We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful stay at Woodford”
Review of Woodford of Leura

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Woodford of Leura
Ranked #10 of 10 Leura B&B and Inns
Reviewed 6 October 2013

I booked Woodford based on previous reviews on Tripadvisor and was looking for a character filled bed and breakfast in Leura. I have stayed a few times at the Fairmont resort but now found it too pricey since new ownership. Woodford was just delightful. We drove from Sydney on a Friday night and were welcomed by our host Danielle who oriented us to the property. The property is immaculate and just splendid. We stayed in the garden view room which has an adjoining balcony overlooking the gardens and this was truly lovely. If we had stayed longer we would have used it as a lovely place to sit and read, though we did enjoy viewing the birds in the garden both mornings we were there. We can recommend the Leura Garage for a meal, as we had a lovely pizza and salad there that night. There is both a book and dvd library for use by guests at Woodford. Danielle also has lovely homebaked muffins in the guest sitting room, which we happily enjoyed both days we were there. Breakfasts were homecooked by Danielle and the apple pancakes were enjoyed by my husband both mornings.

Woodford is a delightful place to stay - quiet, clean, immaculate and homely. I would happily stay there again for a quiet getaway in the Blue Mountains.

Room Tip: Garden room has a balcony which we can highly recommend with a gorgeous view out onto the gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Missy39Sydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 17 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2013

I thoroughly enjoyed my two night stay at Woodford of Leura Bed and Breakfast. The host, Danielle, was friendly, warm and accommodating. Her suggestions for activities were helpful, in particular for a single traveller. Lovely bedroom, fire in the lounge room and ever so yummy, home made brownies! Beautiful and spacious house, just a short walk from Leura Village. most definitely recommended.

Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Our two nights stay at Woodford was one of the best time we spent away from home. Historical building nicely tucked away in the woods of Blue Mountains in NSW, Australia, Woodford even for one sec, did not let us feel that we were away from our home. Danielle The host at Woodford is a caring, gentle and hospitable lady. She walked us around the place and showed a huge collection of books and DVDs we could borrow from. In the main room we could enjoy fire-place reading and accompanied by soft music which compliments the serene atmosphere at Woodford. Freshly baked muffins by the host kept in the main room adds a special colour to the enjoyment of stay at Woodford.

Our room was elegantly decorated with very cozy colours, well lit and comfortable to stay. Breakfast menu has great choices and was not easy to choose from. Both my wife and me were amazed and delighted at her culinary skills.

By giving us a shortbread packet at our departure was a little gesture of appreciating our stay, Danielle completed the circle of our the most memorable stay at any B&B place.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

My husband and I really enjoyed our stay at Woodford. Danielle was an excellent host, who made every effort to make our stay very memorable. She made sure that a fire and freshly baked muffins were ready for us when we came in from a walk in the afternoons and stayed around for a fireside chat in the comfortable lounge room. Danielle provided a variety of cooked breakfasts, her apple pancakes were divine.

Our room was comfortable, spacious and very clean.

Woodford is within easy walking distance to Leura town centre and a short distance to the main attractions of the Blue Mountain area.

Danielle is a thoughtful host, who provides all the little extras that went towards making our stay very comfortable and relaxing.

We are looking forward to staying at Woodford again next time we visit the Blue Mountains area.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mela268
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

My wife and I both enjoyed our 2 night stay in August 2013. Great location to base from to explore historic Leura and nearby Katoomba. We walked from here to Leura town centre, and near by golf course and sublime point lookout. I can’t offer any negative feedback to improve this B&B as Danielle (host) appears to have continually tweaked the process to where the business is today.

Danielle's hospitality was balanced perfectly for what we wanted to gain from our stay. Fire place in winter, great breakfast menu and the little extras such as fresh baked daily muffins and mums secrete short bread gift on departure was a warm touch.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This is a great B&B for the Blue Mountains. Close to Katoomba and the Three sisters, the room was perfect, great service, quiet and homely. I have stayed at B&B's before and really thought this was one of the best, especially loved the baked treats supplied by the host and even a homemade shortbread to take home when we checked out.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

My wife and I were had a wonderful 2 night stay at Woodfords of Leura. Our host Danielle went all out to make us feel welcome and special. The bed was very comfortable and our room well appointed. Nice personal touches such as lollies in the foyer, chocolates in our room and a cosy open fireplace in the lounge area, made our stay better than a home away from home.
The pancakes were delicious.
Thank you Danielle.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adrian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Leura hotels
0.7 mi away
Fairmont Resort Blue Mountains - MGallery Collection
0.3 mi away
Waldorf Leura Gardens Resort
0.6 mi away
Leisure Inn Spires - Blue Mountains
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Leura House
Leura House
#5 of 10 in Leura
231 reviews
0.7 mi away
Alexandra Hotel
Alexandra Hotel
#6 of 10 in Leura
41 reviews
1 mi away
Bethany Manor
Bethany Manor
#4 of 10 in Leura
82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Woodford of Leura? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Woodford of Leura

Address: 48 Woodford St, Leura, New South Wales 2780, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Blue Mountains > Leura
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Leura
Price Range: £79 - £110 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Woodford of Leura 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Elegant mountain retreat located in one of Leura's quietest country lanes. This grand 1920's, home set on a near 1/2 acre of tranquil Sorensen gardens is renowned for it's gourmet breakfast served at your individual table. Est. in 1994, Woodford offers gracious 2- room suites or double rooms (all ensuite) and complimentary afternoon tea by the log-fire on arrival. It also features a 4-person spa/Jacuzzi and off-street parking. Winner 2000 Regional Award for Excellence in Tourism and NSW 2000 Tourism Awards Finalist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Woodford of Leura reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Woodford Of Leura Blue Mountains, Australia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing