We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Handy location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Travelodge Hotel Macquarie North Ryde

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge Hotel Macquarie North Ryde
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in North Ryde
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Handy location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2012

I stayed here in December, it was 20 mins from my work place which was against the traffic flow in North Sydney. The hotel is handily located in the grounds of the university, which has a nice park for walking or jogging and the university has a pool although it can be crowded with swim squads.

There is a large mall nearby with lots of cheap eateries and it is handy to the m2 (freeway) and not too far from the CBD outside peak hour traffic. Not sure about public transport as I had a rental.

The room was average size and in reasonable condition, although my room was above the restaurant area and when the windows were open (I like fresh air) people talking below could be heard. The buffet breakfast at $18 was OK.

All in all I would stay again.

Room Tip: ask for level 3 away from restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMQRMGR, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Macquarie North Ryde, responded to this review, 1 January 2013
Dear Paul C,

Thank you for staying with us at Travelodge Macquarie and for leaving your comments.
I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and please note that for your next visit, we are only a 5 minute walk to Macquarie University Train station which has a direct line to North Sydney (should you which to use public transport, rather than hiring a car!)
Paul C, thank you again for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Macquarie.

Warm regards,
David Mills
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

873 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    354
    226
    81
    33
See reviews for
206
151
111
362
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Canberra Aust
Level Contributor
41 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012

You really cannot beat the Travelodge for location as it is situated on the edge of the Macquarie University campus and is right next door to the hospital. Rooms are a little on the small side and are rather plainly furnished but they have everything you need and ours included a small kitchenette. Staff are cheerful and very helpful. While the property is not best located for city sightseeing its proximity to the bus and rail interchanges at the nearby Macquarie Centre shopping mall make the occasional trip into the city fairly straightforward.

Room Tip: Choose a room on one of the upper floors for privacy as a busy footpath runs right by the ground flo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ROHCanberraAust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMQRMGR, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Macquarie North Ryde, responded to this review, 4 December 2012
Dear ROHCanberraAust,

Thank you for staying with us at Travelodge Macquarie and for providing your comments regarding your stay with us.
As you had mentioned in your review, the property we well positioned for those requiring accommodation near Macquarie University and we are only just a 5 minute walk from the bus interchange, and Macquarie University Train Station!
I am also pleased to read that you found the team cheerful and helpful, and I will certainly pass these comments onto the team.
ROHCanberraAust, thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Macquarie North Ryde.

Best regards,
David Mills
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2012

Travelodge Macquarie North Ryde is a simple hotel that is value for money. It has basic facilities and is neat and very clean. It does not pretend to be anything else and the tariff they charge is reasonable. One thing, they have an ice machine in the lobby for guests but no ice buckets in the rooms. An oversight that should be rectified.

Room Tip: Bring an ice bucket if you like your drinks cold.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Francis T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMQRMGR, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Macquarie North Ryde, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Dear Francis T,

Thank you for staying with us at Travelodge Macquarie and for leaving your comments regarding your stay!
I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that we meet your expectations!
As you had mentioned, we unfortunately do not provide ice buckets in our rooms, as we do not have a full minibar facilities available at the hotel, however we do have a fridge available in your room should you wish to cool your own beverage.
Franic T, thank you again for your comment and we look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Macquarie during your next visit to North Ryde.

Warm regards,
David Mills
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

Perfect location if you've got someone in the hospital, (it's literally 100 mtrs away & well lit). Travelodge gives a discount if you have someone in the hospital so let them know.

24hour front desk so we were able to access the hotel carpark at 6:00am head over to the hospital & do all the arrangements there & then check in later that afternoon.

Sitting outside the restaurant under cover after dinner, it was a friendly group of people with partners in the hospital or business people staying close to all the corporate offices in the area.
After the 'stress' of the hospital it was a quiet place to unwind with others in the same situation.

We weren't too sure after reading some of the reviews here what to expect.. We were pleasantly surprised, the room was spotlessly clean, staff were friendly & the restaurant was happy to change around the menu to suit us & deliver to our room.

Room Tip: Ask for a room upstairs at the back away from reception and the road , and away from the undercover...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jai L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMQRMGR, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Macquarie North Ryde, responded to this review, 3 December 2012
Dear Jai L,

Thank you for staying with us at Travelodge Macquarie!
I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us, in particular the location and close proximity to the hospital, our friendly service and also the friendly atmosphere of our other hotel patrons.
Jai L, thank you again for your comments, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Macquarie North Ryde.

Warm regards,
David Mills
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2012

Clean and tidy, though the bathroom is showing its age and could do with a spruce up. I found it a little noisy after being woken up when the guest in the next room had a late night shower. The instructions given to find the nearby restaurant weren't the best, but after asking a couple of people on the way we managed to find it (and after collecting a few other lost people on the way).

It was the perfect location for my business trip, and overall comfortable with good internet access ($20 for 24 hours). The courtesy shuttle which dropped me directly to the office saving me a 10 minute walk in high heels was a big plus!. I'll be back again.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMQRMGR, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Macquarie North Ryde, responded to this review, 25 November 2012
Dear Stephanie H,

Thank you for staying with us at Travelodge Macquarie North Ryde, and for leaving your comments regarding your recent stay!

Thank you for your comments regarding the bathrooms, and you would be pleased to know that they are currently being reviewed for a possible bathroom refurbishment – so watch this space!!

I am also pleased to hear that you enjoyed the location and the morning shuttle service that we have on offer. The hotel is perfectly positioned for those who work within the local business park, attending Macquarie University OR need accommodation to visit family and friends at Macquarie University Hospital!

Stephanie H, we look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Macquarie North Ryde when you next require accommodation for your business travel.

Best regards,
David Mills
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
71 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

Personally, I find the Hotel comfortable. I was there for seven nights, therefore having a microwave oven, a little pantry, iron and ironing board inside the room helped a lot. You can either do your own laundry on ground floor, or opt to have your laundry picked up daily. For those with family members undergoing treatment at the Macquarie University Hospital, this is the most convenient place to stay. The Macquarie Mall and Macquarie University Train Station is a short walk away.

In short, I would return to the Travelodge.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMQRMGR, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Macquarie North Ryde, responded to this review, 21 October 2012
Dear John S,

Thank you for staying with us at Travelodge Macquarie North Ryde, and for providing your comments.
I am pleased to read that you found our rooms comfortable for your week’s stay, and as you mentioned, we are very conveniently located next to Macquarie University Hospital, and the train station.
John S, thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Macquarie North Ryde.

Warm regards,
David Mills
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelson
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2012

Swipe card for parking never worked and no signage from carparking area as to where to enter hotel.

Had the do not service sign on door but they still serviced the room. Another day had the do not launder towels sign out but returned to find they had been replaced.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Navlys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TMQRMGR, Manager at Travelodge Hotel Macquarie North Ryde, responded to this review, 21 October 2012
Dear Navlys,

Thank you for staying with us at Travelodge Macquarie North Ryde, and for leaving your feedback regarding your visit.
I am surprised to read that you did not see the signage on how to enter the hotel from the car park, as there is a sign that directs our guest to the hotel reception. I have noted your comments and explore further signage options to avoid any future confusion.

Thank for you for also providing your comments regarding the housekeeping service, and I am sorry to hear that the team failed to follow your servicing instructions, during your visit. I have arranged further training with the housekeeping team, to ensure they understand the different services that we offer and provide to our guests.

Navlys, thank you again for your comments, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Travelodge Macquarie North Ryde.

Warm regards,
David Mills
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Ryde
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
Travelodge Hotel Sydney
#95 of 179 in Sydney
3.5 of 5 bubbles 4,482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Central Business District
Travelodge Hotel Sydney Wynyard
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Hotel Macquarie North Ryde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Hotel Macquarie North Ryde

Property: Travelodge Hotel Macquarie North Ryde
Address: Travelodge 81 Talavera Rd, North Ryde, Ryde, New South Wales 2113, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Ryde > North Ryde
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in North Ryde
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Travelodge Hotel Macquarie North Ryde 3.5*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Travelodge Hotel Macquarie North Ryde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Macquarie North Ryde Hotel North Ryde
Travelodge North Ryde
Travel Lodge North Ryde
North Ryde Travel Lodge
North Ryde Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing