We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Heritage charm in a very handy location” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel
Ranked #1 of 10 Randwick B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
115 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Heritage charm in a very handy location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014 via mobile

Needing a Randwick location (to attend an event at the University of NSW) we booked this place due to its heritage character. The building itself is very grand, with good sized rooms and helpful staff. However we were also very impressed with the location, right opposite a beautiful park with magnificent trees that really enhance the surrounding heritage properties. Not being familiar with this area, we were amazed to find excellent cafes and restaurants nearby in Alison and Belmore Roads, as well as the fantastic cluster of stylish eateries near the Ritz Cinema in a district called 'The Spot' , just 15 minutes walk away. Transport options are plentiful and easy to use. Buses to Circular Quay, Coogee Beach and Bondi Junction are available just around the corner from the hotel. Its also just 15 minutes by taxi from the Airport. Now that we know how comfortable, convenient and interesting this place is, we will be keen to stay here again next time we are in Sydney.

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George C, General Manager at Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate all feedback, both positive and negative, and endeavor to improve our service to you based on your comments. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    63
    25
    8
    6
See reviews for
34
81
8
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mallala, South Australia, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

I booked a 2 bedroom room for the 1 night as we were coming over from South Australia for the yearling sales.We found our room clean,spacious and quiet.There are no meals or drinks here so nearby there are more than enough shops of all varieties to satisfy most people as well as a very good pub less than a 5 minute walk.The hotel is a very beautiful old building that sits across from a large spacious park.The gentleman at the reception who I can't remember his name was extremely helpful with all our needs.A very pleasant and relaxing stay.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Brenda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George C, General Manager at Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate all feedback, both positive and negative, and endeavor to improve our service to you based on your comments. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2014 via mobile

I am not sure our room did this place any favours...the family room near reception was very noisy. The room was comfortable, functional and spacious. Reception service on the weekend was a little odd...the guy gave the impression he was just minding the shop. Location was good for us...close to UNSW for visiting daughter. No real complaints...just nothing special.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George C, General Manager at Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate all feedback, both positive and negative, and endeavor to improve our service to you based on your comments. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Easy to get to by bus or by car. On a quiet avenue. Hotel from outside looks lovely. The room we had was nice, small but quite adequate. Very quiet which was great as just off the plane from the UK and needed to sleep. Owner allowed early check in and he was quite friendly. Bed comfortable and room clean. Would recommend

Room Tip: We had a room (7) at the back on ground floor. No traffic noises, no sounds from other guests - gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FionaHDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George C, General Manager at Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate all feedback, both positive and negative, and endeavor to improve our service to you based on your comments. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wagga Wagga, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

Needing to visit Randwick Children's hospital with our seven year old, (nothing serious) we needed somewhere close and affordable.
I found Avonmore on the net, it reviewed well, looked appealing and fulfilled all our needs before we had even arrived.
Arriving and having George (owner/manager) meet us at the back door (parking) we were made feel very welcome. From maps to suggestions for meals, to parking our car, George did it all. His level of service was impeccable. The units are turn of the century terraces of a very high standard, incredibly quiet and very convenient to the hospital (10 min walk), the local shopping strip and public transport into the city. A park with playground is conveniently across the road. I can't recommend Avonmore highly enough.

Room Tip: The rooms at the front of motel would offer pleasant park views. All rooms would be very quiet given...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George C, General Manager at Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate all feedback, both positive and negative, and endeavor to improve our service to you based on your comments. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra
Level Contributor
35 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

We stayed in the Avonmore in difficult circumstances, needing an Eastern Suburbs hotel for myself and my mature-aged parents for a funeral. The Avonmore was a great find - the owner was assidious in assisting with the booking, ensconcing my parents, who have limited mobility, in the heritage suite on the ground floor, and my partner and I nearby. My parents room was perfect, airy and spacious with a comfortable sitting area we could all use to chat, and real lovely character. While at the front, the house layout made it very quiet in the sleeping area. Our room was quiet and spacious, in the modern area at the back, with a very large bathroom and all the mod cons you'd expect. The nature of the renovation means the rooms layout is not standard hotel-room suite, and this adds character. Service was just what we needed in the circumstances - helpful with everything from parking to paying, without being obtrusive in the slightest.
Definitely splurge on the more expensive heritage rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cassie77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George C, General Manager at Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate all feedback, both positive and negative, and endeavor to improve our service to you based on your comments. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

Trip to Australia to see our son who is in this part of Sydney. It doesn't appear to be well provided with good hotels or apartments but this fitted the bill perfectly. It's two/three old colonial houses on a quiet avenue merged into a very comfortable guest house/hotel. Our room on the top floor was just what we needed, comfortable, spacious and well equipped. George, the manager of the hotel, was friendly and helpful and always open to dealing with any minor queries we had. The situation of the hotel is ideal, too, about 100 yds to the nearest bus stop that will get you into the centre of Sydney in no time at all, lots of shops and eating places within 200 yds, and the beach at Coogee a lovely half hour's walk away (get bus for the return; it's all uphill!). Also, the airport is around15 mins by car or cab so what's not to like? Would re-book here for our next visit automatically. Much recommended.

Room Tip: Room 29, so long as you don't mind stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Murrayfield-on-tour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
George C, General Manager at Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel, responded to this review, 5 August 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We appreciate all feedback, both positive and negative, and endeavor to improve our service to you based on your comments. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Randwick
Royal Hotel at Randwick
#7 of 14 in Randwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 129 reviews
Coogee
Coogee Sands Hotel & Apartments
Coogee
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Coogee
Crowne Plaza Hotel Coogee Beach - Sydney
Randwick Central Suites
#4 of 14 in Randwick
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel

Property: Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel
Address: 34 The Avenue, Randwick, New South Wales 2031, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Randwick
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel comprises 30 rooms and suites. 23 Elegant rooms (including two with disabled amenities), offering private bathroom facilities, LCD HD television, kitchenette, ceiling fan and heating. In addition, our newly renovated north wing now offers 7 fully air conditioned queen & king bed suites. These rooms also feature a private bathroom, work desk, flat screen tv and a host of modern comforts. Reception is open 24 hours on Fridays & Saturdays and from 7am to 11pm all other days offering taxi bookings, local maps, directions and general information. FREE Wireless internet connection, limited convenience items (drinks, chips, nuts) and fax facilities are available for purchase from Reception. There are laundry facilities (coin operated) on the premises or a dry cleaning service is available within a short walk.Centrally located in historic Randwick, Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel is a luxurious fully restored, three storey late Victorian mansion. Originally built in 1888 by John Walsh, Avonmore boasts a permanent heritage listing and is reputed to be one of the largest terraces in Sydney. With the building just a stone's throw from the peaceful, tree-lined Alison Park, your stay with us is sure to leave you relaxed and satisfied. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Avonmore on the Park Boutique Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing