We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, good value, but hard to find parking”
Review of Avoca Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Avoca Lodge
Reviewed 26 February 2009

I stayed two nights in Avoca Lodge recently. Its directly opposite the hospital at Randwick and within walking distance to the University of NSW. I think most who stay there are associated with one of the two. As it was a "budget" place, I was concerned that would translate to "party", but during my stay at least, I hardly heard a peep from the other guests.

Its also very convenient to "main street" Randwick, with lots of nice restaurants and cafes and also within walking distance to the charming Coogee Beach.

Its on a busy road, which is obviously a little noisy, but its mostly car traffic, not heavy vehicles. Parking is at a real premium however.

It presents well to the street, old but in good condition. It appears to be a refurbished block of flats rather than a purpose built boarding house/hotel, and so rather than a "lobby" you walk off the street into the stairwell. It has been refurbished nicely though with some attractive artworks. It isn't "out there", but its been tastefully done. The manager at the desk was polite and helpful, but not effusively falling over herself with welcome, but that was fine with me.

I booked just a single room, and it certainly was single. My room was tiny, with just a single bed. It too had been renovated and again it was quite nicely done, although obviously on a budget. It did present attractively. Despite the size of the room, it had everything I needed - a bed, TV, fridge, tea and coffee, warm shower. Only a ceiling fan though, no air con and during really hot weather it would probably be uncomfortable. Everything else was comfortable, clean and functional, though not luxurious.

For those staying longer, the place has a proper shared kitchen, which was actually very clean and well appointed when I visited. There is no dining room that I could see, but there was a couple of small tables outside.

For someone looking for a good value place to stay convenient to loved ones in hospital or to business/conferences at the uni, this is a pretty good choice.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank runningloz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dionmarketing, Guest Relations Manager at Avoca Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2010

Thanks for taking the time to review our hotel.

We are glad you enjoyed your stay at Avoca Lodge. Yes, the Single Rooms can be on the small side, if you need a little bit more space we recommend a double room which is normally only a few dollars more per night.

Avoca Lodge is a budget hotel, so we keep costs down by not having expensive frills such as air-con. That way we can pass on savings to our guests in the room price, which are always some of the lowest in the area.

Parking is a little tricky everywhere in Sydney, but we are always able to give you a few tips when you arrive on where and how to grab a convenient spot. We are glad you found the location convenient to the university and hospital, a lot of people comment on how close we are.

We look forward to seeing you again sometime.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

122 - 128 of 128 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Angela B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie C, Manager at Avoca Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gutesleben2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SydneyLodgesRandwick, Manager at Avoca Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with family
Thank veronsch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SydneyLodgesRandwick, Manager at Avoca Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 February 2017

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor China Member
Reviewed 3 July 2015
Google Translation

Stayed: July 2015
Thank A TripAdvisor China Member
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 3 July 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RYS28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2010
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roelfchen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Randwick hotels
Royal Hotel at Randwick
#6 of 8 in Randwick
143 reviews
Veriu Randwick
#3 of 8 in Randwick
179 reviews
Coogee
Adina Apartment Hotel Coogee Sydney
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Perouse Lodge
#3 of 11 in Randwick
273 reviews
Randwick Lodge
#5 of 11 in Randwick
247 reviews
High Cross Park Lodge
#7 of 11 in Randwick
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Avoca Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avoca Lodge

Address: 235 Avoca St, Randwick, New South Wales 2031, Australia
Region: Australia > New South Wales > Greater Sydney > Randwick
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Randwick
Price Range: £73 - £104 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Avoca Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Sydney like a local at Avoca Lodge, a boutique lodge close to Coogee Beach in Sydney, Australia. With public transport close by, it’s just 20 minutes by bus to get to the exciting Sydney CBD and stunning Sydney Harbour. Coogee Beach is a 10 minute walk from the lodge. Avoca Lodge is situated just metres from the Prince of Wales Hospital and UNSW Kensington campus. The lodge also offers comforts such as wireless internet access, televisions and en-suites in every room. Spend the day at the beach, shop in the city or try some of the amazing food in and around the local streets of eastern Sydney. Avoca Lodge is a great place to stay to experience the real Sydney on a budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Avoca Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing