We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice room but bathroom poorly designed & breakfast service poor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Sydney-North Ryde
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in North Ryde
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 August 2013

I have mixed reviews about this hotel. We stayed here for 2 nights and the manager on check-in was great as there weren't any visible parking spots and he came outside to remove a bollard so we could park. Parking was also free for both nights. We had a corner room on the 7th floor on the opposite side to the main road so there was no road noise. However, the service at breakfast on the Saturday morning was very bad. Firstly, we were told to take a seat near the bar while they found us a table - there appeared to be several long tables set up which they were reluctant to split for some reason. Then we were offered a table outside! I declined this as it was 7.30am and freezing outside. The buffet breakfast was poor - everything was cold so I don't think their bain maries were working. However, we had breakfast on the Sunday morning and the food was so much better, along with the service. We also had dinner at the same restaurant as part of a group on the Saturday night and the food was great. In regard to the room, the bed was comfortable and the room very clean but the bathroom was extremely poorly designed. The doors opened on to eachother and if you were a large person (thank god I'm not) you may have struggled to use the toilet. Maybe it was just the design of our corner room but it was very frustrating and 2 people couldn't use the bathroom at the same time. Overall, there were good and not so great aspects of this hotel but as it was close to a conference at the MGSM, it was just a short drive down the road which was convenient.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on a higher floor on the opposite side to the main road, away from the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stormchaser71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (615)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

420 - 426 of 616 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2013 via mobile

Good location for me because its close to work but other then that its not up there with the best hotels in Sydney. Rooms and overall decor need updating, breakfast is overpriced and pillows are rock hard. Not my favourite Courtyard Marriott, many others are much nicer.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nancyness33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudhir Y, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Sydney-North Ryde, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2013

Dear Guest
Thank you very much for sharing your experiences regarding your recent stay at the Courtyard by Marriott North Ryde.
After reading your feedback I would like to take the opportunity to offer my most sincere apologies for the disappointing experience you encountered. We strive to ensure the complete comfort and satisfaction of all our guests, and pride ourselves of our high standards of service and attention to detail. It is always our purpose to ensure that every guest receives the true “Marriott” experience and I am sorry that on this occasion your expectations were not met.
I am extremely sorry for the experience you had with our room and pillows, I completely understand that this is far from convenient and very pleased you brought this matter to my attention. I have taken the liberty to share your comments with our General Manager, who I shall work with, to ensure all the necessary actions are implemented to rectify any defects with our rooms, paying close attention to comfort of bedding.
It is only through such feedback that we are able to improve the services and facilities we provide. I do thank you again for your feedback as Marriott does appreciate all of our guests’ valuable feedback as it is essential to us and I am really looking forward hopefully welcoming you back.
With warm regards from Sydney,
Sudhir Yadav

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 July 2013

This was our second stay within a month. While the rooms are clean and comparable to many good hotels, the friendliness and attentiveness of staff makes a big difference to the feel of a hotel. To be greeted upon arrival with a smile and instant attention sets the mood for a good stay. The staff in the restaurant were extremely polite and helpful too. The King bed suites are very comfortable and clean. The hotel is close to transport, parking is good ( although we have only stayed on weekends outside the surrounding business park's office hours) and it has convenient access to restaurants and shops, with a railway station and Macquarie Shopping Centre very close by. Driving there for the first time is a little tricky as it is tucked away in the business park and the signage at the entrance to the park is small. I would advise to telephone beforehand and get handy hints for finding the hotel by car. Overall, for a good comfortable, hassle free stay in a central location in Sydney, the Courtyard by Marriott cannot be faulted.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
Thank Blacken2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Stayed in Courtyard by Marriott in N. Ryde, twice in one month.
Staff treated us amazingly well. Some of the best customer service I have ever had.
The lobby is not very impressive.
The rooms are clean, comfortable and tidy. And i personally like the beds a lot, i had very nice sleep.
It's 20mins walk to a big shopping mall ( Macquiry shopping centre).
Close to local train, 30 min ride downtown.
If you got your own car, they charge $12 for parking each night.
Overall Very nice n clean hotel, close to your travel needs.
Only thing i feel need change is uniform of the staff at reception.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paraskalra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudhir Y, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Sydney-North Ryde, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for staying with us twice in one month only. We truly appreciate the business of our guests and loyalty they show towards Marriott brand.

I will share your experiences with our entire team for the great customer service they have offered.

I would also take this opportunity to inform that we are in the process of changing uniforms for all our associates and hopefully when you would stay with us next time you would see us in different colors.

Look forward to welcome you back

Regards

Sudhir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

It's no surprise the Courtyard strives to deliver value for the business traveler. Marriott Courtyard North Ryde in Sydney's suburb is perfectly located for anyone traveling on business. The Courtyard could use an on site ATM for convenience of its patrons, but it makes up for that with direct access to main line subway connections to get anywhere you want to go around Sydney. MacQuarie Park station is just up the street and can take you directly to / from Sydney Kingsford airport. It's also in a business district and near the University, so plenty of good places to eat outside the hotel.

Room Tip: High floor rooms are best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cw_333badcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2013

We have family who live in Roseville and tried the "Courtyard" as a change from others in the Chatswood area. It was an overnight stay at a weekend and we had the b/f and parking special, which was great value. The place is in good condition, very roomy and appropriately equipped.
On a Saturday night the nearby (walking distance) eating establishments were booked out so we dined in. All good, indeed better than we had anticipated.
Breakfast is standard fare; I was good and enjoyed the fresh fruit and bircher muesli.
All in all we were happy to have stayed here and could well come again.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DarcyJA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2013

This is now my choice when staying in Sydney - it's located perfectly in the "centre" of the suburbs. Rooms are spacious. Free internet. Breakfast is also great - with a large range of fresh produce.

The reception staff are really friendly. They also recommend the local thai and the local malaysian cafes - both just across the road and both really good.

(Gym needs a spruce up as some equipment "squeaks" and "squels" but there is enough equipment.)

Room Tip: All rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aussienando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sudhir Y, Front Office Manager at Courtyard Sydney-North Ryde, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2013

Dear Guest

Thank you for making us your choice of hotel in Sydney. We truly appreciate the business of our guests and loyalty they show towards Marriott brand.

I will share your comments with our reception team regarding the customer services and recommendation of restaurants.

I would also take this opportunity to inform that we are in the process of planning the renovations of our Gym where we do plan to make it more spacious and change all cardio equipments.

It is only through such feedback we can improve the services and facilities we provide. Look forward to welcome you back

Warm Regards

Sudhir

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near North Ryde
1.2 mi away
Quest North Ryde
Quest North Ryde
#2 of 6 in North Ryde
1,085 reviews
0.7 mi away
Meriton Suites North Ryde
0.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Sydney Macquarie Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1 mi away
Travelodge Hotel Macquarie North Ryde
3.1 mi away
Meriton Suites Chatswood
1.7 mi away
Medina Serviced Apartments North Ryde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Sydney-North Ryde? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Sydney-North Ryde

Address: 7-11 Talavera Rd, North Ryde, Ryde, New South Wales 2113, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Ryde > North Ryde
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in North Ryde
Price Range: £107 - £243 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Courtyard Sydney-North Ryde 4*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Courtyard Sydney-North Ryde boasts an unbeatable location within Macquarie Business Park. Book your stay for business or pleasure and enjoy our hotel's winning blend of convenience, value and service. You'll find Macquarie University, ANZ Stadium, Allphones Arena and other attractions within prime proximity to our hotel. Recharge using our fitness facilities, utilize our full-service business centre or unwind with a meal and cocktail at Orchards Restaurant. Plus, our array of eight versatile meeting rooms and talented staff promise to execute your event in style. Book your stay at one of the best-appointed North Ryde hotels today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Courtyard Sydney-North Ryde reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Sydney -North Ryde Hotel North Ryde
Courtyard North Ryde
North Ryde Courtyard
Courtyard Sydney North Ryde

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing