We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Weekend at Leura” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Woodford of Leura

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Woodford of Leura
Ranked #11 of 11 Leura B&B and Inns
Canberra
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Weekend at Leura”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

My wife and I were had a wonderful 2 night stay at Woodfords of Leura. Our host Danielle went all out to make us feel welcome and special. The bed was very comfortable and our room well appointed. Nice personal touches such as lollies in the foyer, chocolates in our room and a cosy open fireplace in the lounge area, made our stay better than a home away from home.
The pancakes were delicious.
Thank you Danielle.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    6
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
4
26
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed here for a couple of nights and had the most enjoyable and relaxing stay in a B&B. Our host, Danielle, made sure our stay was as comfortable as possible with a warm welcome and handy tips on sightseeing around Leura.

The B&B itself is very clean and modern. The lounge room has a great fire place to warm yourself on a chilly night, and the breakfast offering is simple yet delicious. No attention to details were spared either, from the lovely coffee and tea service in our room, to the delicious nut and muesli slices she baked for guests who stayed there for the Northface event weekend. We were even farewelled by Danielle with a packet of delicious shortbread chocolate biscuits!

I would definitely come back here again!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Victorian Room which is right across from the lounge room, making the stay feel tru...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Milanih
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Randwick, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

Every effort was made to make our short stay as comfortable as possible - the host made sure we were warm and comfortable, the open fire and pleasant garden were highlights of lovely stay - the apple pancakes for breakfast were to die for

Room Tip: The Garden room with it's own balcony was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarcusBRandwick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hobart, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2013

I have just spent 3 days in Leura at this delightful bed and breakfast guesthouse. Danielle is a warm and charming host and provides those extra touches that make guests feel welcome. I stayed in the French room which has views of the garden and a morning parade of birds feeding under the trees. The room was spotless and very comfortable. There was a good variety of food provided at breakfast, and it was beautifully cooked. The choice of TV channels is limited but there is a DVD library and lots of books to read. The property has many places inside and outside where you can sit and read, or just enjoy the surroundings. Leura village is 15 minutes walk and Danielle can request that the Blue Mountains Explorer bus picks you up a few steps away. I can recommend this lovely B&B to anyone seeking a quiet, comfortable haven in a picturesque setting.

Room Tip: The French room is lovely for one person, There is also a room with a terrace which would provide mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TamaraTasmania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Australia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2013

The host was friendly and warm. Danielle made your stay enjoyable and comfortable and you were made to feel special, with nothing being too much trouble. The breakfast was excellent and as good or equal to any restaurant or cafe. The decor was pleasant and inviting as well as the atmosphere being tranquil. Her attention to detail was elegant and extreme and especially the copious amounts of information re what to do and see at Leura/Katoomba. Would highly recommend to anyone without hesitation.

Room Tip: All the rooms are excellent, but I would recommend the Garden Room with the verandah as it ads a nic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2012

Our visit began Thursday afternoon 15th November 2012 and continued to Sunday morning.
We arrived at the arranged time of 3 pm, to be greeted by our hostess, Danielle at the front door.
Danielle gave us a quick tour of "our" portion of the house and showed us our room.
After unloading our luggage we settled in for coffee and freshly baked cake thoughtfully provided.
We then went about exploring Leura. Later that evening we dined in Leura, before turning in for a very good night's sleep.
We awoke fully refreshed and enjoyed a delicious breakfast cooked by Danielle.
Life quickly settled into a very comfortable pattern, Good food, good sleep and plenty to see.
Danielle is justifiably proud of her house, which is of solid construction with wonderful thermal stability and set in a lovely garden. The house, and equipment in the house all work well, looks good and is all clean.
Equally Danielle is justifiably proud of her cooking and seems to thoroughly enjoy her position as hostess. By the end of the weekend we felt as though we had known her all our lives.
Parting was actually slightly sad.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dave H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

Having stayed in dozens of Blue Mtns B&Bs in the past 15 years how refreshing it was to stay in this cosy establishment with host Danielle. One thing you must get right in the mountains is the heating. At Woodford of Leura this is partly provided by a log fire in the lounge room which is concientiously tended by Danielle and creates an inviting atmosphere for guests. Previous experiences with open fires were that they were lit and neglected which just disappoints.
Throughout our 4 day stay, we were treated to homemade cakes daily, delicious apple and currant pancakes for breakfast and a lovely bottle of champagne as it was our anniversary. Our room was spotlessly clean as was the entire home with a good selection of reading matter and DVDs for wet weather. Conversations with other guests as well as our host were delightful and the selection of music playing added ambience in this homely enviroment. We stayed in the garden suite with verandah attached - I did find the bed a little uncomfortable(a bit lumpy) although my husband had no complaints. A memorable stay.

Room Tip: The garden room was a little bigger but all rooms looked great .
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ellen1402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Leura
1.8 mi away
The Carrington Hotel
The Carrington Hotel
#3 of 15 in Katoomba
4.0 of 5 bubbles 844 reviews
0.7 mi away
Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection
0.1 mi away
Corner Manor Leura
Corner Manor Leura
#3 of 7 in Leura
5.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Broomelea Bed & Breakfast
0.5 mi away
Argyll Guesthouse
Argyll Guesthouse
#5 of 11 in Leura
4.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.3 mi away
Waldorf Leura Gardens Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodford of Leura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodford of Leura

Property: Woodford of Leura
Address: 48 Woodford St, Leura, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Leura
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Leura
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Woodford of Leura 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant mountain retreat located in one of Leura's quietest country lanes. This grand 1920's, home set on a near 1/2 acre of tranquil Sorensen gardens is renowned for it's gourmet breakfast served at your individual table. Est. in 1994, Woodford offers gracious 2- room suites or double rooms (all ensuite) and complimentary afternoon tea by the log-fire on arrival. It also features a 4-person spa/Jacuzzi and off-street parking. Winner 2000 Regional Award for Excellence in Tourism and NSW 2000 Tourism Awards Finalist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Woodford of Leura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodford Of Leura Blue Mountains, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing