We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Message from TripAdvisor:
This place is temporarily closed.

“Great motel”
Review of Dawson Motor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Dawson Motor Inn
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Lismore
Certificate of Excellence
Helsinki, Finland
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great motel”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We stayed at this motel for a one night. Our motel room was very clean and comfortable. The price was very affordable and it included a free breakfast and free wifi! In addition the laundry was complimentary.
In addition we were allowed to clean our wet equipment because of last night's rain.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Checkin25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    94
    47
    11
    5
    1
See reviews for
34
40
8
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
New South Wales, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I am usually at the Dawson Motor Inn with 1 or 2 of my 4 children for sporting trips, swimming, cross country and athletics. It is central, always clean and the hosts are always helpful. We head down the road at night for dinner at "Fire in the Belly"...within walking distance which is great.

Room Tip: We always choose room 3....no road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mummytofour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

WOW..What a wonderful place, Peter & Garry are the best hosts that we have come across in a very long time, awesome guys, we got the Bed & Dinner package and the meal was amazing and so was the breakfast the next morning, when talking to Peter it was like we had known him for years, when staying in Lismore, stay at this motel, you won't regret it..thanks guys for a wonderful stay, shame we could only stay for the one night.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anne T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warners Bay, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

While the Dawson is an older type of motel the rooms are well maintained and clean. We were in Lismore for a junior cricket competition staying 5 nights. The manager of the motel, Stewart was fantastic making us most welcome when we arrived, explaining the available services and also offering to launder the boys whites every day free of charge. This was a great help to everyone.
We also had a room service meal from the available menu; as good as one would get from any resteruant in town!! Rooms are a little small but that is offset by the wonderful people at The Dawson... Would recommend and will certainly return when and if visiting Lismore again.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kenjm4150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Sadly the exotic site photographs belie a mediocre truth. Small room with 2 beds (one double) a table outside for smokers and late night chatters to accumulate. Washbasin not in bathroom. Artificial feeling blankets. Overpriced. Bland.

Room Tip: Not one with a table outside, as tempting as it might look.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mcgilla888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Lovely and clean, spacious room. The service was a delight and very generous. Close to many restaurants. Pool was refreshing. Best sleep I'd have for years. Great lounge set up. Bathroom and shower was roomy. Great value for money.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JuJu_8514
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We stayed at Dawson over New Year's and really enjoyed the hospitality of the hosts, Peter and Gary. Thanks to them, Dawson has a wonderful friendly personality, unlike other motels where we've stayed before. We really appreciate the New Year's Eve poolside BBQ that they put on for guests.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Derrick C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lismore hotels
0.6 mi away
Lismore Wilson Motel
Lismore Wilson Motel
#3 of 11 in Lismore
108 reviews
0.6 mi away
Lismore Gateway Motel & Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Comfort Inn Centrepoint
Comfort Inn Centrepoint
#11 of 11 in Lismore
62 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lismore City Motor Inn
Lismore City Motor Inn
#4 of 11 in Lismore
44 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lakeside Lodge Motel
Lakeside Lodge Motel
#10 of 11 in Lismore
49 reviews
0.3 mi away
AZA Motel
AZA Motel
#8 of 11 in Lismore
25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dawson Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dawson Motor Inn

Property: Dawson Motor Inn
Address: 25 Dawson St, Lismore, New South Wales 2480, Australia
Phone Number:
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Lismore
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 Hotels in Lismore
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Dawson Motor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stuart and Dianne,hosts of the Dawson Motor Inn are proud to have you stay with us.Our first-rate facilities and affordable accommodation will make your time in Lismore, be it business or leisure, relaxing and comfortable. The Dawson Motor Inn is Lismore's most popular motel and in a quiet location.Our 21 modern, clean, and all ground level units include Studio Rooms, Family Rooms and Executive Suites, all with off street parking right outside your room. All of our motel rooms have en-suite, reverse cycle air, dining table, writing desk, mini-bar, FREE wireless broadband and much more.With a refreshing salt-water pool & BBQ we'll make you feel right at home.FREE Fast Wi-Fi, FREE Guest Laundry, FREE use of BBQ at Pool, spotlessly clean, quiet at night, walk to CBD, home cooked Room Service Breakfast and Dinners. Voted 1 of 10 in Lismore.All of our units are 3.5 Star AAA rated, and we are situated on the edge of the CBD and only half an hour away from the beautiful beaches of Byron Bay and Ballina.Come and enjoy the natural beauty of the untouched Rainbow Region and pristine beaches of Byron Bay and Ballina. STUDIO ROOMAll rooms have a comfortable queen size bed, or queen and single bed, modern, dining table and chairs, writing desk and en-suite bathroom.Reverse cycle air conditioning, high-speed wireless internet access available FREE, Austar Pay TV (free), ISD/STD direct telephones. FREE Fast Wi-Fi, FREE Guest Laundry, FREE use of BBQ at Pool, spotlessly clean, quiet at night, walk to CBD, home cooked Room Service Breakfast and Dinners. Voted 1 of 10 in Lismore.In room mini bar, iron / board, toaster, hair dryer, tea / coffee, clock radio. Microwaves available.FAMILY ROOMFamily Rooms are very spacious rooms with separate lounge-room and bedroom, interconnecting bathroom, views to pool and palms. Dining table. 2 TV's. Queen- size bed in bedroom, single bed and a double pull-out sofa bed in lounge room, porta cot available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dawson Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing