We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run Down”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Medina Serviced Apartments North Ryde
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in North Ryde
Kuala Lumpur
Level Contributor
60 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Run Down”
Reviewed 21 February 2013

The environment is poorly lit and very gloomy for a family stay. The inside has some sort of 3 level - as we enter is the kitchenette, go in further passing the dining and walk down 2 stairs to the living. Walking upstairs is the master with attached bath and the 2nd room and a separate bath. They charge for everything - even dishwashing even when we did not request for it to be done. Poor maintenance. I got locked out my apartment twice and the maintenance guys mentioned that the building is about 20 years and door knbs need to be changed. I thereafter got locked in my room and could not come out.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LizzLind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMQRMGR, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments North Ryde, responded to this review, 4 March 2013
Dear Lizzlind,

Thank you for staying with us at Medina Serviced Apartments North Ryde and for leaving your comments and your photos of the property.
I am sorry to hear that you the property failed to meet your expectations in your recent stay with us.
In regards to the property surrounds, as you know the apartments are surrounded by the landscape gardens, which is one of the many features of the property – but of course it may not be to everyone’s liking as some do prefer apartments which are located in just one building rather than a townhouse complex.
I am also sorry to hear that you were locked in and out of your apartment. As my maintenance team member mentioned, the property has been established in 1992, however there is regular and preventative maintenance conducted daily and the property also underwent a refurbishment last year. The door locks were not an item that was replaced, however they are changed should they require it to be.
Lizzlind, thank you again for feedback regarding your visit, and we do wish that you return to Medina Serviced Apartments should you be traveling to the North Ryde / Macquarie Park area.

Warmest regards,
David Mills
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

580 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    72
    179
    150
    98
    81
See reviews for
322
41
17
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2013

We recently stayed at the Medina North Ryde for 3 nights and had a wonderful time (Apartment 28). Since we are a family of 6 (2 adults and 4 children) we had a two bedroom apartment. We found the apartment clean, modern, new and comfortable with plenty of room for us all. The main bedroom upstairs was spacious with a lovely new bathroom while my eldest two children shared the twin bedroom upstairs with adjoining bathroom. The two youngest girls (aged 5 and 4 shared the sofa bed down stairs). The kitchen was fully equiped, the linen clean and fresh and the apartment was fully air conditioned. The beds were also very comfortable. We used the laundry to wash and dry our clothes and it also has an iron to iron shirts etc. The main bathroom has a good working hair dryer and each day our towels were renewed. The highlight for my children was using the lovely pool and spa a few doors down from our room. We found the room great value for money as I had researched 5 other places for us to stay, certainly not expensive. Staff was friendly and very helpful, will def come back again when we visit Sydney.
Regards the Jena family

Room Tip: We stayed in a 2 bedroom apartment on the lower side of the resort, very close to the pool. We found...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leoni1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMQRMGR, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments North Ryde, responded to this review, 29 January 2013
Dear Leoni1972,

Thank you for staying with us at Medina Serviced Apartments North Ryde, and for leaving your valuable comments.
The team and I are thrilled to read that you enjoyed your stay with us!
The townhouse apartments certainly have enough space to cater for families with all the facilities available not only in the apartment, but also within the complex (which the family enjoyed!).
Leoni1972, thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Medina Service Apartments North Ryde, during your next visit to Sydney.

Best regards,
David Mills
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle
1 review
Reviewed 29 November 2012

The one bedroom units are spacious with a courtyard and all the amenities. Lovely area: quiet, leafy and lots of birdlife. Bathrooms are cramped, old and mouldy and don't have hair dryers. Spa doesn't work (noisy) and both pool and spa could be better maintained. Good for a one-night business trip.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Helpful?
Thank Sharn-tey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMQRMGR, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments North Ryde, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Dear Sharn-tey R,

Thank you for staying with us at Medina Serviced Apartments, and for leaving your comments regarding your recent visit
I am pleased to read that you enjoy the property surrounds, as its setting is very popular being quite ‘green’ and quiet as the property backs onto Lane Cove National Park.
Thank you for also providing feedback regarding the bathrooms, and I am sorry that they did not meet your expectations.
I am surprised you found them cramped without hairdryers, as all the apartments do come with wall mounted hair dryers and feedback previously received is that the bathrooms are quite spacious. Nevertheless, I will have our housekeeping conduct an audit on the bathrooms and review the cleanliness and facilities we offer.
Sharn-tey R, thank you again for staying with us at Medina Serviced Apartments North Ryde, and we look forward to welcoming you back to the property on your next business trip to the Macquarie Business Park.

Warm regards,
David Mills
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
728 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 229 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2012

This apartment is good for family and business alike. Rooms are spacious and well equipped. There is kitchen provided. Location also near to Macquarrie shopping centre and station. Only downside is wifi is not complimentary.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Erico2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMQRMGR, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments North Ryde, responded to this review, 25 November 2012
Dear Erico2709,

Thank you staying with us at Medina Executive North Ryde, and for leaving your valuable comments.

I am pleased to see that you enjoyed your stay us and enjoyed the facilities, apartment space and location that we have on offer!

Thank you for also providing the feedback regarding the internet service. Unfortunately this service is provided through a third party, therefore we are unable to stipulate the pricing on the service. You would be pleased to know that discounts are offered through internet packages for extended long stays, or alternatively, Travelodge Macquarie North Ryde, located at 81 Talavera Road has an internet kiosk available in the lobby for public use.

Erico2709, thank you again for your comments, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Medina Executive North Ryde in the future.

Best regards,
David Mills
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2012

My twins, partner and I stayed here on 15 and 16 November 2012, checking out on 17 November 2012.

Despite some average reviews on this website, i must say i was impressed. I was toying between giving it a 3 or 4 rating. However, i think a rating of 4 is justified.

We stayed in a 2-bedroom, split level apartment (Unit 14). For our purpose, it had everything we needed to make our trip to Sydney comfortable.

Pros:

* Not too far from the CBD at all - 30 mins with traffic, and about 10 mins without (by car). I can't comment on the public transport, as i did not use it. However Macquarie University is literally just up the road, so i'm guessing public transport would be very good.

* loved the fact the apartment was split into kitchen/lounge downstairs, and bedrooms/bathrooms upstairs. We asked for 2 cots to be provided (only cost $5 each to rent, which was very cheap compared to some places we've stayed at) and put them in one of the upstairs bedrooms. So we found we could easily put the twins down for naps/sleep upstairs, and not worry about waking them with noise from the tv or kitchen downstairs.

* furniture basic but modern. TVs were LCD and worked without any problems - provided in both the lounge and main bedroom areas.

* we had an ensuite bathroom.

* quiet surrounding streets - no noisy roads to keep you awake at night.

* very close to Macquarie Shopping Centre (with its ice skate rink) and Top Ryde shopping centre (which i personally preferred). Easy access to a variety of shops.

* local restaurants close by (literally a 5 minute drive away) - we went to 11 Talavera Rd, Ryde where they had a selection of different restaurants and cuisines. Try Ribs and Rumps (i think that's what it was called)... great food. Family friendly.

* apartment kitchen was quite good. The usual microwave, stove top, oven, cutlery, glasses etc. Appeared quite clean upon our arrival.

Cons:

* some towels had stains on them, despite having being washed (time for upgrade i think)

* the bathrooms could have been better cleaned. We had a young girl who came to the door with towels on our first morning; i told her we were about to leave, and that we'd be out of her way very shortly. She said she was only going to change the towels today. She did not clean the apartment, her reasoning being, that, as we were staying there another night, a proper (she called it, "full") clean was not required?....quite poor house keeping service in my opinion.

* there was a lovely personal courtyard to the apartment. However, it has leaves everywhere, and needed a good tidy. A table and chair (cheaply bought even from Ikea) would make it possible for visitors to enjoy it on warm nights when staying in. With the way it's set up currently however, its a wasted space completely. It exists, but one cannot make any real use of it....

* balcony "security door" had wheels which weren't working properly, and i doubt very much it would be an effective security door to would-be thieves.

* my biggest grip would be the carpet in the lounge area. It's in need of a DESPERATE clean. Upon arrival i put my twins on the carpet in front of the tv while i unpacked our belongings. Within a matter of minutes, my sons legs were black, and my daughters white tights were grey. A very dirty carpet (my main reason for not giving this establishment a 5 rating).

* my partner used the ensuite (i used the main bathroom) so i can only comment on that room with what he told me. He found that that the ensuite looked dated and was somewhat cramped for him. Not much room for your personal belongings at all. I agree that the main bathroom too looked dated. But as we were there really only the 2 days, i think it suited our purposes quite well. My partner also found the shower head in the ensuite too low.

Overall however, i enjoyed this apartment very much. In my personal experience, it is the most comfortable apartment we've stayed at. Initially i was annoyed that we weren't staying in a CBD apartment. However, as we had the car, it posed no problem at all, and we had the best of both worlds - close enough to the city when we wanted to go there, and yet the cheaper rates made it attractive to stay slightly out of town. Would definitely recommend to people as an option when traveling to Sydney, and they need something more convenient than just a hotel room. House keeping and carpet need to be looked at though.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Savy_Sydney_Lily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMQRMGR, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments North Ryde, responded to this review, 25 November 2012
Dear Savy_Sydney_Lily,

Thank you staying with us at Medina Executive North Ryde, and for leaving your valuable comments.
I am pleased that to see that overall your enjoyed the space, comfort and price that we have on offer – ‘the most comfortable apartment we’ve stayed in’ – WOW, what an honour! As you mentioned, it certainly is more economical for those who want the space of an apartment, without the city prices – also keeping in mind that there is a bus stop right in front of the hotel that stops right in the heart of Sydney City!
Thank you for also providing the areas on which we can improve on, this information certainly helps us improve the product and services we offer our guests.
You would be pleased to know that we are currently in the process of arranging brand new courtyard furniture! The order is in production, and we hope for it to arrive early in the new year.
As for the apartment inconsistencies, thank you for bringing these to our attention as I have also raised these items with the relevant departments to ensure a higher standard is delivered to our future guests.
Savy_Sydney_Lily, thank you again for your comments as we look forward to welcoming you back to Medina Executive North Ryde on your next visit to Sydney.

Best regards,
David Mills
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 5 November 2012

There was no reference to having the main bathroom locked and unavailable for our stay. We only had access to the onsuite. To have a bath using the main bathroom would cost an extra $20 per night. Very poor. No downstairs toilet at all. When friends arrived they had to go through our bedroom to access a toilet.
Apart from this the appartment was tidy and well kept. Entertainment system both upstairs and in lounge room. The utensils were more than adequate.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Quickbeds

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMQRMGR, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments North Ryde, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us at Medina Executive North Ryde, and for leaving your comments.
Unfortunately we do sell our one bedroom apartments based on one bedroom and one bathroom set up, however please note that we are reviewing the configuration of the one bedroom apartments, and grant access to the main bathroom only, simply for that very reason you mention.
I am also pleased to read that you found the apartment well equipped, as it is very important that guests find the apartments as comfortable and homely as possible, because at Medina, we like to offer ‘A Home away from home’.
Thank you again for your comments, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Medina Executive North Ryde.

Best regards,
David Mills
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 31 October 2012

We stayed in a two bed apartment as a family of five. Would never again. First impressions...Outside building looked neglected with timber beams on verandah rotting. Inside nice sofa and flat screen tv, pity sbout crap reception. Old worn kitchen, cracks on walls, doors battered, mould in bathroom, toothpaste splattered on tiles, master bed had two single doonas on a kingsize bed. Beds were so uncomfortable, even when we managed to get to sleep there was aircraft noise. Stairs were extremely hazardous, hand rail moved and had huge gap between rails. Our children ended up bunking in with us as we were worried about the stairs. Courtyard was overgrown, definately not child safe as it dropped off at the back 2 metres down onto concrete driveway. Finally to top it off we were charged with prior acknowledgement $150 on our credit card to cover damages, then told it takes up to 21 days to be refunded for this. We've travelled a bit and this is far from four star. For a little more wish we had chose a five star luxury hotel in the city.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bradshell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMQRMGR, Manager at Medina Serviced Apartments North Ryde, responded to this review, 8 November 2012
Dear Bradshell,

Thank you for staying with us at Medina Executive North Ryde, and for leaving your comments regarding your visit.
I am sorry to hear that the property has failed to meet your expectations, and also surprised by some of your comments as the property has only received a refurbishment under one year ago, which included items such as new kitchen, new beds, soft furnishing throughout the apartments as well as paint work.
In regards to the $150.00, unfortunately this is hotel policy, much like all other hotels where a security bond is required upon check-in, and either processed as a pre-authorisation to a credit card, which essentially holds these funds for a period of time (time varies depending on each financial institution) or via a cash deposit. Please accept my sincere apology if this was not explained to you upon check-in clearly.
Bradshell; thank you again for your comments, as it will certainly assist us in improving our product and service for our future guests.

Best regards,
David Mills
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these North Ryde hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Ryde
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#98 of 178 in Sydney
4,784 reviews
Adina Apartment Hotel Norwest
#1 of 2 in Baulkham Hills
773 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Darlinghurst
Vibe Hotel Rushcutters Bay Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Medina Serviced Apartments North Ryde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Medina Serviced Apartments North Ryde

Property: Medina Serviced Apartments North Ryde
Address: 2 - 12 Busaco Rd, North Ryde, Ryde, New South Wales 2113, Australia (Formerly Medina Executive North Ryde)
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Ryde > North Ryde
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 6 Hotels in North Ryde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Medina Serviced Apartments North Ryde 4*
Number of rooms: 57
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Toga Hotels, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Medina Serviced Apartments North Ryde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing