We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Helpful staff gave good ideas about where to go”

Lismore Visitor Information Centre
Ranked #2 of 17 things to do in Lismore
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The award winning Lismore Visitor Information Centre is much more than a visitor centre - it's an experience! Our aim is to be a link between visitors and the rich source of environmental, cultural and economic resources in Lismore, Nimbin and surrounding villages. As Lismore is on the doorstep to Nightcap National Park, the centre features an indoor rainforest, designed to give visitors a taste of what they can experinece in the region. We have an Aboriginal Art Gallery, which provides local Northern Rivers Indigenous artists the opportunity to promote their artwork and offers visitors to Lismore an opportunity to learn about the area they are visiting through some of the local Aboriginal art. We have a large retail section specialising in unique, locally made arts, crafts and produce. There is an array of sumptuous gift baskets which you can buy pre-made or have one made-to-order. The Lismore Visitor Information Centre is Open 7 days a week from 9.30am to 4pm.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
306 reviews
176 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Helpful staff gave good ideas about where to go”
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Being new to Lismore we had no idea of what to see and do, we were given brochures and maps and friendle advice.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Whitehavengirl43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LismoreTourism, Manager at Lismore Visitor Information Centre, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Dear Whitehavengirl43, Thank you for your kind review of Lismore Visitor Information Centre. We hope that you enjoyed your visit to Lismore. If you return please come and visit us again, we have now opened our indoor rainforest walk, Aboriginal Gallery and have installed some interpretive panels full of our fascinating local history.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    35
    23
    5
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Byron Bay, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Help when you need it”
Reviewed 6 August 2012

When first thinking of moving to Lismore went to the Information centre and found it to be a wealth of knowledge and genuine caring helpfulness.

Helpful?
1 Thank Debra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LismoreTourism, Manager at Lismore Visitor Information Centre, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Dear Debra L,
Thank you for your lovely review of Lismore Visitor Information Centre. We pride ourselves on maintaining extensive local information and excellent customer service. Hopefully you did choose to settle in the Northern Rivers and are reaping the benefits of living in such a beautiful region.
Please call in and see us again soon, we have now reopened the indoor rainforest walk and Aboriginal Gallery. We have also installed some beautiful interpretive panels detailing our colourful history.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Australia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Good centre, good location!”
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Was unfortunately closed when I arrived, but good information posted for visitors like me who attended after opening hours.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Geremiahc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LismoreTourism, Manager at Lismore Visitor Information Centre, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Dear Geremiahc,
Thank you for your review of Lismore Visitor Information Centre. Its is a shame we were closed when you came by. We are open every day except Christmas Day from 9.30am until 4pm, unless there are extenuating cirumstances.
We also provide a wealth of knowledge on our website at www.visitlismore.com.au .
Hopefully you will visit us again one day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Terrigal
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great service”
Reviewed 6 January 2012

The ladies on the phone was so helpful in finding us accommodation with great attitude and professionalism. An asset for Lismore

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Terrigalboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LismoreTourism, Manager at Lismore Visitor Information Centre, responded to this review, 22 February 2013
Dear Terrigalboys,
Thank you for your lovely review of the Lismore Visitor Information Centre. It is a pleasure to give the best service that we can and receive positive feedback for it.
If you visit Lismore again drop in and say hi. We have recently renovated and completed the Aborginal Gallery, Indoor Rainforest Walk and interpretive panels. There is also a wealth of local information on our new website at www.visitlismore.com.au .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lismore, Australia
Level Contributor
153 reviews
51 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Great local products”
Reviewed 27 December 2011

The staff are friendly, and when the rainforest walk is complete, it will be perfect.

Helpful?
1 Thank Ozziegiraffe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lismore Visitor Information Centre also viewed

 
Lismore, New South Wales
Lismore, New South Wales
 

Been to Lismore Visitor Information Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing