2 sides to our mains and that was enough. We arrived to a chilly night but inside is warm with the fire going. The service is unobtrusive and all the meals we had were presented well and just yum! Another quality gem in the blue mountains. My only suggestion would be to pipe a bit of music through to add to the atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank Candace S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Avoid”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

3.15 on a Sunday afternoon, walked in looking for takeaway coffee and icecreams, past the sign that said they were open til 4.30.

Waited for 5 minutes by the sign that said "wait here". Ignored by all the staff, we went inside to the area with the kiosk sign. Were very rudely told they were closed. There was no sign saying they were closed - all the signs in fact indicated they were still open. There were plenty of people sitting around eating/drinking still.

Never going back.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Scott O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Terrible”
Reviewed 20 April 2014 via mobile

If there was an option to give no star I would. Ive never written a review before, but the service here was so appalling. other people leaving the same time as us also commented on the terrible service. I guess its called solitary for a reason.

Helpful?
1 Thank Hanar91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Solitary also viewed

Katoomba, Blue Mountains
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 
Leura, Blue Mountains
Leura, Blue Mountains
 
Leura, Blue Mountains
Katoomba, Blue Mountains
 

Been to Solitary? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing